We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine View Resort

Pine View Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine View Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Monticello
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very clean!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We boat at Lake Freeman and stay over night sometime. We have stayed at the Best Western in years past but came across this jewel just a little up the road. It dated but very cute very very clean and a very large parking area plenty room for our large boat & truck. The staff will do anything & everything you need, and it was HALF the cost of the Best Western can not beat that and believe me the Best Western is NOT a nicer hotel their rooms are very dated & not as clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indytravel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is honestly a 3 star hotel, but it's actually a 10 star hotel compared to the Indiana Beach Camp Resort. After finding our IBC Penthouse unacceptable on a Friday evening, I had to scramble to find a decent place to stay for my family. I first went to Best Western which was further but they only had 1 room and we needed 2 for the weekend so I checked my TripAdvisor App and came across PineView.

I was desperate but encourage by the decent reviews so I called and spoke with Linda at the front desk. I explained my situation and she informed me that they had two adjoining rooms available and even offered to hold them for me. Upon arrival, Linda had everything in good order and we were able get settled very quickly.

The rooms were clean and big enough to accommodate my daughter's pack-n-play. They also had mini refrigerators and a microwave along with the standard desk and 32" CRT TV. The facility had an indoor hot tub, a heated outdoor pool, and a non-heated kiddie pool. They also offered a complimentary continental breakfast.

Overall, I was very pleased with PineView and glad that our little weekend away was not ruined. Kudos to Linda!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sofakinglive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at the PineView a couple of years ago, and just stayed there again last week and they've really improved! There's been a lot of face-lifting done - new carpets, new mattresses, new, quieter A/C units in the rooms, fresh paint, new furniture, etc. The PineView is a modest, very quiet, very clean place. The continental breakfast is adequate, and having a microwave and small refrigerator in each room is very helpful. The ladies at the front desk are very nice and accommodating. My 81-year-old mom and I have stayed there twice, when we've come to Indiana for family visits, and their handicapped accessible room is great - right next to the sparkling clean pool! We enjoyed the little patio outside our room. The resort is close to everything. It's better than the Best Western down the street! They do need to do something about the low flow in the showers, and the super soft water (it feels like you can never get all the soap off your body), but all things considered, it's a nice place and I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you need a handicapped accessible room, spend a few dollars more, and get the poolside room - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AzRedHead52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the lodge part of the resort (main building) over memorial weekend, which is before the summer rates hit. Overall, it was a pleasant place. When you walk in it is very welcoming and cozy. Ladies working the front desk are incredibly helpful and kind. Linda, one of them, is a hoot and we would come back JUST to see her again! The pool is very nice, but small and filled with kids. The breakfast room is very nice, but breakfast is very simple- just continental stuff and the coffee leaves a lot to be desired (try to upgrade that coffee!). The hot tub is very nice as well, but kids are allowed in it, so that was annoying. The rooms are very clean, but older. The bathroom evidently had been upgraded/remodeled. Beds are very old.... they were tough to sleep in. Overall, it's a really nice place and we will surely come back, but it won't be in the summer when prices are crazy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Clean room in the lodge, but very small. Our view was facing the parking lot/road, so having to keep the drapes closed added to the cramped feel. The mattress was soft & lumpy; the shower flow was weak. The tv was old, with a remote that didn't work well, even after replacing the batteries. Nice refrigerator & microwave. Nice breakfast room overlooking the pool. The continental breakfast was poor--orange drink (not juice), lousy coffee, creamer rather than cream & a barely adequate selection of food (pop tarts, packaged pastries--very unhealthy).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pineview Resort for two nights in July to be near family that lived on the lake. From the website I thought it might be a bit nicer than it was but it did remind me of staying at a low-budget road-side motel. The rooms were dated and a bit worn but clean.Each room has double queen beds that would be good for a family. Ours was missing the hair dryer and tolietries; the housekeeper soon remedied that. The pool is nice but very small - just big enough for a quick dip to cool off. The staff was friendly. The breakfast was marginal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cellii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed in a "resort" room, which is in the newer main building near the reception desk, the Garden Room, and the pool. The tubs in these rooms have whirlpool jets, a nice perk, but very loud. There are also older rooms in a separate building at a slighly lower price.

The property was clean and comfortable, though not exactly a resort. However the Garden Room is pretty for the continental breakfast and a dip in the hot tub. Due to a massive thunderstorm, the whole town lost power for most of a day. A generator powered the front desk and garden room only. Guest rooms were down for the count. The window provided enough light in our room, but the hallways were pitch black for several hours until power was restored.

The pool area was okay. We did also notice the sign prohibiting unhealthy and disgusting behavior that you probably rarely think about when using a public pool. No sores, no diarrhea, etc. A lot of people seemed to hang out in the pool area for a good portion of the day, many of whom were drinking beer, smoking, and chatting loudly and borderline inappropriately.

Indiana Beach has a reputation for attracting a sort of down-scale rural midwest crowd. Since we fit that description, we had to give it a try, and it is pretty accurate - if interested, see separate review of Indiana Beach amusement park.

We also rented a small speed boat from Lake Shafer Boat Rentals - reasonable at $65 for 2 hours. The lake (actually a dammed river) is quite pretty. After that, we would spend a little more next time for one of the direct lakefront propeties even closer to the park.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KmomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brandywine Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Bay Side Resort
Bay Side Resort
#2 of 8 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
18.5 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Quality Inn Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Pirate's Cove Resort
Pirate's Cove Resort
#2 of 10 in Monticello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
24.1 mi away
Super 8 Logansport
Super 8 Logansport
#3 of 5 in Logansport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine View Resort

Property: Pine View Resort
Address: 1969 N West Shafer Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-1579
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing