We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family of 4 go to Nashville often but this is the first time we stayed at the Salt Creek and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful, the condo was large, clean and well appointed. Our kids are both teenagers and we liked the space and the setting. We all shopped in town, relaxed by the pool and the boys golfed while the girls shopped in town a bit more. I would definitely stay there again. In fact, my husband is working on a fall golf outing.

I thought I would miss staying in town, but the Salt Creek Lodge made up for that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pate200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff at salt creek makes you feel like family. They have taken great care of our group for the past three years in a row. The course is fun and challenging, the condos are well taken care of, and the price is low. I don't think we will wait a full year before our next boys trip to salt creek.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmyindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been going to Brown County for 24 years & have been staying at Salt Creek condos for 5 years now. Very roomy & have everything you need in them. Must admit some of the condos have more comfortable beds then others. But we absolutely love staying there & find it way cheaper then at a hotel & way way nicer. There is also a club house - 19th Hole Bar & Grille that is great to walk from your condo & has great food & live entertainment on the weekends. You will find people playing cards & games or just sitting around enjoying their friends & or family. Great tables with a cozy fireplace & the staff is very friendly. Also outdoor tables & corn hole if you like outside overlooking the course. The new manager TonyV & his wife they have made some great & smart changes to the club house & are very open to listening to any suggestions you may have.

Room Tip: Condo 209 perfect for 4 to 5 people this condo had 2 comfortable twin beds in each of the two bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna76_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Good:
- Good friendly service
- Good food at 19th hole and nice bar area (free pool table)
- Good price/value for golf package
- Condo location to course and condo size (although our #206 smelled like dog when first walking in) Condo room on #10 fairway with nice view.
-

The Bad:
Golf course has bad drainage.
Cart paths are amusing unless you have back issues or don't want back issues.
Sand traps are a joke
Nice GPS cart system would occasionally show two completely different yardages on carts right next to each other.

Decided to try a different spot for our annual golf trip and chose Salt Creek Resort this time. May go back someday but the course condition won't be what brings us back. This has to be one of the worst courses I've played condition wise that could be absolutely awesome. It's kind of sad. Not sure what they spent on the GPS system for the carts but it should have been used to upgrade tee boxes and buy real golf sand for the "sand" traps. I use that term very loosely because many had no sand at all and were just mud pits where a trap used to be. Very tight course if you are not a low handicap you'll lose lots of balls as we all did.

Having said all that it was a beautiful course layout with many challenging holes/shots. If you don't mind moving your ball out of a bare spot on the fairway or "sand trap" or just enjoy playing golf on a challenging course and you are not too anal about things you'll still have fun. The course could be awesome with the right maintenance and $$, but judging on how busy it was (or lack of it) it looks like they don't get enough golfers. Not sure how they fix it but if the course was in the the right shape I'd easily pay another $100 for the golf package and come back. We did weekday package so we left on Friday after playing so no idea what weekends are like.

Room Tip: Room #206 we stayed in smelled like animal/dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed at the Salt Creek Golf Retreat on a yearly basis for a couples weekend. The 2 bedroom condos are cozy and nicely decorated. Full kitchen and wash and dryer. Great for a vacation getaway for families and couples. Our condo looked over the golf course. The Overlook Lodge is fun as well. Cute Bar, good bar food and a very nice restaurant. Great place to relax, enjoy and take time to admire nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We recently stayed in Nashville and had dinner at the 19th Hole. It is a nice bar with great food! The tenderloin has a great flavor and just enough fries. We will definitely return! The view from the bar onto the golf course is excellent too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank flowerlady1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I am always looking for "Country Roads" to take visitors from around the world. Going to Nashville and staying at this hotel really shows them the beauty of America, and why the song is so important to their feelings. Imagine setting high off the ridge, in a scenic spot, and allowing the group to do an entire rendition. It is priceless. This property has some great views and is a real treat for people from other countries. The rooms are affordable, spacious, and elegant. My large group really liked the stay, and we ordered local pizza and food to bring back to the rooms. The color was tremendous this year. You can even take your group or family gold panning in Salt Creek at Gatesville. It was a great trip...not to mention the shopping as well.

Room Tip: I have not stayed in a bad room. I like the back side of the golf course....Hole 11 side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WuSongLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nashville
2.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
394 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#7 of 7 in Nashville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
475 reviews
14.5 mi away
Century Suites Hotel
Century Suites Hotel
#14 of 24 in Bloomington
59 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbus/Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge

Address: 2359 State Road 46 E, Nashville, IN 47448-9249
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range: £77 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a beautiful retreat that offers an 18 hole golf course, driving range, full service pro shop, sports bar, event facility, wedding and reception facility, an outdoor pool and hot tub, and on-site lodging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing