We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Amish Acres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Amish Acres
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nappanee
Wellman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This motel is totally overpriced! The carpet was torn and frayed and stained. There was a white spot on the one bedspread that looked like puke. Only two towels for 2 double (NOT Queen) beds. The wall paper is coming down by the ceiling. The matress rolls you to the middle. No fitted sheets so you wake up on the bare matress. Not much choice for breakfast. Nothing has been updated since the 80's at least. For the price we expected a nice room!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Diane,

Thank you for your review of our inn. Your review helps us to continually improve our services and property for our guests. While I was unaware of your dissatisfaction with your room, I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. It is my goal as the General Manager to make sure every guest has a pleasant and unique experience in my inn.

I would first like to address some of the issues that you brought up in your review. I am concerned that there was a spot on your bedspread. Our housekeepers take great pride in the cleanliness of the inn and do everything within their power to make sure the rooms are as clean as possible.

Looking at the number of towels in a room, I show your room as having 2 people in it. In the hotel industry, it is customary to put the number of towels corresponding to the number of people in the room. If you requested more towels, I am sure that the hotel staff would have been more than happy to bring you more.

We are in the process of doing updates to our inn including carpet, paint, televisions and mattresses. Last year we replaced 20% of our carpet, and we have started replacement of another 20% this year. If the carpet is torn or frayed, it is schedule to be replaced.

Our continental breakfast has a wide variety of items to choose from. Our menu includes three flavors of fresh-baked muffins made daily in the Amish Acres Bakery, several flavors of Amish Acres sweet breads, two flavors of bagels, oranges, apples, bananas, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, 6 different flavors of yogurt, cereal, coffee, three flavors of cappuccino, three flavors of juice, and milk.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    20
    33
    24
    20
See reviews for
38
44
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Trains run all night about once every half hour. Wallpaper peeling off the walls. Window sills delaminating because of water leakage through the windows. Shower has mold around edges. The nicest part of the motel is the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerntraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nappanee hotels

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

About everything in the Inn at Amish Acres is about 30 years out of date except the wi-fi system. Doors are opened with metal keys, the TV set is a tube-type that has the bare minimum number of channels and several of them did not function. Rooms and bathrooms were decently clean and there was a Keurig coffee maker. Breakfast was cereal, rolls, yogurt and bowl of fruit. The Inn is about 50 feet on the north side of US 6 which is not a problem for noise. The railroad tracks are 100 feet on the south side of US 6 and carry a heavy traffic of train that blow their whistles at all hours. If you have to stay there (and I emphasize have to), get a room in back on the inside facing the outdoor pool to somewhat decrease the noise from the trains. The Inn is an easy stroll over to Amish Acres but there is not much to it either. The Inn would be a tolerable $50/ night hotel, unfortunately they charge $100/night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler49092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We always like to hear feedback from our guests so we can improve our service to them. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not as you expected. I would like to discuss in my response some of the items on your review to help other guests understand the accommodations here at The Inn at Amish Acres.

We do use metal keys instead of key cards. This is something we feel makes us a little more like home rather than a big chain hotel. We are a country inn and like to keep that hometown feel.

I'm sorry that you had some dissatisfaction with the television in your room. We are in the process of upgrading the televisions throughout the hotel. We replaced 30% of the televisions last year and we will replace 20% more this year. We were experiencing some difficulties with our DirecTV service in the month of April, but those issues have been resolved. We're sorry that some of the channels did not work during your stay.

Our continental breakfast consists of a variety of items including three different types of muffins baked daily in the Amish Acres restaurant, bagels, fresh sweet bread, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, milk, coffee, cappuccino and cereal.

As the General Manager of the hotel, it is my duty to ensure that every guest has a comfortable stay. It sounds like in your case, that this was not what happened. I would have been happy to talk to you upon check out about your dissatisfaction during your stay to better explain who we are as it sounds like this did not happen when you arrived.

We do continually improve our property which is something I find very important as the General Manager. Last year, we replaced 20% of our carpet, and we have 20% more scheduled to be replaced over the next three months. 30 % of the televisions have been replaced and we plan to have another 20% replaced this year. We've updated our internet connection to allow for faster speed throughout the hotel. This past winter, we refinished all of the wood furniture in the guest rooms.

As you can see, there are a lot of things happening in the update of our hotel. Unfortunately, it sounds like you maybe weren't in a room that had one of the updates.

If you would like to discuss your stay on the phone, I would be more than happy to do that. Again, my goal as General Manager is 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We enjoyed our 4 day stay. We found the service great and the housekeepers were friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean and kept clean everyday. When we first arrived we did have a problem with the heater and the hotel clerk came and apologized and tried to get it to work. After talking to her manager she moved us to a comparable room across the hall. There were no bad smells and I would notice them as I have asthma. As far as the King room configuration, this was originally a Comfort Inn and that is the way they were designed with a window area at the whirlpool tub. The room has a comfortable couch that can make into a bed. There are also 2 Amish chairs, one a rocker, and several lamps with a nod to Amish design.

Room Tip: Our room looked on the pool so we did not hear the trains go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we could help make it your home away from home. Thank you for understanding about the heater as we can't always forsee when something like that will malfunction. I'm pleased that my staff was accommodating for you and was able to get you to a new room as quickly as possible. We look forward to your return in the future. Thank you again for your review.

Brian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location - it is an easy walk to Amish Acres for dining and theater. The girl at the front desk was not friendly and seemed bored. Our room smelled bad - there was a very heavy cleaner odor which I think was trying to mask something worse on the very dirty and spotted carpet. The entire hotel needs a LOT of work - very tired and worn. There were only two bath size towels in the bathroom. BUT - the worst thing here was the noise!!! There is a train track just across the street, and a train went by at least once an hour all through the night. The noise inside the hotel is bad too - no soundproofing between rooms or floors. We could hear the neighbors TV show through the wall. Thankfully we only stayed one night. Now our joke whenever we hear a train is "are we back in Nappannee?"!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WFUfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As we receive reviews, we use them to continually improve our services to our guests. As the general manager of the hotel, I take great pride and responsibility for the experience that our guests expect. It is apparent from your review that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to take a couple of moments to address the concerns you raised during your review so other guests can make an informed decision about our lodging accomodations. We are currently undergoing renovations in our hotel. Our facility is 62 rooms and we have replaced carpet in about 20% of the rooms this year, including the room you stayed in. We do throrough inspections of the rooms in order to do replacements as they are needed in order to facilitate a continual improvement of our facilities. We are continuing our renovation process every year in order to have all improvements being made on a rotation. This includes carpet replacement, painting, mattress replacement, television replacement, etc.

I'm unaware of any heavy cleaners that would have been used on your room during the cleaning process. We do not used harsh chemicals or fragrances in our rooms as guests may be sensitive to smells, however, the cleaners do have a scent to them and I could understand if you were sensitive to smells that it would seem the way you have described.

In reference to your bath towel comments, it is common for any hotel to place two bath towels in a room. The only time we would place more than two bath towels in a room is if there are more than two guests in the room which was not the case with this particular reservation.

Lastly, I would like to apologize for any staff that would have seemed unfriendly to you. Our philosophy and training is to present our small town, friendly feel while welcoming every guest to our facility. If this did not happen, I apologize for that and will address that issue with my staff.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you back in the future as we continually grow and improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is just the oddest thing. Stayed in a King room with a sitting area. The room was very nice but the bathroom set up is just too odd. They connected the bathroom to the whirlpool tub to the bedroom sitting room. Even though you can shut the door to the bathroom, the only thing between you and the other people in the room are shower curtains. So, whenever anyone uses the facilities, you get a sound show. It is especially amusing if the lights are on in the bathroom and the room is somewhat dark; you can watch the people in sillouhette. We were travelling in a group and liked the ability to gather, but if anyone needed to use the facilities, we would either all wait in the hallway or go to another room. Just too wierd. If you are going to pay the extra money for the King room, beware this is an added feature.

One other thing, the front desk staff was very cheerful. The breakfast room staff are not morning people - really grumpy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnxiousJerseyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
268 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The building looked alittle old on the outside, so I wasn't sure about the inside. The inside was a nice surprise. Very nicely decorated and modern. Staff was super friendly and welcoming. Everything looked nice and clean. There were some slight repairs that were needed, but nothing that interferred with our stay. The continental breakfast was very nicely set up with plenty to choose from and plenty of table and chairs. It was a very comfortable stay and only 3-5 minutes from Amish Acres. We could see everything from our room. Parking was great. I would definately recommend.

Room Tip: They offer packages which include the hotel, and things to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillTravel2TryFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nappanee
13.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 6 in Goshen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
19.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Elkhart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
22.1 mi away
Inn at Saint Mary's Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Homespun Country Inn
Homespun Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Nappanee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Amish Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Amish Acres

Property: The Inn at Amish Acres
Address: 1234 West Market Street, Nappanee, IN 46550 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Indiana > Nappanee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nappanee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Amish Acres 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complimentary hot breakfast in the Geranium Room, games of checkers in the lobby, or books from the lending library, all speak of the inn’s Hoosier hospitality. As the host hotel for historic Amish Acres, the Inn at Amish Acres offers guests a relaxed and convenient setting from which to enjoy all of the attractions. Located on the fence line of Amish Acres, the inn has 62 non-smoking guest rooms and three meeting rooms. The two story facility offers three types of guest rooms that can be combined with activities at Amish Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Amish Acres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Amish Acres Hotel Nappanee
Hotel At Amish Acres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing