We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overly Priced Hill-Billy Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #18 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overly Priced Hill-Billy Inn”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2007

What a wasted of money. We went to the Abbey-Inn for a romantic Valentines Get-away, what we found was an out-dated, cheesy freezing room with uncomfortable beds and dirty dishes. Our power went out several times during our two night stay, for which we were instructed over the phone how to find the breaker box to turn it back on ourselves. When it went out during the second night, we awoke to a freezing room because the room was heated only by the space heater and "fire-place" (aka a small heated box with a picture of fire on it), which went out with the power. We couldn't even sleep in this room because the hot-tub ran loudly all night to keep the water only lukewarm (which also made the room smell like a swimming pool with all its chlorine leaving us to question whether the water was changed between guests). Our breakfast (for 2 days) consisted of 2 plastic-wrapped packages of blueberry muffins, 2 bottles of water and 2 bottles of applejuice. Not the bed and breakfast it was advertised as. Further, the staff on-site was completely ignorant about activities in the town . When we questioned them about activities to do in the town the said "I don't know, I've never actually done that before." We wanted relaxation and romance, what we got was ignorance, a freezing noisy dirty room and an unsatisfying breakfast for one for a single morning. To top it off, we ran out of toilet paper the second evening and were remiss to find any in the supplies closet. We will definately NOT be returning to this greatly overpriced motel and highly recommend that you don't try it either.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Indy_Traveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyInnIndiana, Owner at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2007
We recognize that during the Valentines holidays many of our guests were disappointed with their stays. We (Southern Indiana) were in the middle of a very heavy ice and snow storm. The majority of the town of Nashville lost power for 2 days, and our Inn was one of these establishments which lost power due to this storm. We attempted to reach all of our incoming guests to let them know we did not have power. We offered to reschedule their stays for a future visit. For those guests who did decide to stay during our power outage we offered gift certificates for future stays. We can understand that a guest would have a great many complaints during a power outage, and we attempted to do our best to resolve these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    10
    13
    17
See reviews for
3
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2006

Gay friendly in southern Indiana! Amazing. We borrowed a movie from the movie room and sat in the Hottub all day. Best place to have a honeymoon! will definately visit again!

  • Liked — nice clean well kept hottubs
  • Disliked — electric fireplace didn't work
  • Tips/Secrets — spring there is nice too
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2006

We had a great time, so peaceful and we loved that NO children are allowed. Adults need to be alone sometimes. Hope you like the food at the Hob Nob downtown too.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traingal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2006

My husband and I, We NEEDED to get away! We had not seen each other in two weeks because we work opposite shifts. So when we decided to get away for a weekend after Valentine's Day, we decided to go somewhere that is still relatively close, but still far enough away that it gave us a break. We stayed at the Cabin that they have, and it was GOREGEOUS!! It had a full kitchen and dining room combo, living room, spare bedroom, bathroom, Hot tub AND sauna, and a master bedroom. This was the perfect getaway for us. There was not a hint of smoke anywhere, but actually there was a hint of "baked apple pie" potpurri from somewhere, but I couldn't find where it was coming from. The owners were quite nice, we asked for directions somewhere, and rather than giving is vague directions that weren't clear, they hopped on Mapquest and got us there. We'll definately be going back!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Abbey Inn in August. We actually stayed in their 2 bedroom cottage. It was spacious and had everything we needed for a comfortable visit. We especially enjoyed the hot tub-the atmosphere was perfect for a romantic evening. We would definitely go back for another weekend get away.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2006

I'm compelled to write this review as I've been making future arrangements for my spring vacation and once again am drawm back to the Abbey Inn. Being bi-coastal (New York City and San Francisco) just tires me out and the inn in Nashville is such a serene and utterly romantic little secret I'm almost reluctant to share it. The circular water foundtain in the center of the courtyard, the charming and beautifully appointed rooms, with personal jacuzzi's in each one, the private lake in the back with a gazebo for reading over-looking it...what can I say, it's a gem. Quiet, bucolic, romantic and sweet. I've stayed at the Abbey Inn 3 times over the past 4 years and each time I go they've added another ammenity to the property to make it that much more beautiful, accomodating, and incredibly relaxing. It also feels like you just have the whole place to yourself even when all the rooms are booked. It's really magical. Simply put, it's the best kept secret nestled in the woods and I'll definitely be back. Thanks for everything Abbey Inn! See you soon.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2006

I absolutely loved the fact that the rooms had no hint of smoke. Many times my wife and I would request a smoke free room and get a room that smelled like the last guest smoked all day long in it. The room was clean and had no smoke smell traces -- just as promised. It was also great to see that they had designated outdoor areas to smoke in, keeping those of us who hate it happy.

The staff was amazing. They were professional, courteous, and above all they were there to make our stay as private as we requested.

Location is great. You won't need to get in your car until you are ready to head home. My next stay in Nashville will certainly be here. Their online booking and communication makes the whole process painfree!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
1.9 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.4 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.8 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#3 of 24 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Property: Abbey Inn
Address: St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Inn and Suites is an adult getaway, different than hotels & bed & breakfasts in the area. We are adjacent to Brown County State Park. No kids, no pets, no phones...Just privacy. Minimal staff. Maximum privacy. We are not a hotel and we do not have full time staff. We require all guests read, agree to and abide by our policies. Guests enjoy a private hot tub in their room, suite or cabin. Rooms have king beds, electric fireplaces, flat panel TVs, kitchenettes, patios and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Nashville
Brown County Indiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing