We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place like no other place. you can go home again. its like home”

Spring Mill State Park
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wonderful place like no other place. you can go home again. its like home”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

i love the cozy fireplace, the friendly kind staff. devin, nikki , tom and joseph front desk,. the rooms are older and outdated but cozy and the food is overpriced a lot. but the place is so nice in the summer to sit and relax on the porch with one of their lollipops and a coke sitting in a rockingchair rocking just so peaceful a great get away from home. and you feel like you are at home. there is no pressures there you can sit in the common area or in the game room. its so nice and a indoor pool.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    83
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great fall getaway”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Spent a wonderful four night camping outing there in mid-October. Even with some iffy weather we had a great time. We enjoyed visiting the pioneer village area and hiking the trails. We traveled with our dog and had wonderful outdoor adventure. The park is well kept and had an inn that looked very inviting. Lots of history to be absorbed from the area which was the home of astronaut Gus Grisom. There is a memorial center / museum in the park that is dedicated to him. the park in near Bloomington and Bedford Indiana and there are many other attractions in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Historical Day”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The village is a nice historical place to visit and spend a relaxing day. The water-powered mill is the center of attention with the miller grinding corn every hour on the hour. Very knowledgeable craftsmen/guides on staff to give the background of the village as well as explain their craft. Everything is very well maintained. The rest of the park is well wooded and great for hiking and nature walks. The park inn has a nice, if simple, lunch buffet. The campground was very quiet, but I was there on a Monday and Tuesday. Probably much busier on weekends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Les324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very Nice Family Day”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We decided to spend a family day here the last weekend of September. All in all we had a good trip (we had never been here before) but there were a few hiccups. We arrived early with the intention of eating breakfast in the lodge then going on a hike before checking out the primitive village. However, breakfast was closed a before 10:30 and we had to wait until 11:30 for lunch. In the meantime we took the mile trail around the lake and watched various birds and critters along the way.

We were quick to make it back to the lodge/inn to eat because lunch is only available between 11:30 and 2:30. Our lunch was just fine but it was not exceptional. There were only two waitresses and there were quite a number of people eating by noon. When we went in, we were seated but no one greeted us at the table so we did not really know what to do. They had a buffet, and people were just walking in and immediately getting plates and loading them up. We waited for a good 10 minutes until one waitress came to take a drink order. We had to ask for a menu as well – I guess most people just get the buffet. Well my family got the buffet but I ordered a sandwich. My family was able to eat a whole plate of food before a waitress even returned. As it turned out they forgot my sandwich order – but it was warm when I finally got it 20 minutes later. I would have been ok with this if it had been made there…but the waitress was quick to boast that everything is precooked and you can buy it all at Gordon Food Service. The meal was fine, just not exceptional or anything.

After we ate we went to the primitive village and it was very fun. We were able to catch a demonstration of how the water mill works to grind corn and the log cutter. They have a little gift shop, concession stand, blacksmith, etc. It was all very fun to see and I would go back just to see the village. The little buildings have period décor and inside the mill there is a museum set upstairs. We spent several hours in the village because when we initially arrived, we were VERY disappointed by the news that “the caves were closed”. At the entrance, there was a HUGE sign that said all the caves were closed because of this white-nose disease that harms the bats. We saw signs for this again inside the nature center AND inside the map/brochure of the park it says that cave tours are only available between Memorial Day and Labor Day. We were TOTALLY bummed because this was actually the reason why we wanted to come here in the first place.

Well…just before we left we wanted to see where the caves were (to take pictures and whatnot) and guess what…the caves WERE and ARE open for tours. We immediately complained to the woman who was attending the kiosk where you buy tickets for the tour and she seemed totally confused. When we said there were large signs about the bats and the caves being closed at both the entrance to the park and in the nature center she acted like she had no clue what we were talking about. And of course, by this time it was around 5:00 and all the tours were sold out. Since it was late all we had time left to do was to step into the Grissom Museum for a minute and it was quite nice and well done.

I would like to come back to this park to take a cave tour and take more of the trails. This is the kind of park where you need to spend a whole day to see everything there is to offer. I must say on the Saturday we went, they became crowded VERY quickly – tons and tons of families having parties and reunions. If you want to come for a family event I would suggest you coming when they open to reserve a spot. Also, you might want to call ahead about the caves since there was so much confusion about what was open and what was not.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrayCatVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Prospect, IL
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The lodge is very comfortable. The common areas are nice like the large lounge with ping pong table and board games. It has an indoor/outdoor pool. The buffet meals are good (though we thought the famous persimmon squares were overrated). And the people deliver a great service.

For those interested in the Space program, there is the Virgil Grissom Museum by the entrance of the Park. Grissom grew up in Mitchell. This small but rich Museum retraces Grissom's life in great details from high school to Space program. It has an Apollo capsule on display. And the movie gives a good overview of the early days of the U.S. Space program.

For those who prefer to stay on earth, we would highly recommend the Pioneer Village at the bottom of the valley. It has several functioning displays like the Wood shop. The highlight is the functioning mill that grinds corn meal which you can buy. It is also used to make the corn bread served in the Dining Room at the Lodge.

All in all, a great place to relax for a few days!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring Mill State Park also viewed

 

Been to Spring Mill State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing