We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best country bed&breakfast ever”
Review of Lil Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lil Black Bear Inn
Ranked #9 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I am afraid of writing this review caz people will find about this amazing bed&breakfast and we will have difficulty to book our next time there. Honestly, our room was super clean, arranged and cozy. The bed was so comfortable that we fell asleep quickly. They had different towels and robs for us. Big LCD player, cut fire place and wonderful jacuzzi lol what else we could asked for?!!
Our lady host was super super friendly and nice that you may only see her picture in story books. She was baking fresh chocolate chips and gave us some lol it was just magical. She made us such an amazing and fancy breakfast table in gazebo , a romantic breakfast only for my wife and me for no extra fee at all. She said that she would made that table anywhere we would like. One day she had a long country dress and I was like can we ask her to move in our city and so we can see her every week. You just need to tell her what you need cold water, hot coffee or tea and then she will do that for you with a nice smile. you will love her smile. lol btw, the breakfast is just perfect, not fancy nor buffet but healthy and enough.
Their front yard is just cute and you can definitely enjoy it specially early morning and close to sunset. The access from the road is super easy, just close to road, but not so close that you get disturbed by noise of traffic. You can drive 6 minutes to Nashville or 10 mins to the brown county.
My wife and me will definitely come back there again and thinking about to go to their other locations, I think they have one in Niagra falls.
I will post some pics of their place :) they will prove my words.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaziri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Lil Black Bear Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights at the Always Inn in Nashville, IN. This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, but it will not be the last. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and the Innkeepers, Lois and Marvin, were wonderful. They made us feel right at home and were very helpful and just made our stay very enjoyable. The grounds are also very neat and pretty and well kept. I can definitely recommend this place, it is AWESOME. We will be back

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Bittersweet and White Pine had the largest beds.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This place is a home away from home. My husband and I needed to get away from our "on the go" lifestyle for a few days. The Always Inn was the perfect place! This was EXACTLY what we needed. When we arrived, the grounds were clean and tidy. All the flowers and decorations were so welcoming. The house and the rooms were very clean and fresh. Fresh baked cookies and coffee always a plus! The inn keepers Lois and Marvin are the greatest! Made us feel right at home. Very helpful, hospitable and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious! Nice country style breakfast. We couldnt have had a better stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakeMeAway252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband booked our stay for an anniversary weekend away. When we arrived there was no inn keeper. We waited and even another couple came to check in while we waited. After trying to contact the owner many times by phone, we finally getting a call back to just let ourselves into the room which was over an hour and half later. I have to say this was the strangest experience we have ever had. There were many amenities that were listed on the web site that either were not available or were broken. The room was very nice, but small. The bed was lovely as well as the bath tub. Our screen to our balcony was broken, the light was out, our refrigerator was broken, no robes in the room and no cable to watch the Colt's game, actually no TV at all, plus the hot tub was not working. The breakfast was nice in the morning and to the Inn's defense we were refunded our money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredadanzig, Owner at Lil Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review and for acknowledging that I refunded you in full for your stay last November, when our previous innkeeper was not there to greet you. The new innkeepers at Always Inn, Lois and Marvin Scrogham, have worked very hard and it shows in every way - from numerous happy guest comments about the warmth, hospitality, great country breakfasts, and the various improvements to the inn and grounds. The internet is still slow, but the Direct TV service works great. We now have flatscreen TVs, radio alarm clocks with iPod docks, refrigerators, monogrammed robes, hair dryer, iron, toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and snacks in all the rooms. Plus a huge movie library, board games and books for your quiet enjoyment. We hope you will consider giving Always Inn another try so you can experience our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and it was a peaceful, enjoyable weekend. My husband and I were there on our 2nd anniversary. We were the only guests at Always Inn that night, since it was off-season for Nashville and many things in town were closed. We were offered a free upgrade on our room which we accepted. The innkeeper was friendly and the vegetarian breakfast we were served in the morning was very good. I was excited to find out that the inn is also pet-friendly, so we may be back in the summer to enjoy some time with our pet.

Room Tip: Bitter Sweet has a nice whirlpool tub
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This was our first stay at a bed and breakfast. Didn't know what to expect. I must tell you the experience was great. From our arrival until we left we were made to feel at home. The accomodations were great, the food was great, and the innkeeper was great. We had nice friendly conversations with the innkeeper and just felt like we were nearly family. I have heard of some negative reviews about this bed and breakfast, as recent as about a month ago but I learned that they changed innkeepers about 2-3 weeks ago, and I can't find anything negative to say about him. Paul & Judy Eaton Ohio

Room Tip: White Pine room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

our tri to the bed and breakfast was very pleasant, The entire interior was so clean and smelled so nice the Innkeeper Randy met us at our vehicle offering to help get bags and then he took us directly into our room (white pine) once we had settled in he then showed us the remainder of the Inn and the living room and dining area were so nice, He had to run into Columbus I believe and he said please make yourselves at home even telling us if we were hungry there was food in pantry, We could not have asked for any better treatment and after reading past reviews it was a relief to find that most reviews were incorrect to say the least he did exsplain to us that the owner has had issue finding a good match for the position and that many reviews are by ex employees who has been terminated for one reason or the other and he thanked us for giving the Inn and him a chance.. I would reccomend to ANYONE

Room Tip: We were allowed to see all the rooms but one and thats because the keys to it were misplaced but the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
8.0 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
359 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
199 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
8.6 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 24 in Nashville
77 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#10 of 24 in Nashville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lil Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lil Black Bear Inn

Address: 8072 State Road 46 E, Nashville, IN 47448-9396 (Formerly Always Inn Brown County Indiana Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lil Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ‘Lil Black Bear Inn is located on State Road 46 East in the beautiful hills of Nashville, IN voted by Midwest Living magazine readers as “the most picturesque stretch of highway in America.” Our intimate six-room inn offers privacy, pampering, warm hospitality, and great food. Stay with us for a relaxing getaway, whatever the reason or season. Comfortable bedrooms with custom furnishings and local original artwork, several rooms with private whirlpool spa baths, in-room refrigerators, full breakfast, free wireless internet, satellite TV with flat screen TVs free movie library, free parking, central air/heat, CD player, alarm clock, radio, aromatherapy toiletries, bottled water, Belgian chocolates and more. Ask for a room with a whirlpool spa or one with a view of the woods or pond. We are also a pet friendly inn. We can arrange for candlelight dinners on our decks and patios or in-room dining. We also offer gift and fruit baskets, floral bouquets, spa treatments, in-room deep tissue massage therapy, chocolate covered strawberries, chilled beverages, box lunches, picnic baskets and more… In the morning, awaken to a sumptuous country breakfast, accompanied by juice and gourmet coffee. Breakfast is on the house, of course. In spring and summer afternoons, we also offer complimentary cookies or brownies and sun tea or lemonade; in the fall and winter afternoons, we serve brownies and hot chocolate. Our goal is to pamper you so you can relax, unwind, renew and recharge. Gift certificates, specials and packages are available for anniversaries, birthdays and honeymoons. Please tell us if you are celebrating a special occasion – honeymoon, anniversary, and birthday or simply escaping for a couple of days. We’ll do everything we can to make your getaway extra-special, always. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lil Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing