We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benneydale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timber Trail Sleepout
Ranked #2 of 2 Benneydale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fisrt time in Benndale to ride the timber trail we stayed this little gem,2.5 Star accommodation with 5 star food, 5 star hospitality, 5 star music. Maurice and Monica fantastic hosts.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 277petert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Been to them all but enjoyed Benneydale the most.

If you are in this region for any reason, but especially if cycling the Timber Trail, then I suggest you book in at ArtDoc.

I promise you an unbelievable experience of hospitality and repartee you will not forget.

Monica and Maurice are definitely the hosts with the mosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryans_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had an opportunity to ride the Timber Trail with friends in March and in the process of looking for accommodation I came upon this little gem. Located in Benneydale on SH30, Art Doc is really quite surprising. It is run by Maurice (from France) and Monica (from the Netherlands) both of whom are great hosts, providing interesting tasty food and a mix of Classic, Jazz and Blues music in what can only be described as fascinating and unusual gallery.This venue has been the site for several concerts and I note that more are scheduled. Whilst we were there Monica delivered a selection from her repertoire which was very well received. Amazing collection of books and LP's amongst all the items.
The accommodation was fine and the package price including the transport to the Timber Trail and the pickups was most reasonable. Blue, the dog, joined us on the lawn at the end of the day when we were consuming a recovery ale/wine looking out across the farmland to the forest and hills beyond. This spot is well worth a visit, not just for those wanting to ride the Trail but for the chance to chat and be entertained by two most interesting hosts with many stories to impart.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timetravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the sleepout here. Was perfect for us. Maurice and Monica are the perfect hosts. Great meals, very accommodating and also transfered us to and from the trail in our vehicle. Had the best weekend on The Timber Trail and a lot of that was thanks to Maurice and Monica and the way we were looked after. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_Ngunguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our group of six cyclists found ArtDoc to be a perfect stop over point with comfortable beds and good facilities. Monica prepared a very nice meal and also provided breakfast. We enjoyed chatting with Maurice. This is an unexpectedly good place run by two very interesting and capable people.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberTrailSleepout, Owner - Host at Timber Trail Sleepout, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for having taken time to write your review. we really appreciate the compliments as well as the constructive criticism and suggestions. Following our guest comments the District Council has stepped up their focus on getting good Timber Trail signage out there.

We hope to see you back.

Nga mihi nui

M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently attended the "Mama's got the Blues" concert by American musician Ruth Wyand at Art Doc. A concert in Benneydale?! (Generally considered by Kiwis to be the middle of nowhere.) it sounded so unlikely that we had to do it. First surprise was the website which is sophisticated and informative. We were able to book both our accommodation and the concert tickets online. We arrived to find that Art Doc is the former grocery store, transformed into a cafe, B&B and concert venue by our very unusual and charming hosts, Maurice and Monica Louis. They started it before the Pureora Timber Trail opened, and are now reaping the benefits. The concert was attended by an almost full house and was great, with particularly good sound quality. Our meal was good, and the accommodation was comfortable. I'll never think of Benneydale in the same way again! Thanks so much to Monica and Maurice for their friendliness and generous hospitality, and may Art Doc continue to thrive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberTrailSleepout, Owner, host at Timber Trail Sleepout, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Arohanui from Benneydale not just the Gateway to the Timber Trail....

Thank you for being lovely guests and for taking time to write your review. It is encouraging for us to get praise from you because we know that you have operated a music venue and managed tours for overseas artists. Yes, the special concert Mamma's got the blues by Ruth Wyand was not to be missed . We hope next time there will be a slide guitar workshop as well.

You missed Ruth's visit to the Benneydale school where the kids were dancing, clapping and singing before ending writing their own blues song together with Ruth... quite unique a blues song about a killer whale called pencil...

To be continued.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stopped by at short notice on a work road trip to sneak a few rides on the newly formed timber trails. The owners are a delight to stay with. They make you feel like family but respect your privacy if thats what you want. Home cooking was amazing, accommodation great, Blue is the coolest chap ever. I will be spreading the word back home in RotoVegas that the best new MTB trails in CNI now have the best place to stay. I checked out other accommodation and I reckon the location of ArtDoc is perfect in Bennydale if you want to ride the trails in 1, 2 or more days......my stay here is to be continued.....next time dragging mates over from Vegas!......thanks. You guys rock!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank tripleJJJRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimberTrailSleepout, Owner, host at Timber Trail Sleepout, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi Timber Trail fan - It was great to hear that on your work trip you wanted to take time out to cycl;e the Timber Trail. It means a lot to us to know that you valued your stay with us because you are always on the road for work and have a lot to compare with. Save travels and a revederci...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Timber Trail Sleepout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Trail Sleepout

Address: 15 - 19 Ellis Road, Benneydale 3944, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Benneydale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benneydale
Price Range: £53 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing