We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, nice - but those bl**dy peacocks....!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simondium's Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simondium
Reviewed 13 November 2010

If you are looking for a cheap and friendly hotel in the Franschoek area, then the Simondium Country Lodge isn't too bad.

The welcome was great, the rooms a little tired but clean and comfortable, breakfast excellent, the bar quirky but very friendly - the location's not the best, but overall it's a good place to be for a couple of days; the remoteness of the place might make more than a couple of days a bit of a strain.

The only big negative, although from the nice letter in the rooms I am supposed to not comment on the peacocks, is the peacocks. Whilst they look stunning the 5am wake up call was really not needed.... I kind of need my sleep when I'm on holiday recharging, and they did my head in a bit (and the others with me too).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed at Simondium's for three nights while in Franschhoek for a friend's wedding. The lodge is a fair distance outside of Franschhoek - a little further than we were expecting, although the views from the rooms were beautiful, which was a benefit from being so far away.

Our room was a good size, well furnished and very clean, although the TV remote and the verandah light were both broken, which was a shame. Rooms were equipped with wine glasses - important when in this part of the world - but unfortunately not with a bottle opener!

The breakfasts were very good. The staff couldn't do enough to help us when we had requests and were very friendly and professional, although there was nobody on site on Sunday afternoon, when we were looking for someone which was a little disappointing, but then this is a lodge rather than a hotel.

While it was lovely to see the peacocks running around the grounds, they did leave their mark along the pathways, which wasn't the nicest thing to find first thing in the morning on the way to breakfast!

Also, anyone travelling with a baby will need to bring their own cot/highchair as these are not provided by the lodge.

A few updates would have made a good stay into a great one...

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEH910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

This weekend we stayed for two nights at Simondiums Country Lodge. We had a video shoot in Franschhoek and, being 10 minutes away, this was a convenient for an overnight stay.

Our second stay was just as pleasant as the first. We received a warm welcome on check in. The pre-ordered supper was waiting - lamb chops and vegetables.

Being a Friday night the cosy pub was buzzing, with locals and people who had arrived for a wedding at the hotel, the next day.

Our room was tastefully furnished with period style imbuia. A zebra skin mat completed the "Africa feel". Tea/coffee making facilities were provided. The beds are firm but comfortable.

Next morning, we had to gently shoo a family of four peacocks from our veranda. They are quite tame.

Breakfast was the same generous spread - fruit juice, cereals, cold meats, cheese & biscuits, tea coffee and a freshly cooked hot breakfast. Both mornings we opted for the "full house" which was - two fried eggs, bacon, savoury mushrooms, sausage & tomato. Perhaps the plates could have been warmer?

Freshly cooked toast and jams were brought to the table.

At R600 to R700 per day, for two this represents excellent value for money. Certainly there are other more pretentious establishments in the area but we can't afford them and, for us, Simondiums represents a welcoming country home from home.

We will go back.

.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaniSpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank larsberkhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Simondium's Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simondium's Country Lodge

Address: R 45 Franscchoek rd | Simondium, Simondium 7670, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Simondium
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Simondium
Price Range: £46 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Simondium's Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Simondium's Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing