We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
164
18
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
18
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalbida suitegame drivescanoe tripchongwe riverfirst stopblown awaybird watchinglower zambezi national parkwonderful locationmagical placedining areatrigger fishevery aspectearly morningan amazing viewmanagement teammotor boat
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016

My husband and I stayed at Chongwe River Camp in celebration of our 30th wedding anniversary. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite! All the staff were so warm and friendly, and the surroundings simply beautiful. We had a wonderful time there! We enjoyed the game drives, the boat trips, and the canoe trip down the channel with the elephants drinking at the bank. It was truly amazing! The food was excellent and the wait staff was so attentive. We really enjoyed sharing meals with the other guests, and so enjoyed the evening campfire with drinks. My new favorite after dinner drink is Amarula, which we tried on our last night. Flossie had offered it each night, so we finally tried it. So good! I particularly liked that each night at the campfire and at dinner, the staff stayed and chatted with the guests about their day and other things. We really felt more like we were at a friends home rather than at a lodge. We loved, loved, loved this place and I would love to come back in the future. Many thanks to Ben our guide, Flossie, Billie, Caroline, Moses, Watson, and all the others whom names I didn't catch, THANK YOU for making this anniversary so very special for us.! It was a great way to start the next 30 years together!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beckie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We loved our stay at Chongwe. It is in a beautiful location on the river, and there is a ton of wildlife right around the lodge. We had the good fortune of sharing a gorgeous suite with our friends, two large bedrooms on each side of a lounge area. The four of us spent most of our waking hours watching and listening to wildlife from the lounge, when we were not on wonderful excursions. The staff is incredible, the food is amazing, and there are many river options. We enjoyed a canoe trip (nope, we did not do the paddling), several boat rides, game excursions,and a day trip to the local village. That was a really interesting day, ending with dancing. Our guide was Sam, and his knowledge of all things great and small in the bush was fascinating. Flossie and Alan run the lodge beautifully. We felt like family there, and there were some tears on our parts when we had to go.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cheljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The people couldn't have been nicer and the site is one of the most relaxing places I have ever been to. Not that there is no excitement. Elephants, hippos and lions will come into the camp. Not to worry--people are safe!

Room Tip: There is a family and honeymoon suite that both looked great if you are traveling in those circumstances.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We recently stayed at Chongwe River Camp, we had a wonderful time, the location is stunning, great wildlife, amazing staff, food and service. We stayed for 3 nights and did not want to leave, we hope to return one day. The accommodation is first class and looks out on to the river with elephants and hippo.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LouiseDtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

This was our third trip to Africa, Our first trip to Zambia. The big game viewing, our guide (Moses), accommodations, dining (really great), general staff and management all exceeded our expectations. The Camp is located at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi Rivers which provides fantastic viewing, we often saw elephants and hippos from the Camp itself. While at Chongwe we were able to enjoy walking game drives, and drives in their Land Cruisers, and boat.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews