We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great art Museum and Home.”

T.C. Steele State Historic Site
Ranked #8 of 32 things to do in Nashville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home and studio of T.C. Steele.
springfield vt
Level Contributor
155 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great art Museum and Home.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Setting is very beautiful wooded ridge. Gallery was quite significant. Tour of home was one of the best I've been through, as mostly original furnishings. Staff here was most friendly, knowledgeable, courteous, and extremely helpful. Gardens were a bit dry and gone by when we visited. Highly recommended. About 2 miles S of Indiana46 Belmont Indiana.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sprung51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth While”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The tour guide was very knowledgeable about the site and information about Steele and his family. The grounds needs some work but worthwhile to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherri049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, Indiana
Level Contributor
358 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Indiana State Historic Site”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband & I are making a point to try & visit as many state historic sites as possible. This one's in Brown County Indiana.
If you want a tour of the house & studio, it's $5 a person. A docent takes you through both, giving a history of the property & of the artist & his wife. There are several pictures painted by T. C. Steele & though I'm not really an art affectionado, I did like what I saw.
The property itself is very nice. You first drive up through a double stone gate. The driveway meanders up to the house, which is on top of a hill. There are extensive gardens, which would be even lovelier if they had someone to tend them. They are very weedy. There are 2 ponds with lilly pads & frogs. There are some trails, one to a cemetery where the artist & his wife are buried. There's also an authentic log cabin. The trails are rough in the woods. Be careful of rough ground where washouts have occurred.
There's a gift shop also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ccindyk48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Scenic spot for a short visit”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We really enjoyed our short visit to this historic site. It is a lovely drive, short distance from the major highway through the area (Indiana 46), which is another scenic road. There is a nominal charge for the tour, but you can enjoy the grounds without a fee, which is what we did. Nice hiking trails and gardens. The grounds are well-maintained, and quite nice, giving a real feel for a simpler lifestyle with an artistic sensibility. This was a refreshing stop in our day, and worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 7mlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
293 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Original & Famous Artist of Brown County & Family Ties”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This landmark has a personal meaning to me and my family. My mother (who would be 76 years old if she were still alive) and her older brother used to visit Mr. & Mrs. Steele as children while their parents tended the garden, house, and fields. "The Haymaker" painting was created using my grandpa and uncles as models while they forked loose hay onto the wagons. The painting of Mrs. Steele has a special twist. My great aunt sat as a model for the body because Mrs. Steele was too ill to set up for the entire painting. Of course, the head is that of Mrs. Steele.

The log cabin over the hill actually belonged to my family. My Great, Great, Great Grandparents, Peter and Elizabeth Dewar eloped while in Scotland and eventually settled in Brown County, Indiana. They built this cabin in another location for their son, James Dewar. The cabin was later moved to it's current location and protected by the State of Indiana for preservation.

The beautiful gardens give glimpse into another lifetime when life wasn't so hectic with multi-media. While the furniture isn't original to the house, it offers a view into the world that the artist and my family enjoyed many years ago. This is also a great place to capture photographs of butterflies, birds, and flowers. A great place to gather some quiet and peace.

There is a small fee if you would like a personal tour of the gallery. Otherwise, you may pull up and walk around the grounds and view the Dewar Cabin for free.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bethwalden3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T.C. Steele State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to T.C. Steele State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing