We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best stay”
Review of Monticello Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monticello Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Monticello
Reviewed 24 June 2011

To start with, the room smelled old/musty. Had to push to get the door open. Not enough outlets....none in the bathroom at all. The outlet where the TV was plugged into, is where we would have to unplug TV to plug in coffee pot or lamp. No way could we do 3 things at once. You see...the second half of the plug, had the TV alarm system plugged in. Finally found one plug on the opposite side of the room...away from the bathroom/mirror. So we did buy an extention cord to be able to use a blowdryer and plug our cell phones in. No washer/dryer. Nasty carpet. Broken bathroom sink. Free Wi-Fi? well, we had such poor signal strength, it didn't do us any good to even try to connect. Even checking out, no one was in the office....found the housekeeper and gave her the key.Think twice about this motel....unless they get some major remodeling done...by the way, don't let looks fool you....the front desk/office is remodeled just not the rest of the motel.

Room Tip: positive thought: better than no room at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 34 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

First of all we had to practically kick door in to get it open(fire hazard from the other side) then when we went in there were numerous holes in the top of the dresser/tv stand like someone shot it up their were numerous holes in the walls(kinda scared their was a spy camera sorta thing) rugs had cigarette burns all over it and rugs were filthy by the night stand was several insects( which I think got it in from the 2inch gap under the door where you could see daylight) the ice container was filthy, NO HOT WATER FOR SHOWER!!! then when I bent down to dry my hair noticed a plastic roach killer disc behind the toliet excuse me the filthy toliet not to mention the filthy tub. The mattress looked filthy and the beds were poorly made. When we went to shut the air conditioner off it was dripping water all over the floor. I would have rather stayed in a hot tent then this place ever again!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prouselinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

DO NOT stay here. The rooms are NASTY. We changed rooms 3 times before one was almost suitable for the night. It looks OK on the outside but it's not. Rooms smell like cat urine. Air conditioners do not work and stink when you turn them on. No hot water (they are working on that...we were told). Sink leaked. Even the ceilings are dirty. The beds were OK, but cigarette burns in the sheets and bed covers. Carpets were absolutely disgusting. For what they charge (85.00 for a double) you would think they could ut a little money in the place. Please...go somewhere else. Your car would be better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

This hotel where we thought would be great turned out to be miserable, the room we stayed in was filthy, hair all over and not the hair on top of your head, mold in the bathroom, food left over from the previous stayers, the beds were uncomfortable, sheets had cigarette burns in a non smoking room, numerous holes in the walls, ceilings, and bathtub, the only best feature was there pool, not saying too much about this place so see the room before you stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank witry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I Promiss You the filth in this room will make you puke!!!..carpet was moldy, cig burns in the floor..pictures on the wall had mold on them YES mold on the pictures. bathroom had more mold then u would need to see in a lifetime...beds were unmade an a mess from prior renter. ice machine was in the office that was not open every morning to fill your cooler for work ... we rented 6 rooms for 13 people working at the local hospital this is by far the worst room we have ever seen! Did i forget to tell you that other people had keys to our room...we was headed to dinner the first night an a man used a key toget into 1 of our rooms! Don't think you'll get a hot shower !!!!OH how Safe is that!!! U BEEN WARNED !~!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank indy_debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuvola02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandywine Inn & Suites
17.9 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Indiana Beach Boardwalk Resort Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Lafayette IN
24.7 mi away
Quality Inn Conference Center
22.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monticello Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monticello Inn

Address: 1273 W Broadway St, Monticello, IN 47960-1880
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: £48 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monticello Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monticello Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Monticello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing