We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Mishawaka
Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Family gathering”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had five rooms during our stay for a family weekend gathering. One room was a one bedroom suite and the others were King studio suites. All rooms were very clean. There was some wear and tear on the furniture and carpet. One studio suite had a poor bed, sagging to the middle when both adults laid down. The breakfast was very good and items were rotated so you have a variety of options. Front desk personnel were very helpful, however, every time I went to the front desk to get information, I had to wait for someone to come from the office behind it. They were never there ready to help. Price was average, actually being on the high side. The pool and hot tub area were ok but the amount of chlorine was very high. It burned our eyes, even just sitting at the tables in the room. Our suite was above the pool area and always smelled of chlorine also. This hotel worked well for our purpose and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool to avoid chlorine odors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkris093, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear OhioTigger,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in July. We are glad that you and your family were able to spend some quality time together and were taking advantage of our amenities liek the pool, breakfast and spacious suites! I addressed the issue of the pool with our maintenance personnel. we are striving on providing the best customer service and are using your valuable feedback to improve our front desk service as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    42
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
53
29
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this Residence Inn regularly for over a year now for business. I started to notice that the attitude of customer service by front desk people is rather slow and aloof. We have been requesting a room in the back since it's away from their basketball court and the construction in front of the building, however the last few times we stayed, we would arrive to a room in the front, looking down on the basketball court. Getting the staff's attention and a room change would take an unnecessarily long time, for which they are not sorry. I'd also point out that as a high traffic hotel, this Residence Inn needs to upkeep their furniture better, especially their beds. It's no fun to change your room after a poor night of sleep in a lumpy and squeaky bed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are much quieter. Avoid the front because you will hear the basket ball noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkris093, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear juntraveler,

Frist of all let me say that we appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel! As someone who stayed here many times, we value your opinion extremely. I apologize about the quality of the bed in your room, we have contacted our vendors to exchange mattresses as they are under waranty still. We hope to see you in the near future again and will make sure you are extremely satisfied with the service we provide!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for an weekend sport event. The facility was clean and well maintained but it only had one elevator and was very slow. We ended up taking the stairs most of time. The staffs were helpful and courteous. Found a small Whole Food less than 1 mile away too. That was a plus.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkris093, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Joshua P,

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. Our mission is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in the Midwest and our guests' feedback helps us to constantly improve. We are glad you found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. We hope to see you again very soon as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Quarry, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have stayed several times at this hotel while traveling to SJRMC for Business. Excellent service oriented staff. Hearty breakfast with good selection of items. Great evening reception every Tuesday and Wednesday, & every other Monday. Always good food. Complimentary Beer and Wine and the staff comes to your table and serves you after you have made your plate at the buffet. They also offer "to go" if you wish to take it to your room. This hotel is close to the University of the Fighting Irish (<5 mi), St. Joseph Regional Medical Center (0.3mi) Plenty of shopping and restaurants, many in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Sometimes you want to write a review to punish an establishment for a bad experience and others you want to promote because of an extraordinary way they handled a situation...this review is neither.

It is simply to say that when you pay for a Marriott experience, that you get what you pay for. A clean, comfortable room for $119 per night. The staff was helpful, the grounds clean and the room was up to date. I would have given the hotel a 5 star rating, but when we checked in around 11pm, there was a drunk guest (I assume) hanging around the front counter/lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkris093, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear TMuff,

Thank you for your time and your review. Our staff is working hard every day to make sure the rooms and premises are up-to-date and kept clean. We thrive on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests and controll every situation to the best of our knowledge.
Hoepfuly we have the pleasure to serve you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
271 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I give it a 4 1/2 star! Excellent service - professional friendly staff! They are ALL truly very nice!!! It feels like home here. This is the "go stay here" place in Mishawaka. Its 10 minutes drive to Notre Dame Univ. They serve FREE dinner during Tues & Thurs nights with beer & wine - I really enjoyed that (not having to drive around for food and relax)! That was such a treat for me. Our rooms were pretty much nice, clean, and tidy. A/C was a bit noisy. Full kitchen amenities including a full size ref. The room carpet though had multiple stains that could use spot cleaning/shampooing which prevented me from giving it a 5 star rating. Time for new hallway carpeting. Hotel could use a new front door mat as well. Nice bright open space lobby with fireplace. There are a lot of food places & shopping nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkris093, General Manager at Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Minniemae,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We take pride in being the cleanest and friendliest facility and your feedback helps us improve. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are hopign to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel with super friendly staff. Rooms couldn't be nicer. We love the fact this hotel is so pet friendly. Cannot say enough about Iniesha, Scott and Beverly. They've gone out of their way every time we've seen them to ensure we have everything we need. We will recommend this hotel to everyone we know. If only more places were like this.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Russ3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mishawaka
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
0.2 mi away
Varsity Clubs of America
Varsity Clubs of America
#3 of 16 in Mishawaka
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites South Bend Mishawaka
3.8 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's
Inn at Saint Mary's
#2 of 29 in South Bend
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka

Property: Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka
Address: 231 Park Pl, Mishawaka, IN 46545-3554
Region: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mishawaka
#1 Business Hotel in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka is located east of downtown, 10 minutes from the University of Notre Dame, and close to University Park Mall, the College Football Hall of Fame, and the many attractions of downtown South Bend. Guest rooms feature full kitchens, comfortable seating, and luxury bedding with choice of foam or down pillows. The property also offers complimentary breakfast buffet and weeknight Manager's Reception, an indoor pool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka Hotel Mishawaka
Residence Inn Mishawaka
Mishawaka Residence Inn
Residence Inn South Bend Mishawaka IN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing