We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amich Acres Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Amish Acres
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nappanee
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amich Acres Inn”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It's true that the rooms need renovating, but you can tell that they are getting around to them. Our first room had brand new carper. But the air conditioner started making very loud grinding noises. We were moved immediately. Our second room did have the old carpet. Had to stay on the first floor bacause other family members were in rooms on that floor. So if they did have a room with better carpet-it wasn't available on the first floor. Other than the carpet being dingy, the rest of the room was very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It would have been nice if the pool was heated- even just a little. Only one of four braved the cold water. The lobby and outside were very quaint and appealing. I thought that the package deal that we purchased was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    21
    35
    24
    20
See reviews for
39
45
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It is time to lower the prices or upgrade the hotel. Sheets are old, rooms smell of BO, and the wallpaper is falling apart. The price for the room was 100 plus 50 per everyone over 12 (that incudes dinner, breakfast and a show - it feels about 10 bucks too much). The rooms really need updated or simply to be refeshed, and cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a charming looking place on the edge of Amish Acres. The lobby is very well decorated. We enjoyed the many photographs of Amish Acres throughout the Inn. We asked for a quiet room and were given room 252. It had brand new carpeting and was nicely decorated. It was not quiet and neither of us got much sleep. Although there were not that many people at the Inn, we could hear all of them and the very loud train whistles all night. In addition, the bed nearest the door had box springs so old they had completely split the lining. You could actually see inside them. The towel bar above the toilet came off in my hand when I reached for a towel. The old, green bedspread had a stain on it that was maybe dried blood or coffee. Breakfast was the food they put out at the beginning and they ran out of the banana bread (which was cut to thumb size) before it was over. A woman went and asked for more food but that was all there was and it wasn't much. There is no separate breakfast attendant, just a very busy front desk employee. We really liked Amish Acres but wished we had stayed elsewhere. I did ask for the manager on the way out but he had left on an errand. I hope they did something about the bed!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Rita,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Your concerns are very well articulated and helpful with us to continue to improve our hotel for all guests. If first want to say thank you for noticing the upgrades that we have been doing to our hotel such as new carpeting and decorations in the room. We strive to make our rooms comfortable. It is my goal as the General Manager to ensure that every guest that walks through the door receives a good nights sleep in a clean room that is to their satisfaction.

When I learned of your concerns during your stay, I immediately put into action steps to get that room up to par. We ordered a new set of mattresses and replaced the bedspreads. We did place your room on the inside of the building (facing the courtyard) which tends to be quieter than the outside (facing the parking lot).

One of your concerns mentioned the towel bar. Although we cannot always foresee when one of the anchors may fail, when reported, we do immediately fix those with our on-site maintenance crew.

We hope to see you again as we continue to make the upgrades to the Inn at Amish Acres. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nappanee hotels

GOODRICH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were traveling with a large group (Buick Car Club) of about 60 people, and had reservations for the night (not a cheap place at that). At check-in, only one clerk was available to check people in, with no advance paperwork, making for a long wait. The worse part was that no rooms were available yet (this was at about 4:00 pm. Ours was one of the last to be made available, and we couldn't get into our room until 6:30, and then we had no towels in the bathroom. A very bad experience after a long day of driving! On the plus side, the manager did refund 1/2 the cost of the room for the problems, but it was still a bad experience and left a negative impression of the hotel, regardless of anything else.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay there, don't rent the rooms with a Jacuzzi. It's in the bathroom as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. While your experience was not what you had expected, I do want to let you know that this day was not the norm for our hotel. As you may recall, I myself was cleaning rooms that day due to unforeseen staffing issues. While I had scheduled enough staff to clean our rooms by the 3pm check in time, some of our staff fell ill and were not able to make it to work that day. When I learned of this situation, I immediately began helping our housekeeping staff clean the rooms starting at 10am and we finished cleaning rooms at 5pm. If recall correctly, there were 6 rooms that were not able to check in at our normal 3pm check in time and all rooms were available by 5pm.

Again, I am truly sorry for the less than good experience you had at my hotel. We hope that you will return in the future to see the hotel in a way that you should have experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale Estates, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First of all, our stay was enjoyable, with the exceptions, being not what we thought would be a great hotel at those prices! Room was not very clean and CARPET WAS DISGUSTING! In need of major updating! Pool was also dirty and hotel did'nt seem to have enough staffing! Good luck!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Chris,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our hotel has been going through some renovations in the past two years. We have replaced 30% of our carpet and we have scheduled for another 30% in the next year. We have also replaced numerous televisions in the hotel.

As the General Manager, your stay is my number one concern and I would like to address your concerns about the pool. I personally take care of the pool and make sure that it adheres to the standards set by the State of Indiana and Elkhart County. We pass weekly bacteriological tests and vacuum the pool as needed. When we opened our pool for the year, our inspector stated that it was the best pool opening exam she had done this year. It is possible that there may have been some debris in the pool since your reservation was arriving on a Sunday, but the water is clear, the chemicals are balanced perfectly and we have not failed a single bacteriological test this year.

Please rest assured that we are continuing our updates to the hotel over the next year to continue to make The Inn at Amish Acres enjoyable for everyone who steps through the front door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Inn needs updating and CLEANING really badly. Our room was the 'king suite with whirlpool'. I paid an extra $20 on the Amish Acres Package but our bath room was dirty, the carpet had bad dirty trails where people have walked, room key is just that-a key, hallways have newer carpet but it looks to be getting dirty, breakfast was just ok with coffee, ceral, muffins, bagels, apples and bananas. Overall rate experience at near one of those rooms that you never want to take your shoes off because of the dirt. Package was ok. Play and thrasher dinner good. Grounds tour is a little lacking as it was conducted by non-Amish and could not answer all questions.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdbBBBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAAGM, General Manager at The Inn at Amish Acres, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We use these reviews to continually improve our service and facilities for our guests. I would like to address your concerns on your room stay at The Inn at Amish Acres. As you probably read on some of the other reviews, carpeting is something that we are working extremely hard at replacing. We have replaced 30% of our carpeting in the last year in order to better serve our customers' needs. We have scheduled another 30% replacement in the next year.

Our keys are something we get many questions about. Some people love the fact that we still use real keys instead of a card system. We continue to use the keys as part of our approach to offering a simple and hometown feeling. We want you to feel like you are coming home when you get to your room.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This past weekend we spent two nights at Amish Acres and enjoyed every moment! The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the beds so comfortable. We purchased the $99 special package which included various tours, 1 night stay, a delicious Amish meal and tickets to see an absolutely wonderful play at the Round Barn Theater called "Nunsense, Amen"--top-notch acting, singing and wonderful humor. The tours (buggy ride, farm ride, house tour) were laid back, fun and very interesting. By purchasing the package we also got a discount on our next night’s stay. This is NOT your posh resort but a place to relax and enjoy. So if you require a spa and lists of touristy things to do, perhaps you need look elsewhere. We had an excellent time and will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nappanee
13.9 mi away
Brook Pointe Inn
Brook Pointe Inn
#2 of 2 in Syracuse
203 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Goshen
134 reviews
13.9 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 6 in Goshen
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Goshen
Hampton Inn Goshen
#2 of 6 in Goshen
245 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Goshen
Comfort Inn Goshen
#6 of 6 in Goshen
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homespun Country Inn
Homespun Country Inn
#1 of 5 in Nappanee
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Amish Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Amish Acres

Property: The Inn at Amish Acres
Address: 1234 W Market St, Nappanee, IN 46550-1726 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Indiana > Nappanee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nappanee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Amish Acres 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complimentary hot breakfast in the Geranium Room, games of checkers in the lobby, or books from the lending library, all speak of the inn’s Hoosier hospitality. As the host hotel for historic Amish Acres, the Inn at Amish Acres offers guests a relaxed and convenient setting from which to enjoy all of the attractions. Located on the fence line of Amish Acres, the inn has 62 non-smoking guest rooms and three meeting rooms. The two story facility offers three types of guest rooms that can be combined with activities at Amish Acres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Amish Acres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Amish Acres Hotel Nappanee
Hotel At Amish Acres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing