We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of the Moon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 1 Myrrhee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is one of our most favourite places to stay in Regional Victoria. Gwenda and David are fantastic hosts and the food and accommodation doesn't get much better than is. The food is fabulous and definitely worth a drive.....the nightly menu is printed and put on the table as is the breakfast of the day, not many accommodation places have food as good as this ...definitely recommended for a romantic get away , whilst children are welcome I'm sure they could get terribly bored whilst you sit and drink in the view with Proseco in hand!!

Room Tip: Go for the King suites....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FBZCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we are so happy that your experience was enjoyable. We look forward to another return visit from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We just came back from King Valley where we spent the weekend, we stayed at Casa Luna and I'm glad for my choice, I couldn't ask for a better place.
The view is absolutely beautiful, the surroundings are quiet and peaceful.
The rooms are comfortable and beautifully designed and the hosts Gwenda and David are really nice people and very hospitable.
The food Gweda cooks is delicious and fresh and the collection of cookbooks is amazing.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiklaYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thanks you for your great comments on Casa Luna. Glad you enjoyed our "wall of cookbooks", my addiction, especially those on the regional foods of Italy. I look forward to the opportunity to cook for you again - perhaps at one of our special events?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My partner and I went for the weekend. Gwenda and David are easy going congenial hosts. You get a generous glass of local wine on arrival.

The dining room has an open fire. The bookshelves have the best collection of French and Italian cookbooks and travel books I have seen.

Breakfast was really good. it varied. On Saturday it was a traditional big breakfast. On Sunday there was the choice of eggs, mushrooms with parmesan.

Dinner was excellent. A 3 course set menu. Mushroom and ricotta soup. Pork and fennell. Then pistachio tart.

There was a great view from the room. Vines growing on the sides of the hills.

Television was a bit small.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Lovely that you both enjoyed your stay at Casa Luna. Just a note - the TVs have since been replaced with digital ones. However, next visit you might choose to stay in one of our newer King Suites - everything there is bigger and roomier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My partner and I used Casa Luna as a base for exploring the King Valley & Alpine Valley regions. It's a lovely place, well hosted and with good food. We found it to be located very conveniently for visiting local wineries, restaurants and other food places like the cheese factory in Milawa and EV Olives in Markwood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Casa Luna over the Queen's Birthday weekend.
We had been there before and had the same very comfortable, well appointed queen room.
Breakfast each day was different, with a choice of main course and extremely well cooked and presented.
Gwenda and David are very hospitable and go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Situated some 40 minutes south of Wangaratta towards Whitfield, Casa Luna offers purpose-built accommodation overlooking rural countryside, close to the King Valley wine region.

We stayed two nights here in mid-March, staying in a King Suite a short stroll from the main building. It was well fitted out with an excellent area for bags and other items (a rarity at many places of accommodation) and a very comfortable bed. The spacious deck on one side of the suite was a particularly pleasant place for a glass or two of Brown Brothers’ Prosecco as the sun set across the valley.

The cooked breakfast was served in the main building and was delicious, delivered at a leisurely pace. The dining room includes a small library, which looked like it would have been a good place to relax, had we not been out and about for much of our time in the region. The Mountain View Hotel in nearby Whitfield is a great option for dinner, although the back road there isn’t the finest surface you’ll ever drive over!

We got a good deal through a voucher, and would happily stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stay, dine and relax in the King Valley area look no further than Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation. We stayed here 7 years ago and returned recently for another short stay. We were not disappointed and are wondering why we waited 7 years to come back. Gwenda & David are wonderful hosts and Gwenda's food is fantastic. We started our days with a delicious and hearty breakfast to get us going, then set off around the region visiting many wineries and produce stores. Such a beautiful and peaceful area to travel around and everyone we came across was so friendly. When we returned to Casa Luna we had a comfortable lounge to sit and read or we could just take in the magnificent views while trying some of the local wines we had just purchased. Gwenda would then cook a tasty and beautiful dinner for us and other guests. We could then go back to our beautiful and comfortable room for the night. In the mornings we would sit on our balcony and watch the sun rise over the mountains and listen to all the wonderful sounds of the country. So relaxing! We will not be waiting 7 years for our next visit. Thank you Gwenda & David.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank heybails_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GwennaWangaratta, Owner at Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for being amongst the many guests who choose to return to Casa Luna to repeat their first - second, third.....- pleasurable experience. We also hope you don't wait another 7 years, however its great to look back and see how Casa Luna has grown and developed. The new King Suites, and La Piazza wood-fired kitchens weren't here last time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation

Address: 1569 Boggy Creek Rd, Myrrhee, Victoria 3732, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Myrrhee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Myrrhee
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casa Luna Gourmet Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing