We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely oasis!”
Review of 1887 Black Dog Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1887 Black Dog Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Monticello B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Black Dog Inn is a quiet, shady oasis located just steps from Indiana Beach and all of its adjacent offerings. It is beautifully maintained, exceptionally clean, and very reasonably priced. Our room was pretty, comfortable, and spotless. Tom and Vicki are wonderful hosts: kind and helpful yet unobtrusive. Beau (the lab) is very well-mannered--but if you'd like to pet him, he'll make the most of it! You can enjoy all of the sights, sounds, and activities of the area and then just walk back to the Black Dog Inn for rest, relaxation, solitude, and a good night's sleep. It is truly a hidden gem, and a place that I would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyST77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for 1887 Black Dog Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have stayed at the Black Dog Inn on and off over the years since 1993. Each stay is just as enjoyable as the last one was. The Inn Keepers, Tom and Vickie, go over and above to make sure we enjoy our stay. The Inn is tastefully decorated and each room is comfortable, cozy, and has every amenity you need... If there isn't something, they try to get it for you.
We love sitting down for breakfast watching all the wildlife outside in the yard, and the conversation around the table with other guests and the innkeepers is the best. We will come back whenever we are in the Monticello area... It is truly a TREAT to stay at The Black Dog. ( We love Bo, it's namesake too! )
AND.... there is much to do around Monticello.... Great fun for all.

Room Tip: Call ahead. Discuss w/Tom or Vickie.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chico1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I traveld to the Black Dog Inn with my husband and another couple this weekend. We found this Inn online on accident after we had called several different places in the area. It was a great mistake! First the location is great, you can walk to the Shaffer Boat rentals which is next door and it is a 4 minute walk from the South entrance to Indiana Beach. The Inn is great and our room was very roomy with a private bath room. I believe there were 6 rooms total, each with private bathrooms. The front of the house has a huge porch that is wonderful to gather with friends and fellow guests. The Inn does have a dog named Bo, who was very well behaved and friendly. The whole house was spotless and cozy.
Our cons: This was our first bed and breakfast stay and we had no clue what to expect as the breakfast aspect. Our first breakfest was ceral, fresh fruit, baked bread and bagels. Sunday there was biscuits with gravy and fresh fruit. We really missed our eggs. The only other semi complaint I could have would be the small showers.

Overall this was a fabulous stay and if I ever travel to this area again this Inn will be my first choice. It is the best value in Monticello.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aconner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful bed and breakfast while visiting Indiana Beach for an extended weekend. The hosts were most hospitable and the accommodations were clean and very comfortable. The location is close enough to the amusement park to allow for extremely easy access, yet was far enough away to provide for a quiet, restful night's sleep. I would highly recommend this inviting location for any visit to the Monticello area. This was an excellent value for the cost!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slf849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We came to Monticello to go to Indiana Beach from Indianapolis. This is the first time my Kids have been, so we wanted to make it special and stay overnight. With it being the busy summer month of July, Lots of Hotels were full and the ones that weren't looked scary and not very clean. I had spoken to Tom (The Owner) a few days before our trip about The Black dog Inn . I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before and didn't know if we would like it. We were very Pleasantly suprised! The grounds are really pretty and inviting with lots of flowers and greenery. The inside was just as nice with a quaint and homey feel about it. The rooms are clean and Spacious. We Loved it.
Also, the Black Lab Bo was adorable and my 2 kids loved him.
It's a stones throw from the Beach and Cheaper priced than some hotels nearby. Tom and his wife were very friendly and so nice. I would recommend to anyone and plan on returning next Year. :-)
The Dawn Family

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Have gone to Monticello a number of years and this is definitely the best place to stay considering all the dumps surrounding the park itself. Tom and Vicki are wonderful hosts. The rooms are clean and pretty. Breakfast is, of course, included and their rates are cheaper than many hotels. The only downside was there is a pavillion across the way by entrance of park where people gathered at night to party. Even though it was a bit away from the inn, the sound drifted at night so that we couldn't keep the windows open. Other than that, this is where we will continue to stay from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2006

We have stayed at several other places when visiting Indiana Beach and this is by far the best! It is utterly charming. The house itself and grounds are beautiful. Lots of pretty flowers and plants. The innkeepers are very nice and hospitable. A special shout out to Beau the black lab, our 4 kids loved playing with him. A short walk to the park. Rooms are really pretty, very clean and comfortable. We are looking fwd. to a return visit!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank indycarluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
0.3 mi away
Indiana Beach Boardwalk Resort Lodging
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Brandywine Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Super 8 Remington
Super 8 Remington
#1 of 1 in Remington
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Logansport
0.3 mi away
Pirate's Cove Resort
Pirate's Cove Resort
#2 of 10 in Monticello
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine View Resort
Pine View Resort
#8 of 9 in Monticello
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1887 Black Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1887 Black Dog Inn

Address: 2390 Untalulti Dr, Monticello, IN 47960-1240
Region: United States > Indiana > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Dog Inn, located in Monticello, IN is within walking distance to Indiana Beach. We have six rooms with private baths. Amenities include: free wifi, televisions in each room, a continental breakfast, a common area with a refrigerator and microwave, as well as a large covered porch furnished with wicker furniture. There is a patio area that includes: fire pit, barbeque grill, picnic tables and water fall. We are located within walking distance of Lake Shafer Boat Rentals. The Black Dog Inn is a cozy, clean, friendly place to stay while visiting the Monticello/Indiana Beach area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing