We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta love Linda- overall good place”
Review of Pine View Resort

Pine View Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pine View Resort
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Monticello
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the lodge part of the resort (main building) over memorial weekend, which is before the summer rates hit. Overall, it was a pleasant place. When you walk in it is very welcoming and cozy. Ladies working the front desk are incredibly helpful and kind. Linda, one of them, is a hoot and we would come back JUST to see her again! The pool is very nice, but small and filled with kids. The breakfast room is very nice, but breakfast is very simple- just continental stuff and the coffee leaves a lot to be desired (try to upgrade that coffee!). The hot tub is very nice as well, but kids are allowed in it, so that was annoying. The rooms are very clean, but older. The bathroom evidently had been upgraded/remodeled. Beds are very old.... they were tough to sleep in. Overall, it's a really nice place and we will surely come back, but it won't be in the summer when prices are crazy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

Clean room in the lodge, but very small. Our view was facing the parking lot/road, so having to keep the drapes closed added to the cramped feel. The mattress was soft & lumpy; the shower flow was weak. The tv was old, with a remote that didn't work well, even after replacing the batteries. Nice refrigerator & microwave. Nice breakfast room overlooking the pool. The continental breakfast was poor--orange drink (not juice), lousy coffee, creamer rather than cream & a barely adequate selection of food (pop tarts, packaged pastries--very unhealthy).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pineview Resort for two nights in July to be near family that lived on the lake. From the website I thought it might be a bit nicer than it was but it did remind me of staying at a low-budget road-side motel. The rooms were dated and a bit worn but clean.Each room has double queen beds that would be good for a family. Ours was missing the hair dryer and tolietries; the housekeeper soon remedied that. The pool is nice but very small - just big enough for a quick dip to cool off. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was marginal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cellii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in a "resort" room, which is in the newer main building near the reception desk, the Garden Room, and the pool. The tubs in these rooms have whirlpool jets, a nice perk, but very loud. There are also older rooms in a separate building at a slighly lower price.

The property was clean and comfortable, though not exactly a resort. However the Garden Room is pretty for the continental breakfast and a dip in the hot tub. Due to a massive thunderstorm, the whole town lost power for most of a day. A generator powered the front desk and garden room only. Guest rooms were down for the count. The window provided enough light in our room, but the hallways were pitch black for several hours until power was restored.

The pool area was okay. We did also notice the sign prohibiting unhealthy and disgusting behavior that you probably rarely think about when using a public pool. No sores, no diarrhea, etc. A lot of people seemed to hang out in the pool area for a good portion of the day, many of whom were drinking beer, smoking, and chatting loudly and borderline inappropriately.

Indiana Beach has a reputation for attracting a sort of down-scale rural midwest crowd. Since we fit that description, we had to give it a try, and it is pretty accurate - if interested, see separate review of Indiana Beach amusement park.

We also rented a small speed boat from Lake Shafer Boat Rentals - reasonable at $65 for 2 hours. The lake (actually a dammed river) is quite pretty. After that, we would spend a little more next time for one of the direct lakefront propeties even closer to the park.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KmomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

After reading the other reviews I thought this would be a great place to stay because it
was close to Indiana beach. We used to go camping @ Indiana Beach 10 yrs ago & had awesome memories. Unfortunately it seems time stood still both there & this hotel. We had many issues from very outdated rooms to the price you pay to stay there. The staff was very stand offish & not 1 smile from Barb who did not seem to enjoy her job at all. Even though the hotel has a flier stating you could be referred by AAA this is the 1st hotel I have come across in yrs that did not except the card. It was very hot when we were there & the old air conditioner only worked on low with a loud knocking noise. When you turned it on high it did not cool the air. When we went to the pool I had asked Barb if we could get pool towels & she had said we needed to use the ones from our room. Knowing there was 4 of us swimming & only 4 towels I had saw a maid in the hall & figured I would get 4 more towels so we could shower before heading home the next day. The maid had said she was only able to give me 2 because they were short & to ask the front desk. Needless to say getting a towel was not the easiest thing at his hotel. The small room, old uncomfortable beds & loud air conditioner did not make for any easy nights sleep. They also had the most disgusting signs by the pool stating things about how you can not enter if you had oozing wounds & about 7 other really gross things. Shoud have took a pic of it was honestly unbelievable. They also had 1 of those really old ice machines that you scoop the ice by hand ( very unsanitary) It had a big sign that stated do not fill coolers. After staying @ a Drury Inn & Holiday Inn Express the previous 5 days the faults & unfriendly uncomfortable moldy smelling rooms really stood out. Indiana beach also was falling apart & is in dire need of remodeling & paint. The rides are sooooo old & reaked of mold & neglect. The prices went up there also. We remembered it being an inexpensive amusement park in its day. Now there were games that cost 8.00 for 1 try. Yrs ago we tried the hotel attached to the amusement park & it was horrible & smelled like mold back then. It looks like camping might be the way to go. Or spend 50.00 more & go to the Dells which is a way better bang for the buck. The one saving grace of the hotel was the garden room that had a hot tub & sauna. Me & my hubby joked how we wished we could sleep in that room. The outdoor pool was also nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamiChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

After searching alot of places to stay around Indiana Beach, finally decided to give this place a try. It was really nice. We got a room with 2 double beds for my family of 5. Next time, I think we may get a queen room for a little more sleeping room. My 5yr old son liked the kiddy pool and the older kids liked the regular pool. I did get in the hot tub once, but the rooms also have a bathtub with whirpool jets in it that I used too. The hot tub is in the garden room and the pools are outside.Not too far from Indiana Beach.We stayed 2 nights and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were not too far from the front desk and really didn't hear much noise from the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tamlynn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We took our yearly family trip to Indiana Beach last weekend, and we decided before leaving that we were going to try a hotel instead of our normal indiana beach campground,whiich we just didn't want to deal with the crowd and late night drunks-lol.This was the only hotel in monticello that had one vacancy left,so we took it. We were very pleased,being a coffe fan, I was disapointed that there was not a coffe maker in the room, but free hot coffe was just a few steps from our room in their"garden room" where they also have tables,chairs,the hot tub and sauna.. The room was very clean,our kids loved the fact that their was whirl pool jets in the tub in our room!!.We also did something diffrent by buying our Indiana beach tickets there at the hotel that night before we went down to Indiana Beach the next day, which saved us forty bucks!
The next morning we had breakfast there, which probly would be my only issue with the place, because it was not much variety in choce , it was either muffins or cereal.But when we came back from Indiana Beach, there was fresh cleans sheets on the bed and cot,you could actually smell they have been frwshly bleached,our trash cans were emptied,and the floor sweep, and plenty of new towels,and mints-lol!
The staff there was wonderfull, and so friendly, one lady in particular always made small talk when we retured into the lobby, They made you feel like you were a apreciated guest!Not bad location from the amusement park, a short car drive down the road. There are things for families to keep busy, my husband and our son played golf($6.00 for the whole day) and our daughter and I could chill in the pool, or she could play on the playground and sandbox.
I would highly recommed if you are in that area,to try them.It is a quality hotel for a reasonable price,wen will defintly return next year:) We did eat at the resturant there also , and it was very good, and the staff there was incredibly friendly,very pleased all around:)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank boardwalkmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandywine Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Indiana Beach Boardwalk Resort Lodging
18.6 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Outrigger Resort
Outrigger Resort
#4 of 10 in Monticello
6 reviews
1 mi away
IB Crow Campground
IB Crow Campground
#5 of 10 in Monticello
8 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Door Cottages
Blue Door Cottages
#1 of 10 in Monticello
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine View Resort

Address: 1969 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-1579
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: £57 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pine View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing