We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place!”
Review of Blue Door Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Door Cottages
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Blue Door Cottages is a great place to stay. I can't wait to get back! The service is top notch! Clean rooms, pool, bathrooms were spotless, great atmosphere all around! Anytime I asked where something was the manager, Scott, was on top of it. He was great at customer service and that made a big impression on me. Me and my family will be back to Blue Door Cottages Asap! Great place and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

My family (2 adults 3 children) stayed in a single cottage over memorial day weekend 2013. Blue door cottages was clean and reasonably priced. If you have ever looked around Monticello you will quickly find most accommodations are outdated, musty, and run down. I liked that our kids had their own room. We all slept well. The kids loved the park and it is center from the cottages so you can watch your kids from most of the cottages. The pool looked nice but it was too cold to swim when we stayed. There is new management this year so you don't have to worry about not being able to get towels as stated in another review he will provide additional towels. You will need to bring your own soap and shampoo which is expected in a cabin type resort, if you do happen to forget I did notice they sell them at the front office. As far as the reviewers that state rooms are smaller then expected they were small but not smaller then I expected them to be. I found the pictures to be accurate. There was plenty of room for our family. They also have dvds and games you can borrow in the front office. I found the manager Scott to be very welcoming, friendly, and customer oriented. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank love2vacay_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We went there at the beginning of October just looking for a friend getaway on a great value! We enjoyed the boat for a few hours, the guys golfed at Tippecanoe (which was amazing) and the gals enjoyed the winery tour at Whyte Horse winery! The fire pits were amazing (and perfect for a cool October evening), we grilled steaks with the grills provided and even enjoyed some bags! The beds were really comfortable and everything we needed for us to enjoy was provided in the cottages! No need to bring any supplies in the kitchen! Thank you for everything we are already planning a weekend away next summer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meyer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had our family reunion in late July at Blue Door Cottages--it suited our needs very well. The rooms are compact, but overall it was a good value for the price--$165 a night for a little house that sleeps 5 was a good value for us.

We've stayed at a few places at Indiana Beach--this is by far the best in town. We had about 40 family members at the reunion. We loved that everyone in different generations could have their own space, and away time if necessary. Great pool and play set for the kids--lots of space for kids to run and play. Great fire pits for camp fires after dark. You'll get bugs hovering by the front door lights at night. It's in a wooded area.

Our cottage was nice and clean. Didn't deal much with the staff. Super cute decor inside. We look forward to going again next summer!

Room Tip: Cottage 13 has bunk bed/twin beds and a king. Be sure your kids are old enough for the bunk!! Stud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

First time in years visiting Indiana Beach for a family get together. We have decided to stay at Blue Door Cottages from all the updated pictures compared to others in the area. Looks are Deceiving! Appeared smaller than in the photos. First thing we noticed was a sign posted on the Fridge stating everything in the cabin and the HIGH charges if it is missing. We didn't have a skillet, spoon or spatula. We didn't want to be charged for something that was not in the room the first place so we mentioned it to the very unfriendly front desk man. He spoke very rudely to us like we stolen the items & had to come in our cabin mumbling under his breath searching for them, like we lied. Then he brings us some old dollar store items for replacement and basically throws them at us. At night when the lights in the front room were on, bugs would get through the seams of the closed door. Our ceiling and room were covered in Bugs! We mentioned it to him again.. that was a joke & he had much to mumble under his breath about & joked about it to the next door neighbors. Im not sure who Steve was but if the manager or owner was there, we would have loved to speak to him about his employee. The shower in the bathroom, was not sealed and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Luckily, we had our beach towels also, because we could not get new clean towels without washing them ourselves or paying for them. They have a nice smaller pool, cook out/Bonfire area & a area for the kids to play. We had a decent stay, mainly because we were together with the family. Our room could use a couple Fixes,a good cleaning and staff that actually acts like he enjoys his job and the business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HLSGIGGLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Very cute from outside. Very small on inside. Looks cleaner & more updated in pictures. Floors,fans filthy. Stains on bathroom floor. When taking a shower the lights flicker on & off. We went to indiana beach one night & left the light on in our cabin. When we got home there were bugs everywhere in our room covering the ceiling. The seal on our front door obviously let bugs in. We could see light coming through. When we told the manager he pretty much said there was nothing he can do & made smart remarks as he walked away. I believe his name is Ken. He said someone would look at it & they never came to fix it. We were also missing kitchen utensils & we had to ask 2 times. He finally came barging into our room & acted like we stole the crappy pots & pans. He said "it was here after the last tenants left." We also found a toenail under the bed when we were looking for my daughters ball. GROSS. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meagenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A lot smaller than what we thought it would be. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a sleeping alcove & had to leave bedroom door open because of only one window unit & the alcove is right by bedroom which could be uncomfortable if you are not with family. Bathroom showed some wear
& tear on tiles & the shower leaked onto floor (puddling). Told management & they were aware of it & gave us some stained up towels to mop up..... but we had already used hand towels that you were expected to use for 4 days without having to pay for a new set. No soaps or shampoos provided so make sure to bring your own. Kitchen was small with cheap pots & pans that needed replacing & you could only turn on 1 burner on stove. For a holiday weekend staff was out of office a lot so we couldn't check out corn hole bags or movies on a Sat night. Pool was also
closed they said because it had been raining but... We saw other resorts with people swimming.
It was fairly clean on the surface.... But could have used a deep scrubbing. It did have a small
play area for the kids which was taken care of but found broken glass in the area around it. WiFi was something to be desired. Took forever to get connected & kept getting kicked off all the timeWill
check out other areas before we go to stay in Monticello again

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1lucyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monticello hotels
3.0 mi away
Indiana Beach Boardwalk Resort Lodging
2.9 mi away
Pirate's Cove Resort
Pirate's Cove Resort
#2 of 10 in Monticello
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Outrigger Resort
Outrigger Resort
#5 of 10 in Monticello
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pine View Resort
Pine View Resort
#8 of 9 in Monticello
44 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandywine Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
IB Crow Campground
IB Crow Campground
#4 of 10 in Monticello
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Cottages

Address: 5212 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-7194
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Monticello
Price Range: £74 - £1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Door Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Door Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing