We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't look here for service or a clean property, inside or out.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Door Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Door Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't look here for service or a clean property, inside or out.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We chose this property because it had been had been recently updated. The website it in fact is very lovely and the cabins are painted cute. The layout of the cabins were functionable as well, however, that's where anything positive can be said. The kitchens were dirty, all of the refridgerators froze everything, my refridgerator was filthy I had to ask the manager to have someone cleaned it, the floors were covered with bugs, there were bugs on the bedding. The pricing was reasonable but for that I had expected the rooms to be serviced each day. They were not. Not once in four (4) days. We were by a lake, we didn't bring our own towels, we were expected to wash our own towels, empty the trash, clean the room before our departure. I tried several times to call the owner prior to our arrival, (we live in Colorado) and could never get a return call. Not good business. If these people expect this business to stay open some major changes need to happen. I know our family won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueDoorCottages, Owner at Blue Door Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Although we are certainly not perfect, we have worked incredibly hard to build a reputation as the newest, nicest, cleanest resort in the Lake Shafer/Monticello area, therefore, I feel like a response is justified for these reviews…
1. There was a small liquid spill in the refrigerator that was admittedly missed during our manager’s final walk through of the cottage. When the guest brought it to his attention he immediately went out and wiped it up himself. Although we regret this wasn’t caught earlier, it hardly justifies the description of filthy.
2. Our refrigerators, like every other refrigerator, has temperature control on it that can be turned up or down if it is too cold for it’s contents.
3. One of the great benefits of our location is that we are on a lake, in a heavily wooded area and are open during the summer. As much as we wish we had the power to control Mother Nature, it is reasonable to expect that a guest may encounter a bug. Our cottages are all brand new construction and tightly sealed, but as the doors are opened and closed, an outdoor bug may find their way inside. We don’t believe the answer is in covering the property in dangerous pesticides that could harm our guests, potentially affect their breathing, and kill off everything beautiful and living on the property. We believe it’s more reasonable to expect to encounter a bug on a lake in the summer. We provide bug spray for free in our guest laundry area for the use of our guests. We also take pest control measures that are organic and would not harm our guests.
4. We are a small lakefront resort that is a collection of individual cabins. Our cabins offer about twice the size and amenity of a standard hotel room, for a similar price, but that doesn’t include a daily maid. It clearly states that on our website. Guests are renting a cabin, not a hotel room.
5. We do not expect guests to clean their rooms prior to departure or do their laundry. We do provide laundry facilities for guests that have a longer stay or might want to them. Each of our cottages is professionally cleaned after each guest checks out, and all linens are provided.
6. Our business phone number is clearly listed on the website and all invoices, and our manager answers each and every call that comes in. I am not sure why this guest chose to call a private out-of-state cell phone number to ask questions when they are readily available by calling our business anytime.

In conclusion, we try to give each an every guest a memory of time spent enjoying their families that they will take with them over the year. Most of our guests visit year after year, and some of them multiple times per summer. The truth is, there are people in the world that will let minutia like a frozen piece of fruit or a bug ruin their family’s vacation, and to those people…we wish them well and hope they find peace in the world.
All the best-
blue door cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    18
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

This place was so clean, beautifully decorated. I fell in love at first glance. The staff is so courteous and they go above and beyond. We wanted to stay longer. Seriously this has to be the best place in town, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardmeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

The place clean but small. The management was very rude and unprofessional

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueDoorCottages, Manager at Blue Door Cottages, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
When a guest brings a pit bull onto our property (very much against clearly stated policies) and we kindly ask them twice to remove it, and hours later, it is still here…we might find it necessary to get a little “unfriendly” in an effort to protect all our guests and their children.
Thank you for understanding,
blue door cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Blue Door Cottages exceeded my expectations while I vacationed with my two teenage boys on Lake Shafer. My primary mission was to get them away from the stress of home, friends, technology, etc. I wanted to simulate the vacations I remember taking when I was a child. Mission accomplished!! The boys loved the cottage - the whole idea of a cottage was so foreign to them! The cottages are totally renovated and updated in IKEA style. (See their website.) The cottages are so relaxing mentally because there is no clutter yet everything you need is there. Together, we enjoyed swimming at the pool, fire pits, movies, laughing in the cottage, walking across the street to the piers and Jake's Beach House, not to mention all of the other attractions at Indiana Beach. The cottages are visually appealing inside and out. And it was just a short walk up the road to the local lake store - you know the one - the one that has suntan lotion, food to grill out, cold beverages, chips, rafts, buckets and pails, cold ice, a deli, etc. Staying at Blue Door Cottages was truly an economical way to give my children what we all needed the most: good times, a glimpse into simpler times, and a great family memory.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cozylakegetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tremont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Our large extended family reserved all of the cottages but one. There were very clean and comfortable. The grounds and the pool were clean and maintained nicely. Management (Steve) was very pleasant and accommodating. The layout of the cabins was perfect for us. The cabins were in a circle around the pool and volleyball court. We spent 2 days hanging out at the pool and playing volleyball and bags. We also had a boat which we could dock across the street very conveniently. We were able to take turns in the boat without losing a lot of time in transition. There are grills on the grounds but we chose to go to a community park for our meals. We did use the fire pit in the evening. There was quite of bit of room around the cabins for groups to mingle and gather in lawn chairs. Between two of the cabins there was a canopied tree area that accommodated 50 people where we gathered for Sunday morning church. The blue cottages felt safe friendly. We were all very happy with the environment and agreed we would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tremont3little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Steve is so nice and accommodating. LOved our Big Cabana 7 for the 7 of us. Boat access right across the street was great along with JAKES family restaurant/bar & grill to grab a bite if we didn't feel like cooking. We like trying different places and we give this 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

After coming to Monticello for many, many years we thought we would try the new "Blue Door Cottages". Although they were clean and new, they were not very comfortable. There was no closet OR drawers of any type in the room with 2 beds. We stacked our clothes on a bedside (drawerless) side table. No place for anything in the bathroom and the same for the small kitchen. It was almost as if they got started and then didn't finish. We were disappointed and are returning to one of mainstays.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallysmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
2.8 mi away
Bay Side Resort
Bay Side Resort
#2 of 8 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Inn & Suites
23.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 3 in Rensselaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Pirate's Cove Resort
Pirate's Cove Resort
#2 of 10 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pine View Resort
Pine View Resort
#4 of 8 in Monticello
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Door Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Door Cottages

Property: Blue Door Cottages
Address: 5212 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-7194
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Door Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Door Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing