We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best HI in North Central Indiana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mishawaka
Parma, Ohio
1 review
“Best HI in North Central Indiana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Have been to most of the Holiday Inn Expresses in North Central Indiana. Out of them all, this location seems to be the best. The decor out of the ordinary from all of the other HI Expresses and is conveniently located near all major restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy7424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
37
16
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Plastic in mattress pad made noise every time you moved. It was not anchored to mattress in any way so was bunched up and lumpy. Bottom sheet had no elastic left in it so the corner of it was off the mattress when we woke up in the morning. Wish I had not lifted it to place it back on mattress....only to find mattress pad was covered with hair. Also had a stained bath towel and no hot water and very little water pressure during peak shower times. We have booked the Hyatt for our next visit to Notre Dame.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LACMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Unique lobby with lots of wide open space. Room was very clean and well kept. Breakfast was great and there was an employee doing a great job keeping things fresh and tables cleaned. No complaints, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was prepared and expecting the worst, but was surprised. My room was clean, I slept great and breakfast was the same as all other HI hotels. Breakfast attendant was friendly and available. Location was handy for my bus trip plenty of food options down main, and shopping nearby. For the bus rate I paid totally worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

very clean and staff was very nice. rooms were well kept.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank riley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel was fine, the room was good bed comfy, decent free breakfast but NO HOT WATER in the mornings. We were there to move our daughter into her university. Lots of people taking showers in the morning and it would depleat their hot water reserves. I showered in the evening and it was hot. Also we were close to an exit that had 2 doors and it was very noisy! Management needs to do something about the doors on the first floor. Those issues will keep me from coming back.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the middle of the hall or near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Staying overnight in Mishawaka/South Bend on a road trip and this was a stopping point (and we went to see the South Bend Silverhawks play...bad game for them but a neat little minor-league field).

I selected this hotel due to my preference for Holiday Inns/Expresses and this one was near the freeway for the next day. Check in was easy enough, though I am deciding I am really not liking non-automatic opening doors to hotels. Of all places, where you’ll be bringing in suitcases and other belongings, here an automatic door would be really useful. In our case, especially so since my friend is in a wheelchair. We’ve got a system down now but hardly convenient. In any case, agent was relatively efficient though didn’t go all that far out of the way. We had two rooms and I requested nearby rooms. The rooms were ultimately nearby, though there was a note on the registration card indicating if we wanted the connecting rooms room XXX was available. When I inquired on that setup, the agent seemed unable to figure out how to make that happen as apparently that other room had been pre-assigned to someone else. It wasn’t that important to me, so I didn’t push it, but a small ding on service.

On the plus side...bed was clean and seemed fairly new, and the bed was comfortable enough for one night. No concerns here and typical sheeting/bed covering one would expect from an Express. Location is convenient to freeway and South Bend suburban shopping. Modern AC unit in room that regulated temperature well, and didn’t seem overly loud.

Less positive...property has the new logo, so apparently passed the new inspections, but clearly a dated property. Hallways have worn carpeting and color decor is evidently not up to date. Furniture and wall coverings in rooms not modern and very reminiscent of the old, tired Holiday Inn. I didn’t like the non-granite top bathrooms, the very outdated and utilitarian plastic grating for bathroom lighting that is clearly from another era (as opposed to decorative lighting in modern bathrooms), some chipped paint in bathroom doorframes, and cheap looking bedroom lighting that is mounted to the wall and very basic metal covering over the wires. Televisions also outdated and not flat-screen.

Also of considerable concern...I stopped at the Front Desk to place an item into a safe deposit box. After the agent inquired with some manager he called, I was informed this hotel does not do safe deposit boxes - despite their very own guest directory saying, “Please do not leave money or valuable in your room. The hotel cannot be responsible for the loss of articles unless properly secured in the complimentary safety deposit boxes located at the Front Desk”. The agent says he was informed the hotel has not done this in three years. I didn’t argue the point with the agent and I ultimately was okay, but what hotel doesn’t offer safe deposit boxes? I cannot imagine the chain allows their properties to not offer safe deposit boxes, and I question if it’s even legal under state law.

Cleaning level is questionable in my room. Room did not smell fresh upon entry. I dealt with it, but I can imagine others would not. Also, when using a floormat to dry up some water on the bathroom floor, the towel did not come up clean.

Lastly, I specifically told the agent at check-in I wanted to pay cash and offered to pay upfront. I told him if he had to have a card on file for incidentals I would provide one but I didn’t want the card ran for more than a reasonable amount for incidentals (usually $25). He assured me I could pay cash at checkout and would put notes in the reservation. I asked him if the computer would automatically run the card overnight and he said no, he set it to a $0 amount. Lo and behold I got my receipt under the door and it says “Mastercard”. I expressed my disappointment at the Front Desk to the lady in the morning and she assured me they didn’t run the card. I paid cash and have my receipt but when looking on my bank account see they did exactly what I asked them not to do and they promised they didn’t do - run an authorization. It’s not the end of the world and I have the funds until the authorization drops, but the point is they didn’t carry through on their promise and basically all but lied about it.

Should I return to the area I would not return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mishawaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mishawaka South Bend Area
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mishawaka - Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend Mishawaka
1.1 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka
Address: 420 West University Drive, Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of blending modern comfort and impeccable service, we welcome this opportunity to introduce you to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mishawaka/South Bend, Indiana. Located just off Main Street on University Drive, only one block west of University Park Shopping Mall, our hotel is easily accessible to S.R. 23, S.R. 933 and the Indiana Toll Road 80/90, and University of Notre Dame. The Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka/South Bend, Indiana is ideal for business, leisure and family travelers who are looking for an upgraded hotel that is economical. Within minutes of University of Notre Dame, South Bend Chocolate Factory, Pottawatomi Zoo, AM General, Studebaker Museum, College Football Hall of Fame, Tippecanoe Restaurant, Copshalhom Museum, St. Joseph Regional Medical Center, Memorial Hospital and Northern Indiana Center for History. Our Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka/South Bend, Indiana hotel offers first class accommodations at surprisingly affordable rates. Choose from spacious non-smoking rooms to our famous Spa Suites, or an extravagant Presidential Suite. At the Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka/South Bend Indiana, we take pride in our hotel. This facility strives to offer the highest quality, the cleanest product and the friendliest service to our guest. Pets accepted in Pet Friendly rooms only with a $50.00 non refundable per stay fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka Hotel Mishawaka
Holiday Inn Mishawaka
Mishawaka Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka IN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing