We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”
Review of Artists Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artists Colony Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were very disappointed with the Artist Colony. The location is great but the rooms are very worn and noisey. Carpet looked dirty and the bed was horrible! You sunk to the middle, so much so, it was difficult to get out and my back hurt for 2 days. It smelled musty in the room. Breakfast was average. It definitely was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
5  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Artists Colony Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were not too interested in the place we were staying, but the area we were staying in. We were pleasantly surprised with our find at the Artist Colony Inn. Room was nice and clean, but no countertop in the bathroom or in the main room. No closet, but plenty of hooks to hang coats, just need more hangers.
We enjoyed the scenery and the breakfast buffet, especially the fried biscuits and warm apple butter. Fabulous way to start the day of walking miles......,

Room Tip: With only one stay under our belts, it is difficult to say which rooms would be better. We were on...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

For the price there is other hotels nicer for the same price. Balcony very small. Beds hard, TV very small. Our friends went with us, there room was larger and was the same price. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franstamper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn for two nights over Labor Day weekend. It was a last minute trip and we took the last room available. After booking, I read some of the negative reviews and became a little concerned, but too late. Well, our room was very nice and clean. No there aren't any closets or dressers to put your clothes away and yes there are pegs on the walls instead. It's their theme! The beds were comfortable and while others complained about not having space for their toiletries, there is a shelf above the sink and a shelving unit next to the sink that I was able to utilize. The house keeping staff that we talked to (I only remember Erica, I'm sorry) were very nice. All the staff at the Inn including the restaurant servers were courteous. The location is great. If I bought too much stuff to carry then we hiked back, dropped it off and were out again. We had eaten there a few years ago, but this is the first time staying over night. I would stay again but I would make reservations a little further in advance and request a room with a balcony. The breakfast buffet is very good but if that isn't your thing you can use your voucher towards breakfast items on their menu. Free parking too so all of that needs to be considered if your are hesitant about the price of the rooms. It was well worth it. There are things to do after the shops close. We went to see Seriously Sinatra at the theater. There is the Out of the Ordinary bar that had music Saturday night. Sunday we went to the Nashville Hotel for music at their gazebo and the Brown County Inn had entertainment too but we didn't make that and we were too late for the entertainment at Muddy Boots. You don't have to be stuck in your room but if you want to watch T.V. that would be my only complaint is out dated televisions.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a balcony. We stayed on the third floor and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kayday_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It's clean. You can use the words, quaint, rustic, vintage, etc. etc., but it was pretty expensive for a very hard bed that was almost taller than the TV so we couldn't see the TV when lying in bed - and that's all there is to do after 8pm. The staff is very nice except for this one man - guessing he's the manager. He was RUDE. Once I heard him be very rude to one of the servers who was working as hard as she could. Then, the same evening, I saw him completely embarrass himself by screaming at someone outside who was smoking too close to the door. Maybe he should put a no-smoking sign or just ask people to step 10 feet to the right or left instead of screaming at people and causing a scene.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derbytoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Inn itself is very nice and a perfect location for a walk around vacation. The room were very clean but dark and a hard mattress. Breakfast is worth your time, you can sit inside or out. Pick a room with a balcony on the upper floor for a view.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Spent one night here in July. Everything closes at 5pm so not much to do; but the inn itself was very nice... had parking, 2 complimentary breakfasts, great location to all the shops. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gserf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Salt Creek Golf Retreat / Overlook Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#10 of 24 in Nashville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists Colony Inn

Address: 105 S van Buren St, Nashville, IN 47448-7037
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: £86 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artists Colony Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists Colony Inn is located the center of Nashville within walking distance of 300 shops and art galleries and a short drive to the famous Brown County State Park. Relax in our quaint Inn that has combined the traditions of the past while enjoying all the amenities of the 21st Century. We are a small boutique hotel that offers a full service restaurant, Bed and Breakfast packages, corporate retreats for the business traveler, dining, banquet, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Artists Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists Colony Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing