We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms great hiking”
Review of Abe Martin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe Martin Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Check in was fast and easy but isn't till four. Not a problem went window shopping before hand at Nashville In. Rooms were clean bathrooms small but clean. Pool area was enjoyed by 12 year old daughter and 48 year old kid. Slide is a blast. Little tight for room in pool at times but no problem.

Room Tip: Was in room 214. good room but people in other rooms should learn to shut up after 1030pm. Hey I hav...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank witkowskiHebronIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Abe Martin Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just returned from a family cabin at the Abe Martin Lodge. It was a very nice time, and a good value if you get the buy one get one night free. We may return since we live just two hours away and it is a nice spot. But we will have to think carefully about the accommodation. One of the primary reasons we booked here was the water park, since we have small children (as does the other family traveling with us). The water park is nice, but there are no changing facilities there, just two family bathrooms with no showers. Since the cabin also has just one bathroom and not that much hot water, you cannot comfortably shower and change after being at the water park.

The cabins are a 5-10 minute walk from the lodge, so ideally there should be a nice changing area at the aquatic center, with multiple showers and room to change. Without that I felt like it was not quite adequate. Instead of feeling as nice as home, it was a step closer to camping. For a longer stay it would not have been pleasant. Besides that the cabins are nice with a pretty view. If you have small children it provides enough sleeping room. There are four beds total, so sleeping eight means sharing beds. Initially we were short some towels, a chair and sheets, but the hotel staff brought them to us right away upon request. If you are considering staying here it is a good idea to call and ask about specific items. There are basic kitchen supplies including a full size refrigerator.

I like the homey feel of the Indiana State Park inns. They are great for families and accessibly priced. There are games available at the lodge. There is a restaurant that provides family restaurant style food with a buffet at night. There are many playgrounds and beautiful hiking trails nearby. Next time we might consider staying at the lodge itself with the disadvantage of not being able to cook in so as to avoid the wet trek back to the cabin.

Room Tip: Cabins are nice but have only one bathroom, so consider that if you are a party of 8. They are a fiv...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Abe Martin Lodge is located within the Brow County State Park in Nashville, Indiana. Renowned for its rolling hills and magnificent vistas; the State park is just one of the many reasons we chose to stay here in March of 2014.

The Abe Martin Lodge has been renewed (renovated) several times and the last time this was completed in 2010, they added an indoor “water facility”. The lodge itself houses a gift shop, restaurant, meeting rooms and has a selection of “cabins” and “family cabins” available close by.

Visitors are welcomed into the lodge via a beautiful Indiana stone entrance way; once inside the feeling of a warm, friendly and inviting atmosphere immediately are felt. The front desk staff is very helpful and courteous in answering questions and giving out suggested family or individual activities.

Our room was a spacious double-queen bed with a small refrigerator, large flat screen TV, a separate desk and table with chairs. Plenty of room for our family to relax and enjoy some down-time after exploring the park all day. The "memory-Foam" mattress on the bed we slept in was so comfortable that we were out before our head touched the pillow!!

The indoor water facility has a wade pool, hot tub, a ‘lazy-river’, water ball area, small-children’s splash area and a three-story, curvy water slide. There is ample room for seating with comfortable chairs surrounding the water areas. There are life guards on duty for everyone’s safety.

The onsite restaurant has the ‘famous Brown County fried chicken’ on their buffet and on their menu. In the evenings on weekends there is live music provided by local artists. The restaurant has a very pleasing dining environment for both families and couples. The wait staff is very friendly and very helpful with decisions on which entrée to select.

The Brown County State Park is a rugged hilly area with walking, biking, horseback trails and vehicle roadways. After a day exploring all that the park has to offer, it is very nice to return to your room and not have to leave the park to do this.

My family and I are making plans to revisit the Abe Martin Lodge this summer. We recommend that if you have an opportunity to do so – that you do too.

Room Tip: Book early. this State Park Inn fills up quickly during the summer months and around all holidays!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoosier51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband, our four kids, three of their friends and I packed into two cars to start our adventure to Brown County and the Abe Martin Inn. I booked the family cabin back in September because I was worried that they would sell out. It is a little known fact that all of the lodges in the state parks in Indiana offer buy one night get one night free in December, January and February. There are exceptions and certain black out dates, and the nights have to be Sunday through Thursday. So I was able to book the family cabin for two nights, Sunday and Monday (which was a holiday and not a blackout date) for $175. This was an amazing deal. The cabin includes 8 wristbands for the water park. We were allowed to purchase an additional wrist band for our ninth person. We could start swimming at 1:00 pm on our arrival day and continue until noon on our checkout day. We did have to get out of the pool once an hour, but I found that if we stayed in the aquatic area we did not freeze. It was awesome to sit in the hot tub and look out at the snow! There was only one slide, but it was fun! If we sat up it was slow, but when we laid down it was fast! The life guards were friendly and helpful. There was a water volleyball court that my teens loved. We did not have any little ones, but there was a zero entry place with fountains for the smaller children. On to the cabins... I was enchanted by the cabins. The great room housed two pull out couches and two comfy chairs. There was also a large table with eight chairs. Our cabin was stocked with everything we needed. I found that it was quite warm enough and not drafty at all. We had nine people so our twins and their friend slept in the king bed, my husband and I slept in the queen and the teenagers slept on the pull out sofas. They did not complain about them being uncomfortable at all. We had plenty of blankets, pillows and sheets. I would stay at the Abe Martin Lodge again!!

Room Tip: I loved the cabin, but I would probably stay in the lodge next time if we stay in winter, just becau...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank yotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The good:
The setting is lovely & the cabin appears too. The staff was lovely & helpful. But that's where lovely ends. The aquatic center is the coolest thing and really had fun but the make you get out of the water every 45 minutes for 15 minutes. Yes every 45 min! So you freeze for 15 mins & then back in for 45. The fun wears thin after the 2nd time you are made to get out.

The bad:
It stated it sleeps 8 and technically it does. 2 bedrooms one with a king, one queen & two really disgusting pull out couches. Very dark inside the cabin. And very cold. Not enough blankets had to ask for more. Also the kitchen is not equipped for 8. Had to ask for more plates and forget about cooking much, there is minimal kitchen pans & nothing for baking. Only one bathroom and it smelt like sewage. The heating is extremely noisy electric wall units. If you are a normal to light sleeper you will not survive the night. The second night we considered using the wood stove to keep warm, but with it's location in the middle of the floor on a raised platform and several of the kids tripping over it the previous night we felt it was a safety issue and did not use it. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treloss t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

After reading the reviews I was very nervous about taking all our kids and grandkids for our annual weekend trip together. It was the perfect place for us. We rented two family cabins for 17 of us, one baby in a pack & play. We were in cabins 4 & 5 so we were able to park together and get back and forth easily. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs. On the first floor is an open area with a full kitchen (with open shelving) and large living room with 2 sofa sleepers and plenty of space. There is one split bathroom without a tub. We were able to make smores in the wood burning stove. The wood is sitting on the porch and is free. We loved hearing the rain on the tin roof. There is a large deck with picnic table.

Visitors need to be aware you are staying in a cabin in the woods. Some reviews complained about musky smells, mold, outdated linens, etc. I thought the cabins were very clean and felt like a place we could enjoy ourselves without worrying about the kids hurting anything.

The staff was very courteous even offering to help when our car was stuck in the snow. The cabin is about one mile from the lodge. The weather was cold and wet so we drove to the aquatic center. We really enjoyed the pool. All ages were able to have fun...from 16 months to 54 years old.

We were just a few miles from Nashville shopping. Some did hiking. Close to Edinburgh outlet mall. We plan to return next year instead of finding a new destination as we normally do.

Be sure to double check your GPS directions as it lead some astray.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 had just a tad bit better furniture than cabin 5.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Crew was friendly, room was gorgeous, and the hotel was cozy. Many places to hide in and relax, including a fireplace upstairs and a roomy porch out the back. Pool was on the small side and kiddy themed. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get a room with the option to walk out onto a porch!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelofEbola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
2.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
199 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
3.0 mi away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe Martin Lodge

Address: Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: £35 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe Martin Lodge nestled in the hills of Brown County State Park, has 84 guest rooms, new indoor aquatic center, gift shop, two lobbies, one with a fireplace, 20 housekeeping cabins, 56 rustic cabins and rustic dining room open daily. The lodge has beautiful outdoor verandas overlooking the sloping back lawn, park and the hills. The Lodge truly has accommodations to meet any need, with ample meeting rooms for business meetings, reunions, weddings, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe Martin Hotel Nashville
Abe Martin Motel
Abe Martin Lodge Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing