We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back to Unit 202”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would come back to Unit 202”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Two couples stayed in unit 202 recently and we really enjoyed our stay. It rained most of the weekend so we spent lots of time in the condo. It was clean, the living area was comfy, and the kitchen looked updated and was nice (though pots and pans were so cheap that we bought an omlette pan at the hardward store). The 2 bed/2 bath configuration is perfect for 2 couples - we had plently of privacy plus space to hang out together. Biggest downside is that the second bedroom (smaller bed) was so uncomfortable and soft that someone slept on the sofa instead as that was better than the bed. The king bed was soft but not as uncomfortable. The staff was nice. We didn't golf but the course looked like it was in very rough condition. It's a nice location just a couple miles from the heart of Nashville shopping, and right near the State Park. Beautiful car ride to Bean Blossom and Story - very scenic area.

Room Tip: Unit 202 for 1 bedroom King, but the smaller 2nd bedroom was very uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilwTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
236 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I recently visited Salt Creek on a couples trip to Nashville, IN. We had stayed here twice in the past and were eager to introduce friends to it's charm. It should be stated that none of us are golfers, so I don't feel as though I can fairly comment on the course. However, the view from our balcony was beautiful.
There was a little confusion upon our arrival, as our names were somehow not reserved. This was quickly cleared up, however, and it was only a matter of minutes before we had the keys to our room.
Cosmetically, the exterior of the resort is beginning to show its age. The hallway/staircase leading to the room had the faint aroma of kennel, and our door had tacky, motelesque sticker-numbers on it. At this point I was curious if our friends had wondered what they had gotten themselves into. Personally, I had my fingers crossed that the interior of the condo was as nice as it had been on my previous visits.
Fortunately, the owner and staff had done a great job preserving this room. Our friends were astounded by the sprawling square footage, full kitchen, and beautiful golf course view from the balcony. The bedrooms, kitchen, and living room were all very clean. The fireplace didn't work, though. My only real complaint with the interior of the condo was with the bathroom.
The shower curtain desperately needed cleaned, bleached, or replaced as it was yellowing to the point that I didn't care to look at it. The shampoo came in little catchup style packets, so when my hands got wet in the shower, I needed to either step out to get a cutting utensil, or use my teeth. And, the only shower soap I could find was the hand soap from the sink.
In the morning, my wife went to the lodge at about 9:00 AM to find something to eat and drink. The front desk was closed, but had a sign posted that the 19th Hole (bar/restaurant) was open for breakfast from 8:00-11:00 AM. No one, however, was around to take an order or pour a soda. She waited fifteen minutes before leaving.
Despite the setbacks, this is still a wonderful place to stay for any form of fun retreat. Spacious living area, the full kitchen, and separate bedrooms and bathrooms make an experience with friends, family, colleagues, and couples, far more comfortable than your standard 2 Queen hotel room. It's only a few minutes (driving) from Nashville where you can find kitschy shops, restaurants, wineries, a brewery, and art galleries. Make sure, though, to stay at the resort long enough that you can take advantage of all your condo has to offer.

Room Tip: Book early for choices. Upstairs has balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandTime78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I came down to Brown County from Michigan for the first time. Very much enjoyed Salt Creek and the area. We found the resort staff, the condo, the food, and the golfing to be very nice. At this time of year we expect some signs of use on the golf courses we play and that was evident here. Nothing that was that bad - some bare spots and tee boxes moved around. Nice challenge! Only thing we'd suggest - no place to grab breakfast at the resort if you have early tee times - Sunday brunch started at 10 and over by 2 so could not try that. We'd stay here again though and just plan to bring items for breakfast in our condo.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our lower level condo facing the 12th hole....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This place has such potential, but the customer service is terrible! I will say though, the front desk staff was very friendly and the gentleman in the pro shop was nice as well. So, if you're just going for a round of golf, you should be fine. However, if you're staying overnight, you will more than likely have to deal with the folks at the grill and the restaurant. These folks were awefull! There also appeared to be locals living in the resort condos. There was garbage and kids toys spilling out onto the front patios of one of the units. Lastly, the course was in very poor shape and they messed the billing up terribly. Mysterious charges showed up on our group organizer's credit card.
Our group came here 3 years ago and had a much better experience. Service was great, course was in good shape and the units were well kept. What happened? New management maybe?? Believe me folks, there are other options.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afugazifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandi B, Manager at Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Our Customer Service has always been A-1. This review has been written by a person who came with a large golf group who misbehaved during their stay here. Not only were they very foul mouthed to our wait staff in our sports bar, but one of the Owners had to be called in to diffuse a potentially bad situation before the police were called. There were no "mysterious" charges applied to anyones charge card.
Our course, like most in the Midwest have incurred Mother Natures rath, but we have maintained it well, our greens are beautiful and our fairways have rebounded.
We do have people that live in the condos year round and no one ever leaves trash out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Condos are well equipped. Close to town.
Golf course is in bad shpae. Fairwars are bare. Greens tore up. Could play a dozen courses for half the price,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinniebuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed here for our yearly getaway and loved everything about it. The condo (Room 104?) was clean and very comfortable. The views are amazing and the location is a short 5 minute drive to downtown Nashville. I will be bringing my family back here this fall.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This was our first and last time staying here. I can't say that all of the condos are the same, but 208 was sparsely furnished and cheaply constructed with paper thin walls and a bed as hard as the frozen ground. Kitchen was infested with bugs, both alive and dead. Coffee pot had not been cleaned in so long that the filter basket had mold growing in it. If there are other units that are better I would recommend the location because it is convenient and there is a restaurant and bar on the property.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shttrbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
2.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#5 of 7 in Nashville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rawhide Ranch
Rawhide Ranch
#1 of 7 in Nashville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creekside Retreat Lodging & Gatherings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge

Property: Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
Address: 2359 State Road 46 E, Nashville, IN 47448-9249
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful retreat that offers an 18 hole golf course, driving range, full service pro shop, sports bar, event facility, wedding and reception facility, an outdoor pool and hot tub, and on-site lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing