We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McDowell-Nearing House Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Muncie
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
32
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Needed a place for parents weekend, and wanted a change from the usual Holiday
Inn environment. Beautiful, comfy rooms with free wi-fi and uverse. Jane was so accomadating! Great location down the street from Ball State, and close to the restaurants, mall, etc. Very clean, and our room felt "new". Would not hesitate to stay here again when I'm in Munice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This B&B is absolutely precious, and Ms. Jane is very welcoming and accommodating! The rooms are comfortable and cute, the bathroom (at least the one in my room) is huge, and there is plenty of storage space (closet, drawers, hangers) if you're like me and want to actually unpack when you travel. There's even a robe hanging in the closet for you!

Ms. Jane can make you up a light breakfast of fruit and yogurt with a muffin, or you can enjoy a full spread of French toast, eggs, bread, biscuits, ham, hash browns, an omelette, and no telling what else--she makes sure you get what you want to the best of her ability! Internet is reliable and available wirelessly throughout the house, and you can't help but feel welcomed by the fireplace and couch in the sitting room with a beautiful window out the front of the house. Fun fact that endeared Jane and the house to me even more: it's the house she grew up in!

Room Tip: You can't pick a bad room!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Jane is a welcoming and helpful host and does a delicious breakfast. We stayed in the Sunset Knoll - the shower is AWESOME!! She even had a book on the artist displayed in this room that thrilled my artist husband when he was permited to peruse it in our room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenofbudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our Daughter was getting married in Muncie and suggested we stay at a bed and breakfast instead of a hotel. We found this beautifully redone home and booked our stay. The accommodations couldn't have been better. There are four rooms, each with a different name and style. Since we were the only ones there the first night, we were able to see all the rooms. Just gorgeous. Great amenities in each of the rooms. Two of the rooms are extra large with sitting areas, one room is a nice size with a small table area and the last room is a blue and white dream of a room. All the bathrooms are incredible. AND there is an absolutely delicious Thai place in walking distance. Try the Fish Garlic. Jane, the owner, is a delight to talk to. Her breakfasts can be big and hearty or the fruit and yogurt type. Breakfast is served in a bright sunshine filled dining room. You will love your stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellison52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

I met up with a friend and stayed at the McDowell-Nearing House B&B for several nights to explore the Muncie & Indianapolis area. This was the best possible choice for a place to stay in Muncie - so close to but not in the midst of many of the city's attractions and sites of interest (Minnetresta cultural center, Ball State University, Ball Memorial Hospital, downtown Muncie, and the evolving Cardinal Greenway rails-to-trails project). Don't miss learning more about the Ball Family who were such an influence on the area. There are plenty of great places to eat and several shopping areas within a few minutes by car. The edge-to-edge pizza at Pizza King was dee-lish.

The best part of this B&B were all the amenities so thoughtfully provided for the guests. This B&B was a family home that has been renovated with four lovely and large guest rooms and en suite guest baths. My room had a sitting area, comfy King sized bed, flat screen TV, large closet, and huge bathroom. Free WiFi worked great. I had to try to avoid the large dish of chocolates that was waiting for me on the dresser in the room!

Breakfasts began with a fruit course, followed by either a savory or sweet hot entree of the day. The guest beverage area in the dining room had a Senseo coffee maker, teas, and cold soft drinks in the guest fridge and was very much appreciated.

Common areas include a very comfortable living room with a large flat screen TV and a cozy library with plenty of books, magazines, and games. There's also a nice yard and rain garden which is probably beautiful in warmer months. The front porch was welcoming and decorated for the Fall. Plenty of free, off-street, lighted parking is available for guests.

Why stay in a chain hotel when there's such a wonderful alternative with so much to offer? This is a nice small lodging property for either the leisure or business traveler. I highly recommend the McDowell-Nearing House B&B!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bnbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews