We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock on!”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
bloomington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rock on!”
Reviewed 5 February 2008

Rock on Abbey Inn, Rock on! Had an awesome time chillin with my girl. Told all my roomies about your place, so expect more bookings soon. Loved the rocking hottub. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookfieldct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    10
    13
    17
See reviews for
3
73
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2008

My now husband and I got married and stayed at the Abbey Inn. The entire process was hassle free, totally what we were looking for. The staff was great, and the grounds were beautiful in the fall. We stayed in the Honeysuckle suite. The room was enormous. It had a four person hottub which is great to spend time in. There is a loveseat looking out on the patio and grounds. The best part was the total privacy. We were never bothered by staff the entire stay. If you need tons of pampering from staff this is not your place. If you want peace and quiet you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — The privacy
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvanhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

My husband and I stayed in the Swetheart Cabin on January 9th and had booked to stay the 10th as well but couldn't because there was no power. When we checked in the carpet in the living room was saturated from the closet by the bathroom out from the wall about 8 feet and the rug in the bathroom was saturated as well. Not wet. Saturated. We called to let them know that we found it that way and were asked if there was water still leaking from wherever it was coming from and we said we didn't know and were just told that if it got worse to call again. It didn't seem to get worse by the next day but it definitely smelled much worse as standing water on carpet tends to. I'm sure this was nothing new to the inn since there was no reaction to what seemed like a pretty big problem us. There were empty Glade plug-ins that I suppose were suppose to combat the smell but I don't think there's a product on the market that can cover up soaking we mildew carpet.

The bed deserves a review all its own. It is miserable. Almost all the entries in the journal that past guests can write in mentioned how uncomfortable it is. I don't understand why a place that caters to couples getaways and charges around $200 a night can't invest in a decent mattress. Even if everything else had been perfect we would never stay there again just because the mattress was so miserable.

The grand finale a bad things was the second night at about 8:00 or so the power went out, not just at the cabin but at the main inn across the street as well. It was completely black. We called and got a voicemail box and left a message that there was no power and what were we supposed to do. We have never heard back from that call or another call we made that week, also leaving a message about what had happened. That night we waited a little over an hour, which looking back on it I don't even know why we waited that long since customer service is obviously of no importance at this place. A little after 9:00 we moved our car so we could shine our headlights into the cabin to see to pack our stuff up and drove home because there was no power and January in Indiana isn't known for it's warm nights and there was no way we could have stayed even if we wanted to try and tough it out.

Overall this was just a giant disappointment. The web site for this place accurately describes the place. It isn't a five star luxury kind of inn and we weren't expecting that. What we were expecting was some place that wasn't soaking wet and without power and even with those things against it I would never have imagined in a million years that we wouldn't get so much as a return call, much less any kind of refund, to at least apologize for the conditions and the fact that we had no choice but to drive home a night early. I don't know what we would have done if we lived more than the hour and half drive away. Be warned if you stay here and something goes wrong no one cares and there are no remedies while you're still there except driving home late at night.

  • Disliked — No electricity
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nashville hotels

indiana
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2008

My boyfriend just took me to stay at the Abbey Inn for our anniversary. We stayed in the Tulip room upstairs. I loved the decor and the mattress was so soft and comfy. The Inn is very quite and private, perfect for a getaway. They have a journal in the room that guest can write notes in, it's full of love notes to each other and how great their stay at the abbey was.. it is so sweet to read.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dulceking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham< Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Abbey Inn on September 14-16, 2007. We have stayed at bed and breakfasts before and we were looking forward to the experience. Our "tulip room " was average with a very lumpy bed. The hot tub was so noisy it woke us up off and on all night. The breakfast consisted of 2 bottled juices, a coffee pot, and 2 pre-packaged muffins. Our bathroom was stocked with one shampoo and one conditioner in a fast-food ketchup-type packet. Our room was never serviced...the bed wasn't made, the breakfast foods weren't replenished, and our towels and shampoo were not replaced after the first night. Yet we were charged $193 per night....we will not recommend, nor will we return....

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbofBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Olive, MI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We recently took a motorcycle trip with 2 other couples and stayed at Aaron's Cabin which is part of the Abbey Inn. While the location was wonderful, the cabin itself left little to be desired.

When we arrived at the cabin we found glass shards all over the floor and stove top, after I cut my hand from touching the counter. We swept up a small pile of glass from the floor and picked up some chunks from the stove.

One of the shower doors in the mainfloor bathroom was not in the track and came right off. The toilet was dirty, it obviously hadn't been wiped down from the last guest.

There was a pair of boxers in the corner of the living room by the couch, not belonging to anyone in our group. When we unfolded a blanket to put on the bed, there was a juice box crushed up in it. The pool table is a nice addition but there was only one cue stick.

If you are planning on staying for more than a couple of days, there is not adequate pots, pans, dishes, etc.

Upon check out there is a list of things that you must do according to the sheet. Sweep the floor, strip the beds, place all towels from both bathrooms in a specific hamper and so on. I think that this is the only cleaning that the cabin gets from one person to the next.

While this has such great potential it did not meet our expectations. It could be a cute, comfortable place to stay.

Our next trip to Brown County, we will look elsewhere.

  • Liked — location to town
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Keely01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2007

What a wasted of money. We went to the Abbey-Inn for a romantic Valentines Get-away, what we found was an out-dated, cheesy freezing room with uncomfortable beds and dirty dishes. Our power went out several times during our two night stay, for which we were instructed over the phone how to find the breaker box to turn it back on ourselves. When it went out during the second night, we awoke to a freezing room because the room was heated only by the space heater and "fire-place" (aka a small heated box with a picture of fire on it), which went out with the power. We couldn't even sleep in this room because the hot-tub ran loudly all night to keep the water only lukewarm (which also made the room smell like a swimming pool with all its chlorine leaving us to question whether the water was changed between guests). Our breakfast (for 2 days) consisted of 2 plastic-wrapped packages of blueberry muffins, 2 bottles of water and 2 bottles of applejuice. Not the bed and breakfast it was advertised as. Further, the staff on-site was completely ignorant about activities in the town . When we questioned them about activities to do in the town the said "I don't know, I've never actually done that before." We wanted relaxation and romance, what we got was ignorance, a freezing noisy dirty room and an unsatisfying breakfast for one for a single morning. To top it off, we ran out of toilet paper the second evening and were remiss to find any in the supplies closet. We will definately NOT be returning to this greatly overpriced motel and highly recommend that you don't try it either.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Indy_Traveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyInnIndiana, Owner at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2007
We recognize that during the Valentines holidays many of our guests were disappointed with their stays. We (Southern Indiana) were in the middle of a very heavy ice and snow storm. The majority of the town of Nashville lost power for 2 days, and our Inn was one of these establishments which lost power due to this storm. We attempted to reach all of our incoming guests to let them know we did not have power. We offered to reschedule their stays for a future visit. For those guests who did decide to stay during our power outage we offered gift certificates for future stays. We can understand that a guest would have a great many complaints during a power outage, and we attempted to do our best to resolve these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.9 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
339 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
196 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
446 reviews
3.4 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.8 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 24 in Nashville
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey is an adult getaway, different than hotels & bed & breakfasts in the area. We are adjacent to Brown County State Park. No kids, no pets, no phones...Just privacy. Minimal staff. Maximum privacy. Guests enjoy a private hot tub in their room, suite or cabin. Rooms have king beds, flat panel TVs, kitchenettes, patios and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Nashville
Brown County Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing