We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property and view, great management, but...”
Review of Le Jardin Malanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Jardin Malanga
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Ny
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and view, great management, but...”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property and view, great management by Camille, who is proficiently bilingual, and located a few miles from from the Les Saintes ferry. I would like to offer a few suggestions, however.
The signage off the N1 highway to rue Hermitage is illegible. Please put up a To Jardin Malanga sign with letters that glow in the dark.
Internet could be easily extended to the cottages using Powerline adapters which plug into a wall socket. They work well for me in the U.S., using preexisting electric lines.
It would be nice if the chef took some Culinary Institute courses. Shrimp and shell pasta, and an uninspired dessert just isn't worth 78 euros for 2. I realize you grow grapefruit, but people taking statins (and there are many) shouldn't drink it. Buy some oranges to squeeze! And please learn how to melt good quality chocolate: don't use powdered. It ruins your quality image.
As for Trois Rivieres, it is what it is. It's just not a destination. You need to advertise a link to Deher as part of the Les Saintes destination. Bon chance!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pangloss356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo2000, Manager at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for your most recent stay with us in Beautiful Guadeloupe. Once again I would like to thank you very much for your great and constructive feedback. Our custmers' opinion and survey are very important to us as we are just reopening the Hotel and lots of things are still to be put in place.
The points you are bringing up to our attention are defenetly very good points and I wanted to reunsure you on the fact that we are working it: Hotel signage off the N1 and also down-town Trois-Rivières. Internet is something we're also working on it.
In regards of the food, Julien the Chef and myself, would have been so happy to welcome you here for a little longer for you to take the time to discover the Chef's food style. He used to work with famous Chefs back in Europe and is trying to put together his knowledges with the local products in order to provide our customers a delicious cuisine that we'll keep them travelling while eating. Again, many thanks for your time and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in Jardin Malanga in the nearest future. Hoping you had a great Thanksgiving, with my best regards,
The director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    69
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
55
202
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, spectacular views, good home cooking and very pleasant rooms. Our host Simon was very knowledgable on Guadeloupe and very helpful in providing advice on what to visit and also very happy to assist on organisation. If you prefer romantic colonial charm (including creaky floors) opt for the main house suite - we enjoyed it tremendously and the terrace offered a lovely venue to enjoy views over Les Saintes both daytime and evening. Basse-Terre is from the nature point of view probably the best side of Guadeloupe.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcosParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Just back from Guadeloupe and I take 5 minutes to recommend a stay in Le jardin Malanga. The hotel is in the middle of a nice garden, and the bungalows are simple but very clean, with a fantastic view to Les Saintes Islands. It is the best place to discover the south of Guadeloupe and Les Saintes you can reach in 40 minutes by boat from the city. The guest is full of attention, and provide in the evening a diner with the product of the market.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights and overall we enjoyed our time here. The nicest part is the grounds and the distant view out towards the ocean. The host was very friendly and helpful, but he did not have a lot of staff given there are only a few rooms available. He greeted us, check Ed us in, provided information on things to do, and even cooked our dinner, which was very tasty. Overall I can recommend Le Jardin Malanga, however it is a bit pricy for what you get.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Over two weeks, we sampled four of the top hotels in Guadeloupe, and this tops them all. Malanga is set on a lush rain forest hillside on Basse Terre, on a 12 hectare property that is wonderfully managed and maintained. We were lodged in a colonial house built ca. 1920, beautifully restored with shiny wooden floors. The food is great, the service personal and unequaled, and the atmosphere is relaxing. One can take this as a starting point to discover the La Soufriere vulcano, just a few kilometers away, or just waste the day away at the perfect infinity pool, from which one can admire several islands in the distance while sipping a ti-punch.

We slept well in modern beds, and for the techies, the internet connection is quite good and hassle-free.

It is not cheap, but a paradise like this should not be.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucDevroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We arrived at new years eve to an astonishing night with champagne by the pool, at least 9 courses, rum and sigars at the end!

Talk to Simon and he will make your stay unique with tips of rainforest lagoons, island adventure, wave surfing, great restaurants+++.

The location is great if you like to see the real Guadeloupe!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djblund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Considering the destination I think probably the best hotel you can find.

What makes the difference:
- garden
- view
- location to visit south of Guadeloupe
- authenticity

and certainly on top of that: Simon (Hotel Director)

He gives really everything's he can to make your stay
the best you can.

I am wondering how this hotel can exist without him!

Thks again !

Marc & Babara

ps: a small tip/ idea maybe install a "moustiquiaire' it can add some charm in the room and help the ones mosquitos like too much
hello to the rest of the team and the family !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois Rivieres
22.2 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
17.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#5 of 23 in Le Gosier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
24.6 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Malanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Malanga

Property: Le Jardin Malanga
Address: 60 Route de L Hermitage, Trois Rivieres 97114, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Trois Rivieres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin Malanga 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is composed by a renovated authentic colonial “mansion”, built in 1927 and 3 cottages:Colonial mansion : 1 suite with 2 bedrooms and one bathroom at the ground floor (with a part of the terrace which goes around the colonial mansion call a “varangue”). At the first floor two triple rooms with independant shower.Occupation SUITE : 2 adults + 2 children + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 60sqmOccupation triple rooms : 3 adults + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 28sqmThe cottages : 2 independant rooms with terrace for each cottage, children’s bedroom on upper level, which can be communicated with one of each rooms.Occupation : 2 adults + 1 infant. Suraface area ≈ 17sqmEvery room including: Bathroom with Bath (or shower), hair-drier, air-conditioner, phone, IPOD system, one king size bed (maximum 2 persons in a room, possibility to add a baby cot), terrasse with panoramic view overlooking “Les Saintes” and deck chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Fastbooking, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Jardin Malanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Malanga Hotel Guadeloupe
Le Jardin Malanga Basse Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing