We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Camping & Pioneer Village”

Spring Mill State Park
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Camping & Pioneer Village”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We camped at one of the electric sites (#13, in the tree-lined loop, very pretty) and then went to the pioneer village inside the park the next day. This was our second time camping at this park. The sites are large - a lot of parks have very cramped electric sites, but these are quite large and have trees in between the sites so you have some privacy, too. Being a week after labor day, the park was not very busy at all. My only complaint about the campsite is that the bathrooms were pretty nasty, both the men's and women's. They are normal, plumbing bathrooms with showers and toilets and sinks (and liquid soap, which some campgrounds don't provide), but the floors were filthy and the showers were full of bugs.

We visited the pioneer village the next day and were very surprised by how nice it was! There are multiple buildings to visit and some had interpreters working to tell us more. The grist mill was the highlight of the trip for most of us - every hour on the hour they turn it on, and it's really something! The water is very loud, the mill is large and you can see how they ground corn 200 years ago. The mill building also contains two extra floors of artifacts. We really enjoyed the very well maintained flower and herb gardens, too.

The pool and cave were both closed after labor day, so if you plan to see those attractions, go earlier in the summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    79
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family State Park!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We loved this park, there was so much to do and see. The Pioneer Village was really amazing! We went on the Twin Caves boat tour too, if you want to do the boat tour go there first, it fills up very fast! We stopped there at 1:00 pm and had to wait until 4:00 pm and we were the last group to get in for the day. We are already planning on going again soon. We will definitely go in the fall to see all the fall foliage.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank llnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best State Park Ever!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

the camping sites are well maintained, clean, and spacious. nice showers and restrooms. hiking trails well marked and go from easy to more advanced. and the lodge is beautiful. great family vacation. big pool and playgrounds for the kids. visit the caves by boat. the lodge also has a large family game room with the coolest ping pong table ever, made from leather. plenty to keep kids entertained for days. the food and staff at the lodge restaurant are the greatest as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank janbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegrass state
Level Contributor
478 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Space exploration, pioneer life & caves all in one state park.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went for one night & stayed @ the inn. ( see my review of that ) we first came throughout a guard manned gate with an entry fee charged of $7 for out of state residents. The Gus Grissom memorial was free as well as the pioneer village. But the cave tour was $3 for adults & $1 for kids.
Cave first. A small boat ride through one of their 4 caves & the only one open now due to the white nose syndrome in bats. The rocks steps getting down to the boat are a little steep & slippery. They do have handrails all the way down. The boats are small with you having to straddle the bench in the middle of it. It holds about 10 average size people. You do have life jackets you wear the entire time. Spots where both sides of the boat touch the cave walls. Our guide was very information & talked the entire time.
Pioneer village was huge. The operating sawmill & gristmill were very interesting. All demonstrators were dressed in period clothing. Over 20 building to go through. Picnic tables & concessions available. No food or drink allowed in the village. My 9 year old lived the artifacts displayed upstairs in the mill. In the distillery house they were making origami boats with the kids to float down the little stream. Very nice park!
We spent about 2 1/2 hours here. We saw everything.

Tip: go early to get your reservation for the cave tour. They sell out early. It opens @ 9.
Buy some stone ground cornmeal @ the mill $3

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
375 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were visiting with a group of friends and came here to have dinner at the lodge. We first drove all around the park and it is truly beautiful. It is $7 a carload for out of state visitors which is a good deal. The lodge is beautiful and entirely built of limestone from nearby. There is a lovely buffet that is very reasonable with good food. This park reminded me of a National Park, it was that well maintained. They have Pioneer Village and a Grist Mill. All very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring Mill State Park also viewed

 

Been to Spring Mill State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing