We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Bed's I ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Amish Acres
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nappanee
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I enjoyed everthing But the motel .It was like a motel 6 at best. I have to say it was clean, but that's it. The sheets didn't fit the bed, and the bed had no padding the springs are poking you alnight. Worst night ever. Never ever again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

We've been frequent visitors to both Amish Inns in Nappanee over the last 20 years, and it's steadily gone downhill. This past week we had a "spa" room upstairs we didn't request. The property was sold out, due to a bus group and we went elsewhere after the first night.

It seems the properties including the Round Barn were sold to non-Amish and it is reflected. I never heard of Amish drinking or selling wine and beer in any establishment. Such was the case at the Thresher's Dinner!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. I would like to address the question of whether or not we were sold to non-Amish. Amish Acres is not run by Amish, nor do we state that we are. Amish Acres has been owned by the same owner for the last 40 years. Our website does state that we are a restored Amish Farm and it is the only farm listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. Our goal is to interpret the Amish lifestyle and educate vistors without impeding on their lifestyle.

We do not switch rooms without guests knowing ahead of time. The time period in question, we did have a guest that was registered on the second floor and requested a first floor when they arrive. The only way to get them to the first floor due to a group was to give them a complimentary upgrade to a one of our King Spa rooms, which we did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed here several times while visiting family in Nappanee. It is not fancy, but adequate for our needs. There is plenty of room in the bathroom, although you generally have to ask for more towels if you have more than 2 in the room. There is a coffeemaker in the bathroom, but no fridge, microwave, or safe. Pool is very small. Continental breakfast in morning is adequate. There is one computer in the breakfast room, not hooked up to a printer. However, the front desk clerk very cheerfully printed off our airline boarding passes for us. All staff were friendly and helpful. Just a note of caution: the doors use old fashioned keys (not electronic), and we discovered after being gone all day that we had left our door unlocked! It does not lock automatically the way most hotel doors do. If you are interested in visiting Amish Acres, it is within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Show your AAA card and get a 10% discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurdueGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to seeing you here in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I was SO disappointed in this place. We purchased the package so I'll hit on all aspects:

Room - basically Motel 6 quality. The blanket had holes in it. There were water rings on the table which indicates to me that housekeeping didn't clean it well from the last guests. We had to ask to change rooms at 3AM b/c a car alarm kept going off over and over again (where was hotel security to ask this guest to take care of this???). The tub in the new room didn't drain properly. Water was above ankles while I was trying to shower. I informed the desk clerk about it by asking her to send maintenance to our room. Apparently that never happened (we left for the day after I told her) b/c the next morning I experienced the same thing.

Wagon Ride - lasted exactly 18 minutes. A formerly Amish lady gives you a very dry description of buildings as you ride past them. You do get out at the Amish school house, but that's it.

Plain and Fancy play in the Round Barn Theater - The Round Barn itself is a really neat structure. The actors and actresses did a good job with the material. It wasn't broadway worthy, but decent.

Thresher's Dinner - This is a dinner served family style that normally costs $18/person, but was included in the package. You can choose two meats. We chose chicken and ham. You don't get to choose the side items. The hearth bread and apple butter were good, but not great.

Lunch - Served buffet style. Consisted of BBQ, beans, corn, hearth bread, potato salad. It was okay.

Farm Tour - my husband and I didn't go on this part, but my parents did. They say we missed the best part. The formerly Amish tour guide reportedly did a much better job with presentation on this part.

Advice - skip Nappanee and go for Shipshewana (sp?). There is a rendition of a Beverly Lewis book in play form there.

Room Tip: If you are looking at the hotel, ask for a (quieter) room on the RIGHT side. The train passes throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HereT0There7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

After reading some of these bad reviews we almost canceled our trip to Amish Acres. Glad we didn't! We had a wonderful time. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff very accommodating and the tours were very interesting. We learned a lot about the Amish people and had fun browsing in the shops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usherette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

very clean, beds where average, quiet hotel, good breakfast. They need to replace the door keys since they hardly worked. Pool was nice but cold. Long ways away from anything. Don't get sucked into going to the buffet dinner at the Amish Acres Inn restaurant next door. It was crappy food, and cost a lot of money. We where really dissapointed. Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmxmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Older motel, but was very clean. The computer in the lobby area does not have a printer, and they will not let you use theirs even to print a boarding pass. The breakfast muffins were good, also had cereal and yogurt. Again, no frills, but clean and warm.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nappanee
13.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
218 reviews
17.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Warsaw
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Warsaw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
154 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Warsaw
Hampton Inn Warsaw
#1 of 5 in Warsaw
302 reviews
14.8 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#1 of 2 in Syracuse
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Amish Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Amish Acres

Address: 1234 W Market St, Nappanee, IN 46550-1726 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Indiana > Nappanee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nappanee
Price Range: £60 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Amish Acres 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complimentary hot breakfast in the Geranium Room, games of checkers in the lobby, or books from the lending library, all speak of the inn’s Hoosier hospitality. As the host hotel for historic Amish Acres, the Inn at Amish Acres offers guests a relaxed and convenient setting from which to enjoy all of the attractions. Located on the fence line of Amish Acres, the inn has 62 non-smoking guest rooms and three meeting rooms. The two story facility offers three types of guest rooms that can be combined with activities at Amish Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Amish Acres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Amish Acres Hotel Nappanee
Hotel At Amish Acres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing