We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Monticello B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2012

The location and outside of the property are really great, but that's all this place has going for it. It is right across the street from IN Beach and their waterfront is really nice on Lake Shafer. We stayed in one of the large cottages and were disgusted at how dirty and outdated the place is. It's desperately in need of renovation!! It rained and water leaked in a window all night long near one of the beds. The mattresses and bed coverings are all old and disgusting! Furniture - ick! We covered with sheets of our own for sanitary reasons. No ventilation in the one bathroom so it has mold issues and the toilet leaks. Kitchen appliances are old and don't work to the fullest (i.e. oven only heats to about 300, frig doesn't get really cold). Wifi went in & out. Heard the female owner telling another in the parking lot she got so drunk she lost her keys and had to get into her house by removing the window a/c unit. So, not impressed there either. We won't be staying here again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Robyn and Ziggy are such nice people! "Dude" is the greatest! What a nice boy. We love our stay at Victorian Bay. The property is lovely and like always we are very satisfied with the service. See you again and again and again for as long as you will have us!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Owners Robin & Ziggy Are Truly Amazing People.... Down To Earth & Super Friendly... Our House (Fisherman Cottage) Was Clean, And Overlooked Lake Shafer... There Is A Ton Of Things To do From, Paddle Boating, Row Boats, (Which R All Free) The Only Extra Would Be The Pontoon Boat.. But At $100.00 For The Day Who Could Complain.. It's like $150.00 For 3 hours Across The Lake, At Lake Shafer Marina.... And 1 Thing We Loved.. The Enterance To Indiana Beach Is Like 500 Feet Away.... They Have Places To Tie Up Your Own Boat For Free... We Are Coming back This September (2012) For A 4 Day Stay Once Again.... Robin & Ziggy Truly Want Your Visit To Be All You Want It To Be... And More...... Thank You Both For A Amazing Stay... Our Kid Will Not Forget How Much Fun They Had ... Our Twins Said To Tell Dude The Doggie Hi... (: ..... See You Soon... The Rileys

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank parentsof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I know this was our 4th or 5th year there. We go up to Monticello at least 2 if not more times a year and stay. We have managed to make new friends in Ziggy and Robyn that they are like family. Oh I almost forgot "Dude", he is always there to greet us when we arrive and loves to come in and visit with us. I get my doggy fix for the weekend. The cabins are so comfortable, cozy, clean....what more can I say. There is so much room to play cornhole in the back, fish, swim, or just sit and relax in one of the many chairs. Our kids can just walk back and forth to the beach when they want. You can not even hear the rides going on! I strongly suggest that if you want a place to stay that is affordable and like being at home, I suggest you stay here!!

Room Tip: We love the basement in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just spent another relaxing and fun vacation at Victorian Bay Resort. The owners, Ziggy and Robyn, are FABULOUS hosts. There is plenty seating with a great view of the bay, very clean cottages (cooking items, cable tv, air conditioning included!), charcoal grills, paddle boats, a fire pit and life preservers in the boat house. Top that off with a short walk to Indiana Beach Resort and there is plenty of fun for the family. Oh, and I have to mention DUDE!!!! He's got a great personality and friendly....gave us our doggie fix for the week.

We've booked again for next year. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brwneydgyrl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My Family has been coming here for 4 years! I have never meet anyone like Robin&Ziggy! They are the most friendliest, nicest&caring people ive ever meet!! This resort is 1 of the nicest weve found on Lake Schaffer!! You cant beat the prices! Very clean! Very Relaxing & quiet!! Believe it or not with it being so close to the amusement park I thought it would be loud but it wasnt at all! It was nice to be close to the park for the kids convenience!! This resort offers so much free family games & water toys that you can have a great vacation on little money!!!!! With the economy like it is this is awsome for families to still be able to go spend quality time together!!!! Thank You Robin & Ziggy

Room Tip: very cozy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaCrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My family has been staying at Victorian Bay Resort for 40 years yes thats right 40 years! Ziggy and Robin are the best always there if you need them...The cabins are clean and have all the comforts of home..The property is just beautiful and the fishing is great. Im watching my children enjoying the week just as I did when I was their age...I highly recommend Victorian Bay Resort for your vacation needs! Almost forgot that "Dude" is the icing on the cake for our family vacation he is not only Ziggy and Robins pet but ours also...Thanks again for making my family vacation memories the best that they can be...

The Scott Family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarrickScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monticello hotels
0.2 mi away
Indiana Beach Boardwalk Resort Lodging
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandywine Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Pine View Resort
Pine View Resort
#8 of 9 in Monticello
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Resort
Outrigger Resort
#5 of 10 in Monticello
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
IB Crow Campground
IB Crow Campground
#4 of 10 in Monticello
8 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Door Cottages
Blue Door Cottages
#1 of 10 in Monticello
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Bay Resort

Address: 5116 E. Indiana Beach Road, Monticello, IN 47960-1264
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range: £89 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing