We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Le Jardin Malanga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Jardin Malanga
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A beautiful garden, friendly management, BUT...our room (in the main building) had the bathroom outside. Even worse, the shower was placed in the middle of the bathroom (no tub), so every time the shower was used, the whole bathroom was flooded and stayed wet for hours. The room itself (as well as the bathroom) is very basic, but ok. The breakfast (included in the price) was the same every morning (bread&butter, fruit, yoghurt, jam and grapefruit juice. No buffet, you just get a plate with the food). Nobody asked whether we would like some eggs, meat, cereals etc..For 250 Euros per night, this is absolutely ridiculous! We even ate dinner there (just one evening), it was 38 Euros p.P. and advertised as a three course menu. Somehow, the first course was not served at all (or was it maybe the plain green salad served with the main?), the main course was some sort of chicken, potatoes and green beans, and the dessert was ice cream (not homemade) and banana cream (homemade). We left the table hungry (again, nobody asked if we like some supplement). We stayed one week in Guadeloupe (and 3 nights in the Jardin Malanga), but this was for sure our worst dinner, not only because of the quality (which was barely ok), but mainly because of the price tag. Overall, this hotel would be great for 100-120 Euros per night, but at the current price, it is just a rip-off. The management knows about these issues (they even apologized at the end of our stay), but they don’t seem (or are not willing) to change anything. Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReMo254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo2000, Directeur général at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to wish you a Happy New Year!

Also, we would like to thank you for your most recent stay with us in Jardin Malanga , as well as for your constructive feedback. Please trust all of our clients' opinion and survey are very important to us as we are constantly trying to improve our offer and the comfort of our beautiful Hotel.
The points you are bringing up to our attention are defenetly very good points and I wanted to reunsure you on the fact that we are working it: the technical issues in the bedroom and the bathroom are part of our priority list.
Regarding the layout of your bedroom as well as the bathroom, it's part of the traditionnal and rustic experience Jardin Malanga provides to its guests. Jardin Malanga is a 1920's old and traditionnal Plantation House.

In regards of the food, Julien the Chef and myself, would have been so happy to welcome you in our Table d'hôte more that just one evening for us to give you the time to discover the Chef's food style. He used to work with famous Chefs back in Europe and is trying to put together his knowledges with the local products in order to provide our customers a delicious cuisine that we'll keep them travelling while eating.
For the breakfast, we do understand your point but being such a small Hotel, we want to give priority to maintain close relationships with all of our guests and it's very important to us to provide them with the most personnalized service. A buffet would not have sense in a Hotel like Jardin Malanga. We do offer eggs and charcuterie/cheese plate during breakfatst as well as 5 or 6 different sort of cereals. In case one of our guests wishes to have something else, we encourage him or her to let us know and see if we could have it for the remaining of his/her stay.

Once again, many thanks for your time and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in Jardin Malanga in the nearest future. With our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Beautiful property and view, great management by Camille, who is proficiently bilingual, and located a few miles from from the Les Saintes ferry. I would like to offer a few suggestions, however.
The signage off the N1 highway to rue Hermitage is illegible. Please put up a To Jardin Malanga sign with letters that glow in the dark.
Internet could be easily extended to the cottages using Powerline adapters which plug into a wall socket. They work well for me in the U.S., using preexisting electric lines.
It would be nice if the chef took some Culinary Institute courses. Shrimp and shell pasta, and an uninspired dessert just isn't worth 78 euros for 2. I realize you grow grapefruit, but people taking statins (and there are many) shouldn't drink it. Buy some oranges to squeeze! And please learn how to melt good quality chocolate: don't use powdered. It ruins your quality image.
As for Trois Rivieres, it is what it is. It's just not a destination. You need to advertise a link to Deher as part of the Les Saintes destination. Bon chance!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pangloss356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelo2000, Manager at Le Jardin Malanga, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for your most recent stay with us in Beautiful Guadeloupe. Once again I would like to thank you very much for your great and constructive feedback. Our custmers' opinion and survey are very important to us as we are just reopening the Hotel and lots of things are still to be put in place.
The points you are bringing up to our attention are defenetly very good points and I wanted to reunsure you on the fact that we are working it: Hotel signage off the N1 and also down-town Trois-Rivières. Internet is something we're also working on it.
In regards of the food, Julien the Chef and myself, would have been so happy to welcome you here for a little longer for you to take the time to discover the Chef's food style. He used to work with famous Chefs back in Europe and is trying to put together his knowledges with the local products in order to provide our customers a delicious cuisine that we'll keep them travelling while eating. Again, many thanks for your time and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in Jardin Malanga in the nearest future. Hoping you had a great Thanksgiving, with my best regards,
The director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beautiful grounds, spectacular views, good home cooking and very pleasant rooms. Our host Simon was very knowledgable on Guadeloupe and very helpful in providing advice on what to visit and also very happy to assist on organisation. If you prefer romantic colonial charm (including creaky floors) opt for the main house suite - we enjoyed it tremendously and the terrace offered a lovely venue to enjoy views over Les Saintes both daytime and evening. Basse-Terre is from the nature point of view probably the best side of Guadeloupe.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MarcosParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Just back from Guadeloupe and I take 5 minutes to recommend a stay in Le jardin Malanga. The hotel is in the middle of a nice garden, and the bungalows are simple but very clean, with a fantastic view to Les Saintes Islands. It is the best place to discover the south of Guadeloupe and Les Saintes you can reach in 40 minutes by boat from the city. The guest is full of attention, and provide in the evening a diner with the product of the market.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed two nights and overall we enjoyed our time here. The nicest part is the grounds and the distant view out towards the ocean. The host was very friendly and helpful, but he did not have a lot of staff given there are only a few rooms available. He greeted us, check Ed us in, provided information on things to do, and even cooked our dinner, which was very tasty. Overall I can recommend Le Jardin Malanga, however it is a bit pricy for what you get.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Over two weeks, we sampled four of the top hotels in Guadeloupe, and this tops them all. Malanga is set on a lush rain forest hillside on Basse Terre, on a 12 hectare property that is wonderfully managed and maintained. We were lodged in a colonial house built ca. 1920, beautifully restored with shiny wooden floors. The food is great, the service personal and unequaled, and the atmosphere is relaxing. One can take this as a starting point to discover the La Soufriere vulcano, just a few kilometers away, or just waste the day away at the perfect infinity pool, from which one can admire several islands in the distance while sipping a ti-punch.

We slept well in modern beds, and for the techies, the internet connection is quite good and hassle-free.

It is not cheap, but a paradise like this should not be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucDevroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We arrived at new years eve to an astonishing night with champagne by the pool, at least 9 courses, rum and sigars at the end!

Talk to Simon and he will make your stay unique with tips of rainforest lagoons, island adventure, wave surfing, great restaurants+++.

The location is great if you like to see the real Guadeloupe!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djblund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois Rivieres
17.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
22.2 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
936 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
480 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
24.6 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin Malanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin Malanga

Address: 60 Route de L Hermitage, Trois Rivieres 97114, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Trois Rivieres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trois Rivieres
Price Range: £197 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin Malanga 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is composed by a renovated authentic colonial “mansion”, built in 1927 and 3 cottages:Colonial mansion : 1 suite with 2 bedrooms and one bathroom at the ground floor (with a part of the terrace which goes around the colonial mansion call a “varangue”). At the first floor two triple rooms with independant shower.Occupation SUITE : 2 adults + 2 children + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 60sqmOccupation triple rooms : 3 adults + 1 infant. Surface area ≈ 28sqmThe cottages : 2 independant rooms with terrace for each cottage, children’s bedroom on upper level, which can be communicated with one of each rooms.Occupation : 2 adults + 1 infant. Suraface area ≈ 17sqmEvery room including: Bathroom with Bath (or shower), hair-drier, air-conditioner, phone, IPOD system, one king size bed (maximum 2 persons in a room, possibility to add a baby cot), terrasse with panoramic view overlooking “Les Saintes” and deck chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Le Jardin Malanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Malanga Hotel Guadeloupe
Le Jardin Malanga Basse Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing