We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place in the middle of mountains”
other travellers have booked this property
View from our terrace in summertime.Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain.Long time rent possible
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from our terrace in summertime.Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain.Long time rent possible
Your bedroom with a double bed. Our terrace in summertime. Live like a modern hermit on top of the Romanian mountains! Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from our terrace in summertime.Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain.Long time rent possible
Your bedroom with a double bed.
Our terrace in summertime. Live like a modern hermit on top of the Romanian mountains! Retreat
You can choose to stay in our guest house/one room summer house for 2 persons (optional).
View from the top. Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain. Wild nature, breath-taking scenery!
Small seasonal waterfalls on the White Cris river, near its secondary spring (11-13 km away).
View from our terrace in wintertime. Rustic house on top of Romanian mountain. Wild nature retreats!
Terrace
Very old stable in the neighbourhood
This is us, your hosts Lidia & Flaviu
Wall painting in progress
Cherry blossoms in springtime.
Terrace
Wooden logs footpath in the garden.
The Cave of Strâmba Mountain - a 3 hours hike on a wild foot path with breathtaking scenery.
Edible coral shaped mushrooms.
Scenery - view point: 12 minutes walking distance from our home.
This is Stramba mountain. The cave is exactly on the middle, 30 meters down from the top (3 h away)
Our house - remote, quiet, peaceful, surrounded by nature!
detail - living room
detail - kitchen
detail - conservatory
detail - Lidia's painted wall in the conservatory
detail - living room
detail - kitchen
paintings painted by our guest Karine - the neighbourhood with our dog and our kitchen
detail - garden
detail - fairy garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brad, Hunedoara County, Western Romania, Transylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
klaw0
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place in the middle of mountains”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The place is perfect to relax and run away from big city life. Hosts are nice and helpful, speak fluent english. The house has artistic atmosphere inside and very good conditions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you, it was a pleasure hosting you! See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oana I
1 review
“Amazing location and beautiful people.”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A special place to relax and enjoy the silence. You will never want to leave.
I would recommend this to anyone and we will be back. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday and didn't want to go home.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Awww... so sweet! Looking forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrovici...
1 review
“Rustic”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely and quiet place to enjoy free time with friends.
Tha place is perfect for biking, hiking and enjoying morning cofee with a perfect view :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you! Looking forward to climb on Pişoaia frozen waterfall with you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine V
2 reviews
“it´s a family affair!”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayeds at Flaviu´s and Lidia´s house for 5 nights with 2 kids (5 and 7 years old) in Winter.
Our hosts were very welcoming and caring.
Flaviu picked us up in the valley and Lidia welcomed us in their warm house late at night.
If you decide staying with them, you´ll have a nice experience ahead!
choose this destination
- if you are looking for a simple but very comfy accomodation
- if you don´t mind sharing bathroom/ kitchen with your hosts
- if you look for exchange, sharing, nice talks and a "family affair"
- if you wanna experience romanian food
- if you don´t mind that there isn´t a bar in walking distance at night ;)
- if you wanna have a good laugh
- if you like to experience the simple life
- if you wanna go to a hidden place in nature most of the tourists will probably never go to
- if you like pets
- if you wanna experience romanian hospitality at it´s best!

I definitely recommend to stay with Flaviu and Lidia, taste their delicious vegetables, the homemade lemonade and experience the surrounding area.

We combined our stay with 2 nights in Timisoara and rented a car there to get to Transilvania. On our way to the mountain peak we stopped by a bigger city to do some shopping. I definetely recommend you to do the same, cause in the village there´s only a very little shop!

-

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you, very nice and accurate review! It was a pleasure hosting you and having you around! Looking forward for your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanga G
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Perfect for quiet, meditation, nature, hiking and experiencing rural Transylvania”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Located in the beautiful Western Carpathians, the house is a lovely combination of rustic simplicty and benefits of modern life: you have wifi, but no noise, you have a comfy bathroom with water from the cold, clear creek and kind, welcoming hosts that live like hermits but know all the useful websites for traveling. The scenery is breathttaking, you get to meet a few of the locals and see how they live, and yet you will be rather isolated. You can practice chopping wood or taking care of a garden, meditate or do crafts. You can exhaust yourself on the mountain or just relax, it is perfect to disconnect, relax and enjoy a simple yet comfy way of living. It isn't the easiest place to reach, but this is exactly it's charm and definitely worth it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Very well put! Many thanks Hanga, your words mean a lot to us! This was our first New Year celebration with 11 persons at Tihna Crisului and it turned out lovely! Thank you again for visiting us two times!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarika S
2 reviews
“A place you can feel at home”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I never thought I could find a place so homely so far away from my original home. Flaviu & Llydia treated me like a family member. With them, I experienced traditional Romanian pre-Christmas celebration in the neighbor's house up on the snowy mountains. We enjoyed our meals and laughter together. We had long hours of conversation about meditation and searching for self from which I gathered a new perspective on life. I want to apply those further in my life and I hope to see them again to create some new memories together. Wish you well, Flaviu & Llydia! :)

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
May your life be a celebration, dear Sarika! What a pleasure sharing our home with you and having you around! Looking forward to your visit together your friends ;) Tihna Crisului is always open to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotoLahir...
Canacona, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in May 2014

My partner and I visited Flaviu as WWOOFers. At that time he was building this dream project. I know his dreams, I know this space and even though we were there only for 2 days, just the way we were treated and the beauty of the area combined with the walks around makes it very very special. This is a place I would recommend to all my friends and I am delighted to write this review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you Toto! Much appreciated! Our hosting conditions improved dramatically since 2014. Now we can welcome people also during winter time in "city like" conditions with all the modern comfort. Wish you all the best and thank you for your visit and your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing