We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muncie
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The hotel was difficult to find initially because it sits back from the road and is blocked by signs for other businesses. The hotel was clean, but obviously older and worn. The front doors are not automatic, only one broken luggage cart was at the front door. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. Elevator flooring was scruffed and dirty. Carpeting in my room had obviously been repaired, but not replaced. The lady working the breakfast area was very nice and congenial. Breakfast foods were typical synthesized breakfast foods except for the fresh fruit - which was a very limited selection of apples and 2 oranges.

My biggest complaint about this hotel is the "print your credit card in case of incidentals." (Which tends to be normal practice when a room has been prepaid).I had prepaid my bill upon reservation and did not partake in any "incidentals", nor did I cause any damages to the room. Yet, a $25.00 pending fee from Superhost Enterprise - the parent organization for this Holiday Inn Express) showed up on my credit card statement. My credit card company is watching this fee and if it proceeds to a charge, it will be challenged.

The pleasantness of the staff does not counterbalance the worn and outdated state of this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Barbara,

Thank you for the review about your stay with us, and I am disappointed that you encountered the issues you described.

I would like to personally discuss these issues with you. I can be reached directly at the hotel at 765-289-4678 or by email at gmhiemiewe@gmail.com.

As for the $25 authorization hold placed on your card at check-in, I can ensure you that this hold will not result in a charge. As you mentioned, this is a normal practice for a lot of hotels.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a typical HI Express location. Pretty much what you'd expect. If you stay here, be sure to request an even-numbered room (they are on the back side of the hotel and away from the traffic sounds). We had an odd-numbered room and were kept awake by traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slipjigpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Slipjigpiper,

I am sorry to hear you had troubles with your stay. On your next visit to Muncie, we would love to have you back. As always, we will do everything we can to accommodate any requests you may have.

Thank you,

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel was clean and the front desk staff was very helpful. The breakfast bar had several items to choose from and the woman who assisted with breakfast was especially nice and kept the breakfast items stocked and the area neat and clean. The hotel is convenient and close to shopping, restaurants and the university. I have stayed in three Muncie hotels over the past few years and this one was by far the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYtravelman39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

KYtravelman,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay. I will be sure to pass along the wonderful comments you had regarding our staff, especially the front desk and breakfast staff.

We hope to see you again!

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We rented two rooms Saturday, May 4 for my granddaughter's 3rd birthday party. Figured the girls would enjoy swimming and having a slumber party.

The hotel is not very handicapped friendly as I struggled to get my older granddaughter's wheelchair through front door. No automatic doors so had to hold door open while entering. When we got to the pool, there was no lift in/out of pool. If you haven't lifted 105 pounds in/out of pool, might not realize how nice lift is. Following up with ADA since it is my understanding that February 1st was deadline for lifts. dining area, tables are extremely close to maneuver a wheelchair.

Would not stay here in future.

Barb Wilso

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Barb,

My apology for your less than satisfactory stay, we certainly can do better.

Our team is reviewing your concern and we will immediately find a solution.

May I encourage you to contact me directly so I can personally assist you.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our room and all its furnishings were very nice. We used the iron and ironing board, the coffee maker, the fridge, etc. All were new or new-ish and worked well.

We did not sample the free breakfast (one of us slept too late!), but by observation I'd say it was the usual good selection of hot and cold options. We eventually walked a short way to an IHOP. There are several restaurants, both fast food and sit-down, nearby.

Would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Tom,

Thank you for your review concerning your stay. I am glad to hear that the furnishings and amenities provided made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I reserved a room over the holiday break. One night becuase of a baseball camp at ball state. Because of winter weather, ball state reduced their camp for two days to one. I did not need the room at all so i called to cancel. They charged me a half night room rate for a room i did not use. With a son, potenital going to ball state for the next four year, i will make usre not to stay at this hotel,

Room Tip: Do not book ahead, they charged me for a room i did not use because of a winter storm!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

Tony,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

When looking at your reservation, it was reserved under our “Special Offer” rate, which has restrictions in place at the time of the reservation. One of those restrictions is a non-refundable charge of the first nights room and tax.

As a one-time goodwill gesture, we did issue a refund equal to half of the first nights room and tax.
We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Thank you,

Nathan Hartwig - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

A nice place, beds a little hard, breakfast was good. They put us on the first floor, when will I learn, I hate hearing people walking above me. We didn't ask to be moved, I feel bad moving and then they have to re clean the room. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: top floor if you don't want to hear others above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalloh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Shalloh60,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muncie hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Muncie
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Muncie
Fairfield Inn Muncie
#7 of 13 in Muncie
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 13 in Muncie
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Courtyard Muncie at Horizon Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muncie Near Ball State University
0.8 mi away
Best Western Muncie
Best Western Muncie
#4 of 13 in Muncie
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie

Address: 4201 West Bethel Avenue, Muncie, IN 47304-5446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Muncie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muncie
Price Range: £71 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie is conveniently located one mile from Ball State University and just 6 miles from I-69 in Muncie. The hotel is close to shopping and within walking distance of several restaurants. Visit historic downtown Muncie just minutes away; also located close to numerous local businesses in the area. With several museums and attractions nearby, you'll have plenty to do before you return to the hotel to swim in our indoor heated pool. Rooms are equipped with free high speed internet and complimentary wireless access, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. The Holiday Inn Express in Muncie has suites, as well as standard rooms with microwaves and refrigerators available. You'll find our rooms clean, comfortable and just the place you need to prepare for the day ahead. Start your day with our complimentary extended continental breakfast served daily. The Muncie Holiday Inn Express has a free business and copy center for your conveniences, and sundry items are also available on-site. From the moment you walk in the door, you will be greeted by our award-winning, courteous and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Muncie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Muncie
Holiday Inn Express Muncie
Holiday Inn Muncie
Muncie Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing