We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mvuu Lodge Lower Zambezi”
Review of Mvuu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mvuu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent location. Very nice campsites: Big, private, each with own ablution, clean, well serviced, enough wood and a personal attendant to do washing and cleaning. Well priced. Definitely a must do. The untamed and remote location of Lower Zambezi makes this very special.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fellies150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Lodge has a good location right on the banks of the Zambezi River, Zambia and offers lovely views across to Mana Pools on the Zim side. The road from Chirundu to the camp was shocking: it took 3.5 hours to drive the 60km’s. A high clearance vehicle is an absolute must and even then the road takes some work! Note: there is no fuel available at Chirundu. The ferry crossing the Kafue River looks dodgy but took only 15 minutes and was relatively easy. The directions to the lodge are not well marked and it seems the entry road into the camp has changed as ‘Tracks for Africa’ have you going to a dead-end! The camp grounds are grassed and shaded with power, private simple ablutions and gas hot water, an unexpected bonus. Be aware that only two of the campsites (Mvuu and Elly) have actual water views. The rest look onto the back of the self-catering permanent tents, which was disappointing. The camp ground staff are helpful and will organize firewood and ice (small charge). The self-catering tents don’t have a braai or washing up facilities like the campsites, which was a bit strange and inconvient, but staff can be organized to do the dishes if required. The baboons and monkey’s are a real problem here so if staying in the self-catering tents check the zips as we found them broken and had to ask for them to be replaced. Elephants are often right in the camp, which was a treat but do take care. Management is noticeably absent; the bar is not always staffed, coffee station not always available, drinking water ice-cooler empty, and central boma never lit. The main area has WiFi albeit slow and only available for a few hours a day when the generator is on. The pool is small but allows a dip when it’s hot. The meals in the restaurant are real basic and expensive. The game viewing in the park was patchy but the guide was knowledgeable and worked hard to give us a good overall experience. The boat trip and fishing was enjoyable and definitely worth taking.

Room Tip: If camping make sure to book one of the campsites with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PR-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We all know that Zambia is an expensive destination, too expensive for my liking!
Mvuu is a less expensive option given the above.
It is well situated in beautiful riverine forest with great views over the Zambezi.
The tented accomodation is well appointed and lacks for nothing.
We chose the full board option and the food was excellent as was the service. The staff were above average, even to the arrival of boiling water in a flask for the morning coffee/tea in your tent.
The game drive was fine, the reserve does begin to rival Mana Pools these days. Plenty of Jumbo. Our guide was well informed and eager to please.
The afternoon river cruise also good. The problem with both of these options is the price, but then,it is Zambia.
My main gripe had to do with the comms between Lusaka and the Johannesburg office,nobody had a clue who had paid what! The service from the Johannesburg office was very good.
I would go back, but need to save money first!

Room Tip: For me, away from the main complex, although there was never a noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Excellent team which made our five day stay magical. Lots of birdlife and wild animals all over the place which was great. Food was tip top. Exciting tiger fishing and canoeing. Visit to see carmine bee eaters are a must

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Markereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was my first experience of wild Africa... The only thing Mvuu has going for it is the natural beauty and wildlife in the Area.


What is wrong with the place? Where do I start...

- US$2000 (yes two thousand US dollars) for one night for three people sharing! For US$1200 you can spend a night at the Burj al Arab (Dubai's 7 star hotel) where I have stayed before so I was expecting similar service and value for money... We had been robbed!

STAFF: one of the staff who collected us by boat Became drunk after dinner and made our Zambian host upset as he kept on bringing up the fact that we arrived late. The rest of the staff were average.

POOR FOOD: cheap quality food and just nasty

ROOMS: nothing special! Our Zambian host said the place had been refurbished but I am not sure what improvements had been made as I had not been before.

Overall a shocking experience. The only positive aspect is the location. I would return to Zambia and the area but would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Totally hands on owners. Staff was great and flexible. Meals were fantastic. Sunsets gorgeous. So much positive aspects for this place....a must for anyone. The drive to it is crazy....but you do encounter small villages. You can see Zimbabwe right across the river.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANNETTE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The staff was very friendly. The campsite clean with a beautiful location right on the river bank. Only draw back is that it took us about 2 hours by 4*4 road to get there, but it was worth it. The place is so peaceful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maike27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mvuu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuu Lodge

Address: Chiawa Conservancy, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Chiawa Conservancy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Chiawa Conservancy
Price Range: £19 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mvuu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing