We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimaginably Splendid”
Review of Mt Rosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Rosa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibbston B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Unimaginably Splendid”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We give the Mt Rosa 5 starts, because that is the most that is allowed. However, our stay was more like 11 stars. From being greeted after a long tiring day with a lovely glass of wine, a generous spirit, and a warm bite to eat, to sleeping in one of the most luxurious beds imaginable, our experience was more than we expected. An amazing value - to think that there are fancy resorts in New Zealand that charge over $1000 a night, I can't imagine what more one could get! Gorgeous views, access to hikes immediately outside, delicious wine, outdoor fireplace and entertaining company of Brian and Maureen, our stay was perfect. And just a few minutes outside of Queenstown - it was perfect. (You would want a car preferably). You can bet we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissingPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My wife and I stayed for two nights in early December and had a wonderful time. This is the second time we stayed here and had been looking forward to returning. Maureen and Brian are excellent hosts and have a modern and luxurious home overlooking the Gibbston valley.

Our room was tastefully furnished and had a small refrigerator with snacks. There is a nice fully tiled bathroom with a large shower. The bed is comfortable and all the rooms have an excellent view of the valley. The overall décor combined with the rustic and very scenic location was very relaxing.

The lodge is located at the east end of the Gibbston valley, a short 15 minute drive from Queenstown and minutes away from some of the best wineries in the region. Maureen and Brian have their own vineyard next to the lodge and are in the 3rd year of producing their own excellent wine.

Maureen is an excellent cook and upon request and a small extra charge of $65/person can cook dinner. We enjoyed a wonderful, relaxed gourmet meal the first night with two other guests. We planned to go wine tasting the next day and Maureen shared a lot of information about Gibbston Valley and Central Otago wines which helped us choose which vineyards to visit.

We highly recommend Mt Rosa. It’s very comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale_Los_Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paeroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My wife and I recently were priviledged to experience a stay at Mt Rosa Lodge in Oct 2010 for 6 undescribably fascinating days. Mt Rosa Lodge is not simply the best (by far) B & B in NZ, that accollade would simply not do it justice enough. MT Rosa Lodge is a spiritual experience the soul searches for in its mortal lifetime. From its gracious and welcoming hosts Maureen and Brian, to the meticulous detail they brought to ensuring our every comfort was catered for, the wonderfully prepared meals and exquisite wines that delighted our pallets each and every day, complimented by the breathtaking views, peacefulness and tranquility of a property perched on a vantage point that allowed us to easily travel, access and experience the magnificence of the Gibbston Valley, Queenstown, the ski fields of Coronet Peak and surrounding sights. We were left with a spiritual sense of well-being that the creator had worked His greatness here. For us all too difficult to capture in one day. We felt a sense of family that Maureen and Brian make you feel part of and the feeling that we had experienced one of the most lasting and memorable holidays we had or ever going to experience again. My wife and I highly recommend Mt Rosa Lodge as the choice for not simply the best we experienced in relaxation, comfort and fine dining, but as an experience NEVER to be forgotten, leaving us with a uplifting spiritual feeling of having discovered this gem hidden away like a jewel in the Gibbston Valley.
Peter and Vivienne Blake

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdblake_fiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay.Brian and I were thrilled to be your hosts and to hear that you both were moved by this powerfully emotive landscape. Look forward to your return to Mt Rosa Lodge in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2010

One of life's pleasures is to greet the day in peaceful, tranquil and luxurious surroundings. Our second stay at Mt Rosa Lodge, delightful location with spectacular snow-capped mountain views, own wine producing vineyards, tastefully decorated luxury suites and lodge, and MOST welcoming, friendly and generous hosts. Brian & Maureen excel in attention to every detail - best-ever breakfasts and unsurpassed dinner, knowledgable wine recommendations and impressive Pinot Noir from Mt Rosa Lodge's own grapes, informative local knowledge of attractions and interests. Look forward to a further return visit!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2010
Wonderful to welcome you back to Mt Rosa Lodge.It gives us a great sense of place to have returning guests want to re connect in some way to a time we shared previously. you have seen Mt rosa Lodge now in Autumn and Spring. Winter is dramatic and summer has those long, long warm days.So we look forward to welcoming you back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

A short drive from Queenstown, we stayed here for a few days while visiting the local ski fields at Cardona and Coronet Peak. Perched on the hillside above the vines, the lodge is peaceful, with stunning views across the valley. The lodge is modern and extremely luxurious, and the perfect base for exploring both Queenstown and local wineries. Our hosts made us feel exceptionally welcome, and dinner at the lodge was superb.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hosts Brian and Maureen have a wonderful Lodge with Spa Bath and terrific views over Vineyards and Mountains just a few kilometres out of Queenstown; they provide a 5 star suite and Cordon Bleu Dinner with excellent wines. Brian has 5 acres of his own vines below the Lodge and works in a winery so really knows his stuff! Let us try the winery’s Pinot Blanc – a rarity as they only produce 40 cases a year as well a Pinot Gris from his own Vines which was delicious – full of flavour.
By far the best place we stayed at during our 3 week tour of New Zealand

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This lodge, set in vineyards just far enough away from Queenstown to enjoy the beauty of wine country and still be able to enjoy he panic that is Queenstown, is a great escape. The rooms are elegant and luxurious, the grounds are beautiful, and the owners make your time there truly special. Worth a trip just to stay there!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lthez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibbston
14.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
14.4 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
15.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
15.6 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
Azur
Azur
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Rosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Rosa Lodge

Property: Mt Rosa Lodge
Address: 55E Gibbston Back Road | RD1, Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Gibbston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibbston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mt Rosa Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Rosa Lodge is set on a private vineyard growing pinot noir grapes on an elevated site. Spectacular views from all suites and surrounding lodge. Suites are luxuriously appointed with every detail to make your stay perfect. WiFi is available in all suites. Queenstown airport is 25 minutes away and the award-winning wineries and restaurants are nearby. This is the perfect romantic accommodation among the vineyards on the outskirts of Queenstown On site are walking trails and bike trails are nearby. Close to four Ski Fields. 5 Golf Courses and the myriad Adventure Tourism Activities. Complimentary Glass of our own Pinot Noir to enjoy with a complimentary Cheeseboard upon arrival. Grapepickers Platter for two available at $75. Close enough to Queenstown in a very private an peaceful panoramic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mt Rosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing