We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UGH”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #18 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“UGH”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were trying to stay in a town near Bloomington for graduation.
This was not a good choice for us. It is a very tired "honeymoon hotel"-
Rooms smell like the nutty hot tubs that take up way TOO much room in each room.
I kinda had the creeps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    10
    13
    17
See reviews for
3
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were greeted at the front desk by a young man with a smile and we made each other laugh, at check-in. He was down to earth. We stayed in the Dogwood room, bed was comfortable , room was clean and hot tub was great. No noise from hot tub, the chlorine smell was minimal, ( nothing like stated in other reviews ). Beautiful view from our balcony of the pond and wedding gazebo. Remember you are not staying at the Marriott they don't have a two person hot tub in room. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyInnIndiana, Public Relations Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your interaction with our staff. Hope you can come back soon! Keep an eye on our Facebook page & Newsletter for our customer appreciation specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeana, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Great place for a weekend getaway. My boyfriend and I wanted to getaway for a short, relaxing, close-to-home trip. On a whim, I picked the Abbey Inn from a Brown County website, booked the Peach Blossom room and was done. When greeted at check-in, the gentleman there was very friendly with a great sense of humor. Gave us our keys, directions to the room and we were set. Loved the room! Warm and cozy - just what we wanted. Hot tub worked great and bed was comfortable which was very inviting after walking the town and having a great country dinner. Thank you Abbey Inn for giving us the exact weekend we needed!

Room Tip: Peach Blossom room in the back of the inn. Very quiet and nice scenery of the gazebo, pond and wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy7299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyInnIndiana, Public Relations Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us in Brown County Indiana. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to let other guests know about the Peach Blossom Room with a view of our pond and wedding gazebo and Brown County State Park in the background.

Thanks too for the positive comments about our staff who work so hard during the fall season to meet the needs of our guests.

We hope you will come back soon! Winter rates and colder weather soon make our hot tub rooms the hottest deal in town especially if you come through the week and book online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Looked promising, arrived and found NO ONE there to greet us. It was a ghost town. Sign said check in was at 4, so when we got there at 4 there was a sign on the door that said office was closed. Once again, there was NO ONE there to help us. We found our room key and all of our info on a board in another building for anyone to grab. Not a good idea. Courtyard had a creep eery feeling. Room was very VERY HOT! NO AIR CONDITIONING! Water in the hot tub was COLD. Overall, felt very odd being there. Felt like we were being watched. Front of the building had weeds everywhere, and courtyard was not attractive. Not worth the money. Cancelled our reservation and recieved VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. Didn't refund all of our money. Also could not get ahold of anyone after we called the first time. This place is poorly run. Don't waste your time. It's nothing like the pictures.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hmfoxwelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nashville hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband I wanted to celebrate our anniversary here. He was excited about the hot tub amd i thought the pictures of the rooms looked nice. Overall the room was nice and clean but the w
Hot tub stayed luke warm and had broken jets and patchwork done to it. Save your money ($250!) and stay somewhere else cheaper for 2 nights instead of one. It was overrated for us and we will not stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakawana101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This is our second time staying here. We had the Dogwood room this time. I really liked how the hot tub was separate from the bedroom but still completely open. The colors are more modern. It has a nice and relaxing feel to it, like a spa (not your average bed and breakfast feel!)
A couple of downsides, it is supposed to be a couples only place but my husband and I heard 2 small children running up and down the hall before a wedding. We left home to get away from that sound! Also, the bed is incredibly hard and lumpy. We didn't go there to sleep, per se, but it would have been nice to actually have a soft, comfortable bed. Lastly, our door was terribly hard to open and close. I have not yet contacted management to make sure they are aware of the problem, but it was a serious pain in the butt and a potential fire hazard.
We will almost certainly be going back again! It is wonderful to be in amongst the woods and just a couple miles from town! Although with their prices so high, we might wait until off season to save a few dollars!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicole4790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Abbey Inn advertises itself as a peaceful get away for couples or as a wedding destination. It was definitely peaceful and secluded but old. We stayed in the honeysuckle suite. My biggest compaint was that the room was freezing cold in the beginning of June! I had to turn on the fireplace to get heat into the room and there were no individual controls for the room (all we could do was the close the vents).The carpet was old and the grounds need maintenance. I agree it was overpriced for the amenities. The patio was advertised as offering some privacy but there was none since it was a shared patio. The lake was not all that romantic. I found the bed was comfortable but the couch was lumpy and the bathroom shower leaked water on the floor with the doors completely closed. Location is good - far enough away from the hubbub of Brown County but close enought to get to. And don't buy into the buffet brunch at Artist Colony Inn - terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cincybetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.9 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.4 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.8 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#3 of 24 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Inn and Suites is an adult getaway, different than hotels & bed & breakfasts in the area. We are adjacent to Brown County State Park. No kids, no pets, no phones...Just privacy. Minimal staff. Maximum privacy. We are not a hotel and we do not have full time staff. We require all guests read, agree to and abide by our policies. Guests enjoy a private hot tub in their room, suite or cabin. Rooms have king beds, electric fireplaces, flat panel TVs, kitchenettes, patios and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Nashville
Brown County Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing