We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond perfect!!!”
Review of Mt Rosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mt Rosa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibbston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Its difficult to describe what a great experience we had at Mt Rosa. The lodge itself is tucked far away from the city humdrum, and is almost picture-perfect. But beyond the place and arrangements, its the warmth of the hosts - Maureen and Brian - which sets Mt Rosa apart. We almost felt as if we came home to long-lost friends. That!

The drive to the lodge on day 1 can be a tad tricky, as GPS leads you to wilderness nearby, so best to read and understand the directions on website and give them a call when you are in cellular range. But once we got on the right path, the drive was lovely, with rabbits and quails running about the vineyard.

The room beats the best and brightest of 5-star hotel rooms globally. And I do not say this lightly, as I have probably stayed in 50 such hotels in last 8 years across 30 odd countries. We stayed in their best room, called Mt Rosa Suite, and it was splendid. The room looks out to hills and vineyard, with greenery all around and mountains in the distance. Something that holidays should be about! 

The hospitality is amazing. Maureen is an excellent chef bar none. And Brian is the most gentleman of hosts, ever ready with an offer of a red or white. I probably gained a few pounds in those three days that we stayed! Coffee lovers - you need to have the classic french press coffee that Maureen brews - perfect blend of aroma, body and acidity. 

It was my wife's birthday in the second day of our stay. Maureen had all the right suggestions and recommendations in place, well in advance. She made a perfect picnic basket for us and Brian drove down to the restaurant the day before to ensure that our reservation was in place and menu would be as per our dietary restrictions. Its attention to details like these and just the fact that both of our hosts made efforts to ensure that we have not just good but beyond great stay is what matters. Just splendid!

Probably this is the longest review I have written, but here's one more point I'd definitely like to make. Children! I have two - 4.5 and 1.5 yrs. Both as restless as kids are in that age. And kids do what they do. I remember at least one piece of crockery meeting its fate. Despite all that, the patience and care with which Maureen and Brian engaged both the kids was fascinating. My son (the elder kid) remembers them whenever we talk about NZ trip and says he wants to visit "Aunty Maureen" again! 

You get the idea. Stay there. Its awesome. You will not regret. And yes, its worth the price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank hwm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the most in depth review of your stay with us here at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown. You are quite right it can be a little tricky getting here but if you follow the instructions on the web site, have our number handy you will have no problem.
Your family were a delight and we loved the interaction with them.They were so wide eyed about life!!
We certainly shared some stories after staying with us for 3 days.Thank you for that and for the review which we very much appreciate.Look forward to a visit in the future and maybe to check out a particular art gallery where you were so taken with a painting.
Our regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I are from Canada, and travel a lot with his business. We were spending 10days on the South Island last Nov. Mt Rosa had come well recommended, and more than exceeded our expectations. The reception, accommodations and cuisine were better than any other we've experienced in NZ or any other country we visited. Maureen & Brian have a special gift of how to make you feel like you're their 'personal guests' and part of their family, yet giving you all the privacy needed for a relaxing holiday. The location was great for wine tours, visiting Queenston, hiking, biking, shopping, or anything you could possible want to do on vacation!! Cheers Maureen & Brian!! Hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown.Seeing it was your first visit to this region it was good to read your comments.Yes the vineyard and the topic of wine is pretty close to us.Thanks for some of the tips re our imminent visit to your country.
You managed to fit in an overnight in Doubtful Sound and some of the walking rails in this region.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Mt Rosa Lodge should you ever return to Queenstown.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the x'mas and new year at Mt Rosa. Maureen has marvelous cooking skill. The X'mas eve dinner and breakfast she made were so delicious. View is spectacular and picturesque.
On our first night, the toilet was not working well. Brian fixed it right away and kindly offered us to change to another room. During our 4 night stay (on 2 trips), We got a chance to rotate between the 3 guest rooms to get a taste of unique decoration of each room.
Also love the fresh cherry Maureen picked from her garden everyday.
Wanna thanks Maureen and Brian for their hospitality and for making Mt Rosa such a lovely place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay with us at Mt Rosa Lodge over Christmas.Also apreciate that you came to us twice on your visit to the region.It is a great location to enjoy all that Queenstown has to offer and enjoy the peace and beauty of the vineyards.
Thank you for being so accommodating with the changing of your rooms till we had the situation resolved. Not many guests have got to stay in all the suites. The suites have all a different feel but with all the same views.
We look forward to hosting you again when you visit the region again.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We recently spent two days of our honeymoon at Mt. Rosa Lodge. My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful experience. The room was luxurious and beautifully decorated, and the bathroom was out-of-this-world! I appreciated the high quality lotion, shampoo and conditioner and especially the cheese board and fresh fruit left in our room.

Breakfast was wonderful. Maureen and Brian made sure we had food waiting in our room on a morning we needed to make an early start, and the spread we had in the main house the next day was generous and delicious. I wish I could buy the homemade honey greek yogurt!

It was lovely to start each day on our private patio overlooking a small rose garden and the beautiful views. Overall, I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a quiet escape in an incredible setting with easy access to Queenstown.

Erika B

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay here with us at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown. Trust the rest of your holiday in New Zealand was memorable. Thank you both for sharing your wedding story with us.Wow what a huge day!
Summer has started at last here in Queenstown but it was a bit cooler for your visit.Brian and I wish you all the best for your venture and thank you again for visiting us here among the vines in Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent Christmas and Boxing Day at Mt Rosa Lodge. Christmas also happens to be my birthday. Maureen and Brian greeted us at the door and made us feel welcome from the very first moment. We were offered coffee and each given a slice of chocolate cake for my birthday! The conversation was comfortable and easy.

Maureen showed us to our room, which was beautifully laid out and so comfy. The furnishings and linens were top notch. The bathroom was a dream. Our hosts had provided wonderful fluffy towels. There was also shampoo, conditioner and soap.

There was a complimentary cheese board in the refrigerator and coffee/tea with all the fixins in the room. Looking out on the small balcony and beyond, the mountains and vineyards filled your view. We wanted for nothing during our stay.

We had a long drive the next morning and needed to leave early. Maureen made sure we had breakfast in our room. Homemade yogurt (I don't remember tasting better anywhere) and muesli with fruit. The breakfast we were served before leaving the next day was delicious.

There was only one thing that seemed odd to me. I can understand letting guests know that there was a charge for drinking the wine left in the room. But I want to be honest here and I don't feel that they should charge for water and soda left in the mini fridge. Mt Rosa Lodge is a extremely classy place. This was unexpected.

That said, I would highly recommend Mt Rosa Lodge for anyone with discerning tastes and a desire to be well-taken care of. Maureen and Brian set the bar high for other B&Bs anywhere. You won't be disappointed.

If you are interested in reading more about our New Zealand vacation, please subscribe to my blog at yvetterene.blogspot.com.au.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheYvetteRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay with us over the Christmas period and sharing your birthday with us here at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown. It was fun sharing your adventures and the stories you returned with.We were in awe of your long drives but fortunately driving around this spectacular region has its rewards.
Thank you for your comment re the water in the mini bar and we will certainly point out to guests in the future that the tap water is perfect for drinking and to provide guests with a carafe of water in the room free of charge.We aprecaite your feedback on this.
Look forward to hosting you back on your next visit to Queenstown in perhaps another spectucular season.
Thank you again and Happy New Year to you both

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We went on our honeymoon trip and our travel agent recommended this lodge. And we were really happy with this place, warm welcome from owner and great room with scene of vineyard and hill. Had dinner with the owners also really nice.
Will be back again if we have a chance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naaumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for the review of your stay with us at Mt Rosa Lodge. Thankfully the weather was great during your stay and you were able to explore this spectacular region in and around Queenstown.
We trust it was a honeymoon to remember.
Thank you again and it was our pleasure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I cannot express enough just how much we enjoyed staying at this lovely lodge. Maureen and Brian were extremely informative and helpful host and hostess. We were particularly impressed with their personalised service (some fruit left in our room every day considering that I was pregnant!), stunning view you can get from their property, delicious breakfast and dinner, welcome drinks and Brian's lecture on wine and wine making. My husband still fondly remembers the rose wine they served as the best rose he's ever had. It was also an excellent location - only a short distance to Queenstown, Wanaka, Arrowtown and Cardrona. We travelled in summer but we can imagine it can also be an ideal place to stay in winter for winter sports.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

How wonderful to hear from you after what seems to be a long time ago.We remember your visit well and you came in the wonderful cherry season hence the fruit in your room.
Thank you for your review and you will be pleased to know that the Amisfield Rose is available again.They ran out quite early in the season but any time you return we will make sure we have some of that Rose.
Our regards to you both and look forward to welcoming you back to Mt Rosa Lodge as as you say" Maybe in the winter"I highly recommend the autumn which is March/April/ May.
Thank you again, we very much appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mt Rosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Rosa Lodge

Address: 55E Gibbston Back Road | RD1, Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Gibbston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibbston
Price Range: £231 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mt Rosa Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Rosa Lodge is set on a private vineyard growing pinot noir grapes on an elevated site. Spectacular views from all suites and surrounding lodge. Suites are luxuriously appointed with every detail to make your stay perfect. WiFi is available in all suites. Queenstown airport is 25 minutes away and the award-winning wineries and restaurants are nearby. This is the perfect romantic accommodation among the vineyards on the outskirts of Queenstown On site are walking trails and bike trails are nearby. Close to four Ski Fields. 5 Golf Courses and the myriad Adventure Tourism Activities. Complimentary Glass of our own Pinot Noir to enjoy with a complimentary Cheeseboard upon arrival. Grapepickers Platter for two available at $75. Close enough to Queenstown in a very private an peaceful panoramic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mt Rosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing