We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lil Black Bear Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Columbus(Columbus)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Nashville)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Columbus Hotel(Columbus)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
44
17
9
5
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
17
9
5
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bchit chatother guestsbrown countyget awayeating breakfastgracious hostsgreat place to stayperfect weekendnew ownersshort drivestate parkdowntown nashvillejillchickens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This place is a home away from home. My husband and I needed to get away from our "on the go" lifestyle for a few days. The Always Inn was the perfect place! This was EXACTLY what we needed. When we arrived, the grounds were clean and tidy. All the flowers and decorations were so welcoming. The house and the rooms were very clean and fresh. Fresh baked cookies and coffee always a plus! The inn keepers Lois and Marvin are the greatest! Made us feel right at home. Very helpful, hospitable and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious! Nice country style breakfast. We couldnt have had a better stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakeMeAway252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband booked our stay for an anniversary weekend away. When we arrived there was no inn keeper. We waited and even another couple came to check in while we waited. After trying to contact the owner many times by phone, we finally getting a call back to just let ourselves into the room which was over an hour and half later. I have to say this was the strangest experience we have ever had. There were many amenities that were listed on the web site that either were not available or were broken. The room was very nice, but small. The bed was lovely as well as the bath tub. Our screen to our balcony was broken, the light was out, our refrigerator was broken, no robes in the room and no cable to watch the Colt's game, actually no TV at all, plus the hot tub was not working. The breakfast was nice in the morning and to the Inn's defense we were refunded our money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredadanzig, Owner at Lil Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for acknowledging that I refunded you in full for your stay last November, when our previous innkeeper was not there to greet you. The new innkeepers at Always Inn, Lois and Marvin Scrogham, have worked very hard and it shows in every way - from numerous happy guest comments about the warmth, hospitality, great country breakfasts, and the various improvements to the inn and grounds. The internet is still slow, but the Direct TV service works great. We now have flatscreen TVs, radio alarm clocks with iPod docks, refrigerators, monogrammed robes, hair dryer, iron, toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and snacks in all the rooms. Plus a huge movie library, board games and books for your quiet enjoyment. We hope you will consider giving Always Inn another try so you can experience our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and it was a peaceful, enjoyable weekend. My husband and I were there on our 2nd anniversary. We were the only guests at Always Inn that night, since it was off-season for Nashville and many things in town were closed. We were offered a free upgrade on our room which we accepted. The innkeeper was friendly and the vegetarian breakfast we were served in the morning was very good. I was excited to find out that the inn is also pet-friendly, so we may be back in the summer to enjoy some time with our pet.

Room Tip: Bitter Sweet has a nice whirlpool tub
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. Didn't know what to expect. I must tell you the experience was great. From our arrival until we left we were made to feel at home. The accomodations were great, the food was great, and the innkeeper was great. We had nice friendly conversations with the innkeeper and just felt like we were nearly family. I have heard of some negative reviews about this bed and breakfast, as recent as about a month ago but I learned that they changed innkeepers about 2-3 weeks ago, and I can't find anything negative to say about him. Paul & Judy Eaton Ohio

Room Tip: White Pine room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

our tri to the bed and breakfast was very pleasant, The entire interior was so clean and smelled so nice the Innkeeper Randy met us at our vehicle offering to help get bags and then he took us directly into our room (white pine) once we had settled in he then showed us the remainder of the Inn and the living room and dining area were so nice, He had to run into Columbus I believe and he said please make yourselves at home even telling us if we were hungry there was food in pantry, We could not have asked for any better treatment and after reading past reviews it was a relief to find that most reviews were incorrect to say the least he did exsplain to us that the owner has had issue finding a good match for the position and that many reviews are by ex employees who has been terminated for one reason or the other and he thanked us for giving the Inn and him a chance.. I would reccomend to ANYONE

Room Tip: We were allowed to see all the rooms but one and thats because the keys to it were misplaced but the White Pine and Bitter sweet were the two favorites to me and the white pine is at driveway level
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews