We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit rough around the edges” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mishawaka
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit rough around the edges”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel needs a franchise review; it is just not up to Holiday Inn Express standards. Carpets are stained, rooms are worn out, musty smell throughout. I have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels over the years and this one is by far the worst. I do expect the Holiday Inn Express to be a "budget" experience, but they are always clean and fresh, in my eperience. Not this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliott_601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MishawakaHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
JElliott_601

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you stated; some of our halls have stained carpet which can be displeasing to look at. Please rest assured that these issues are addressed on a regular schedule. With three separate entrances to the hotel mixed with a wet and muddy fall; carpets will start to show stains. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience with your stay. Thank you again for providing your feedback and I welcome you back whenever you are in the South Bend area.

Thank You

Jason Lambert
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    26
    16
    14
See reviews for
37
16
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberling City
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We made our reservation thru a discount hotel service and were concerned that the service we received might not be up to par. But it was that and more. The young lady at the front desk - in spite of being overwhelmed with issues not of her making did an outstanding job of handling all of the people coming at her from all sides. She remained calm and gracious and really deserves major kudos from management! Our room was very clean and comfortable and we were quite satisfied with it. Overall, a very nice experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_in_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MishawakaHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Jackie_in_MO-

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Guest service is always our #1 goal here at the Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka and I am glad that we were able to demonstrate that to you. Fall is a very busy season here in the South Bend area with an array of local events and college football games and it is very easy to become overwhelmed at times. From check-in to check-out our goal is to give every guest 110%. I thank you again for providing your feedback and I welcome you back whenever you are in the South Bend area.

Thank You

Jason Lambert
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I Work At A Hotel Personally And I Was Very Dissapoised. The 2nd Shift Desk Clerk, Had Kids Behind The Counter. And Was Continuesly Laughing With Them During The Check In Process Very Rude! There Was A Terriable Odor On The First Floor, Trash Bags Full Of Garbage On The Side Entrances. Carpet Was Very Stained. The Elevator Shook When We Were On It, They Had A Stay Impressed Sign That Was Falling Apart. Our Room Wow. The Beds Were Horriable. A Bed Is What Sets Off The Room, The Sheets Were So Wrinkly, The Bed Was So Hard. The Frige In Our Room Was A Nice Touch Alothough The Ice Bucket Still Had Ice And Water,Clearly It Had Not Been Dumped Or Cleaned. The Bathroom Had No Wastebasket, Just Not a Comfortable Stay In General.

Room Tip: Check Out The Inside Personally Before You Make A Choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MishawakaHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Trisha-

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Cleanliness is one of our top standards here at the Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka and I apologize if things did not seem that way. Please rest assured that I will personally follow up with each of your concerns to ensure that any and all situations can be addressed. Thank you again for the feedback and I welcome you back whenever you are in the South Bend area.

Thank You

Jason Lambert
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

As a platinum priority club member, I stay in at least 80 Holiday Inns annually and must say that the customer care given by the front desk manager, Joni, was the best I ever had. I am a single female business traveller and she was extremely helpful. Her very friendly, kind and helpful attitude was a rare find. I wish that I could find this kind of service more often

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MishawakaHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Kvg2013-

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Guest service is always #1 across the board here at the Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka. We aim to provide best in class service, and we go out of our way to ensure we make good on this promise. I want to thank you again for your feedback and I welcome you back whenever you are in the South Bend area.

Thank You

Jason Lambert
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel looks somewhat different from the outside as it is in the style of a log cabin, but we found the same great Holiday Inn Express service inside as at most of the other HIE locations we stayed.

The rooms are large, ours equipped with fridge and microwave, clean and don't smell at all. Staff was super-friendly and, as it was a very hot day, offered us free cold water on check-in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_MishawakaHIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Matthias S.-

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you stated, we are not your typical "cookie cutter" Holiday Inn Express here in Mishawaka. Our hotel re-branded 2005 and we were able to keep our unique look. Even though we appear different we hold ourselves to all of IHG's standards and I am glad that you were able to see that during your visit with us. Thank you again for providing your feedback and I welcome you back whenever you are in the South Bend area.

Thank You

Jason Lambert
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Disappointed. Poor quality of beds, poor room service, as my coffee pot did not get cleaned, nor the supplies refilled. Basically made the bed and added some towels. Left dirty coffee cups on counter. Not the service I'm accustomed to as I stay at HIE's nearly every week.

I do like the location, it's convenient for shopping, restaurants and my business destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeggersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear MeggersB,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unacceptable service you have experienced with the staff and room amenities received. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We got a really good rate on the hotel thanks to priceline. Had I paid the rate HIE was asking I'd have been very disappointed. The room was clean but the smoke smell was nearly overwhelming. We arrived late and very tired and only needed a place to sleep before moving along so we didn't bother asking for another room. A response on another review says that they are working hard to remove the smoke smell. They need to work harder. If you book in this hotel insist on a room that was never a smoking room or you'll likely regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Brian H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mishawaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mishawaka South Bend Area
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishawaka
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mishawaka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mishawaka - Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Bend Mishawaka
1.1 mi away
Courtyard South Bend Mishawaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka
Address: 420 West University Drive, Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of blending modern comfort and impeccable service, we welcome this opportunity to introduce you to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mishawaka/South Bend, Indiana. Located just off Main Street on University Drive, only one block west of University Park Shopping Mall, our hotel is easily accessible to S.R. 23, S.R. 933 and the Indiana Toll Road 80/90, and University of Notre Dame. The Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka/South Bend, Indiana is ideal for business, leisure and family travelers who are looking for an upgraded hotel that is economical. Within minutes of University of Notre Dame, South Bend Chocolate Factory, Pottawatomi Zoo, AM General, Studebaker Museum, College Football Hall of Fame, Tippecanoe Restaurant, Copshalhom Museum, St. Joseph Regional Medical Center, Memorial Hospital and Northern Indiana Center for History. Our Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka/South Bend, Indiana hotel offers first class accommodations at surprisingly affordable rates. Choose from spacious non-smoking rooms to our famous Spa Suites, or an extravagant Presidential Suite. At the Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka/South Bend Indiana, we take pride in our hotel. This facility strives to offer the highest quality, the cleanest product and the friendliest service to our guest. Pets accepted in Pet Friendly rooms only with a $50.00 non refundable per stay fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka Hotel Mishawaka
Holiday Inn Mishawaka
Mishawaka Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mishawaka IN, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing