We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but aging”
Review of Abe Martin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abe Martin Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We first visited the Abe Martin Lodge nearly sixteen years ago. It was beautiful, and my favorite of the lodges at the Indiana state parks. Since then, we've visited several more times over the years. They now have a water park inside. However, the Lodge is showing signs of age. In our room, the bathroom door wouldn't close, the toilet rocked, and the TV stand was broken. Very disappointing, as we had seen it in much better shape. Water park was ok, but crowded and too many big kids running rampant to be enjoyable for our two and four year olds. Will we go back... Yes, but if this trend continues we'll look into other options.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank kshteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Abe Martin Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Abe Martin Lodge in Brown County State park offers a beautiful setting.We had a family reunion there and had all of our rooms in one area with a nice gathering room at the end of the hall. We had a huge porch and "yard" area for outdoor play right outside this room so it was very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful and the pool/water park inside the hotel was a big perk for everyone. The lifeguards were VERY good so you felt like you had some real help watching the kids. The hot tub only allowed over 18's which the little kids don't like too much but the adults loved it! As to the rooms, they are basic state park rooms but you don't spend much time in the rooms. Not many TV channels but that pushed the kids into other activities! it's a basic place to stay--small bathrooms and refrigerators are only in random rooms, or it seemed so I would say take a cooler and some drinks. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator. They might be able to give you one--but they are very small. Al...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a nice place to stay for a night or so. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the accommodations were appropriate to our expectations. We would stay here again. We also ate at the lodge for brunch and it was good as well. The trip to the cabins is a wonderful drive through the park, deep into an Indiana woods. Such a lovely place to get away from the hustle of the modern world.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Abe Martin Inn is competing in every way for 5 star resort status. The setting is gorgeous, there is an indoor water park, and the historical museum on the second floor in the lobby close to the dining room gives guests a peek into a simpler past. If you are a literature buff, you will be interested in Kin Hubbard's career and artifacts that bring Abe Martin to life.

Room Tip: We had a spacious room with a king bed. The rooms are separated from the pool area, so I don't...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyHoosierWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Have been going to Nashville and staying at the lodge for several yeats It is beginning to show an lot of wear and tear, everything looked dirty and worn. the beds and pillows were uncomfortable. Water park is nice, Front desk was more busy chatting than helping at checkout. Probably will look for other accommodations as we come to Nashville 2/3 times a year .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzeG55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is our fourth year in a row staying here for Easter weekend.
The good: The water park is awesome. The price is very reasonable. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant is delicious (the fried biscuits and apple butter are not to be missed). The staff is always friendly and seem to go out of their way to ensure you have a good visit. The park is awesome and incredibly scenic and beautiful.
Not "the bad" but things you should know before you go:
The pool does get really crowded and there did not seem to be as many chairs as last year. They take a 15 minute break every hour so you are really only able to swim for 45 min of each hour.
This is a state park building that was built in the 1932. It has an awesome rustic feeling. That being said, it does not appear to have had a lot of renovating/updating. It is clean and comfortable. It is not modern or fancy.
You have to pay $7.00 the first time you come to the park. After that you can use your room key to get into the park.
Parking can get a little tight later in the evening.
We have been to the hotel 5 times in the last four years and have had a great time each visit. in fact when we leave my kids start taking about next years visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a great time! It is very family friendly and inexpensive. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The pool facilities were wonderful and clean. The pool became congested at times, but it's still enjoyable. Due to the size of the pool area, you can watch your children from any area without stress. The built in benches located in the kiddy area and lazy river are a plus for adults. The water slide was great too. The free towel service is a nice touch. We would use them during our 15 min breaks then use our beach towels when walking back to our room. The common areas made a nice place to lounge and play games. There were so many things to explore within the park we didn't have to leave or search for something to do. We also chose to go to the horse stables. The kids loved it! One day it was drizzling outside so we loaded the umbrellas, drove to Nashville, and explored the shops. I never heard "I'm bored", which makes a relaxing vacation for parents and it's a short drive!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
2.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
199 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
458 reviews
2.8 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
3.0 mi away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe Martin Lodge

Address: Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: £35 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe Martin Lodge nestled in the hills of Brown County State Park, has 84 guest rooms, new indoor aquatic center, gift shop, two lobbies, one with a fireplace, 20 housekeeping cabins, 56 rustic cabins and rustic dining room open daily. The lodge has beautiful outdoor verandas overlooking the sloping back lawn, park and the hills. The Lodge truly has accommodations to meet any need, with ample meeting rooms for business meetings, reunions, weddings, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe Martin Hotel Nashville
Abe Martin Motel
Abe Martin Lodge Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing