We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jane &cary”
Review of Blue Door Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door Cottages
Reviewed 16 June 2014

my wife and I travel a lot now that we're retired, and have found the blue door cottages to be one of our favorites. The manager and his wife went out of the way to make us welcome. Even though it was raining both days when we were there, they suggested places for us to go and still enjoy ourselves. Just across the street is a great seafood restaurant, two minutes away is a marina where you can get a fishing license, and rent a boat if you want to. Monticello is full of shops to visit and Indiana beach is there for the younger crowd.
The cottages were comfortable and it is one of the few places that the bed felt like home and not hard as we find most of the hotels are. plenty of t v channels and free wifi.
We'll defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Blue Door Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in cottage #4 for three nights. It was my wife, myself, and our 18 month old daughter. There were two bedrooms so we had plenty of room. Our daughter really enjoyed the pool that was within the facility. We tried Indiana Beach but only stayed for about an hour and a half because there wasn't much for our little one. The free wifi was awesome as we took along an Apple TV with us so that our little one could watch her cartoons. The grill next to our cottage provided us with most of our meals but we did have a full kitchen. If you have a boat, this would be a good spot for you to stay because there is a dock right across the street.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Mitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our days were overcasts and rainy for most of the time but the cottages were clean and comfortable and the family get together was a roaring success. Enough sun popped through that we even managed to spend time on the pontoon boat touring the lake. We all had a great time and look forward to a return visit when the weather is a little more cooperative.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for two days at Blue Door Cottages this week and enjoyed it so much. The property is lovely - all newly refurbished. The cottages are clean, pretty and comfortable and have everything you could need for a pleasant stay. And the staff is very accommodating and helpful. i highly recommend this for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I want to be very fair in this review. This is obviously a small business, which I prefer to support. With that being said, I hope this review will only bring to management’s attention of areas to improve.
Communication is lacking. Getting a response to an email or phone call is very difficult! We ended up driving to the resort a couple days before check-in in hopes of finding someone on the property. Luckily we found someone. Unfortunately he wasn’t the friendliest person. Once we checked in, the staff on-site were friendly and helped us when we asked.
The website portrays a property of luxury-level amenities and spacious rooms. We booked the 2 double bungalows for 16 people. I wouldn’t recommend more! It is certainly possible to sleep 6 people in each, but it would be SO crowded! (Just a tip) Our luxurious duvet had a big tear in it. The plush towels were fraying. Bed and pillows were comfy. Couch was covered in stains. Kitchen was not stocked…had to ask staff for plates, pot, skillet, cookie sheet, knife, and forks. Same story in the other rooms. Staff stated our room had been destroyed the previous weekend and they had to have everything steam cleaned, painted, and were still replacing items. It was obvious no major work had been done…some touch-up paint spots were noticed and the stains on the couch. TV is really small with lots of channels. WiFi wasn’t reliable and doesn’t reach entire property.
A recommendation would be to have cleaning items available to guests. Luckily someone brought some kitchen cleaner, so we shared it to wipe down the kitchen and clean the bathroom. With that many people, you have to clean up! I cleaned the floor with our cleaner and paper towels because we had tracked in mud. We were fine with no housekeeping (and weren’t expecting it), but a nice alternative would be to have some all-purpose cleaner and a mop/Swiffer available.
We truly appreciated just being able to hang out on the property without the staff constantly watching us. We played corn hole and claimed a corner fire pit so we wouldn’t bother other guests. Since it wasn’t booked, we borrowed a picnic table and extra lawn chairs…put everything back when we left. The pool was empty (too cold during our stay anyways) and the restaurant and piers were closed. And if you’re even thinking about it…NO ANIMALS ALLOWED! My husband says I’m being harsh, but the website isn’t accurately portraying the property. And for what we paid at the off-season rate I think was high. I would never pay the summer season rate!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stefanier918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent a night at Blue Door in May of 2013. The cottages are fantastic, cute, and very clean. Prices were reasonable. It was still chilly that day so we couldn't use the pool. Overall, a fantastic stay. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family has been coming here every summer for 5 years, and we look forward to the Blue Door as much as or more than the park. we keep expanding from the 4 bedroom cabana to cabins on either side. This place has a very nice little pool in which the little kiddos love to play. There are plenty of fire circles, grills, and picnic tables for all the cabins.

Blue Door is down the road from two marinas, and about a 5 minute drive from the parking lots for Indiana Beach. But even better than that, Blue Door is right across the road from Jake's, which is a nice little restaurant that has a back patio and a couple docks that one can sit on and watch the fireworks from Indiana Beach.

The management is very nice, and will do anything to help you. They even chop firewood for all the guests! They are great guides to the area and will help you find things in the area, including kayak outings and local deals.

The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning units are REALLY powerful. This place is a favorite!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDMG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
3.0 mi away
Indiana Beach Boardwalk Resort Lodging
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandywine Inn & Suites
18.1 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pirate's Cove Resort
Pirate's Cove Resort
#2 of 10 in Monticello
17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Outrigger Resort
Outrigger Resort
#4 of 10 in Monticello
6 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pine View Resort
Pine View Resort
#8 of 9 in Monticello
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Cottages

Address: 5212 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-7194
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Monticello
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Door Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Door Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing