We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay.”
Review of Artists Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artists Colony Inn
Ranked #6 of 24 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I had always wanted to stay there and finally spent a night there. It was okay. The room was clean but somehow not as nice as I thought it would be and at with tax $170.00 to stay one night it was not worth the price. The lady working at the desk, seems to have the day shift, was rude. She left us standing there while she chatted with another employee. I asked her a simple question and she snapped at me. Also, the town itself is not as nice as it use to be. The flowers that surround the shops and walk ways are now weeds. The shops are not as nice. They seem to carry all the same things and just not a good selection. I doubt I will be going back and I use to like to go there at least once a year.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2009

My husband and I stayed for the weekend and it was just fabulous. The rooms were very clean, staff was super friendly. The beds were wonderful, slept like a baby, even asked where they purchased the mattress so we could buy one for home. And that's just the rooms, the breakfast buffet was included with our stay and it was excellent. We also ate lunch and dinner in the Restaurant and it was just like sitting down to dinner at home. I just can't say enough about the Artists Colony. Oh did I mention the great!!! location, right in the middle of everything! Couldn't ask for more, will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

We love the artists colony and visit yearly. It is the perfect location. The food is amazing. Way better than staying in a hotel. We highly recommend this place. It is very romantic and cozy. Has a great ambiance and lots of character. It is extremely clean and service is friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tellitlikeitis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Beyond a B&B! Great big breakfast, huge rooms, jacuzzi tub in our room. Really nice mattress on bed. Artist's Colony is in the heart of the town and has great little shops in it's own complex.
Rooms are full of amenities including: soaps/lotions, hairdryer, coffee and coffeepot, lots of towels, complimentary loaf of banana nut bread, and refrigerator. Our room was also furnished with a small kitchen setup with wine glasses, cups, silverware and wine opener (thank goodness!)
Service was wonderful, people were friendly and accommodating - even let us up to the roof top hot tub after hours to watch the stars.

Only drawbacks were that the restaurant wasn't open later (closed at 8pm on the dot), no beer/wine served in restaurant and not so reliable wireless connection (so husband says)

Very minor issues considering we went in low season.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ccmarketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We booked this room for our anniversary, but neither one of us got much sleep that night due to the less-than-comfortable mattress. The room was clean, service was ok, but when the mattress is uncomfortable, nothing is right! We had planned to stay two nights, but Nashville, IN just isn't our cup of tea and the thought of tossing and turning another night was too much. To their credit, the hotel did not make us pay for the second night. We were informed that the mattresses are all memory foam, which I doubt., since we have one at home and can tell the difference.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank rosettaMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

The hotel was very nice! It is a quaint old hotel. The room was clean and very nice. The staff were very very helpful. It was right in the heart of town. We let them know we wanted to see a play at the Brown County Playhouse, and they had tickets waiting for us in the 2nd row. We had a great time for our 5th wedding anniversery.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-nards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

My husband & I stayed at the Artists Colony Inn which is located within walking distance of all the shops in September, 2006. From the owners to the employees, they made us feel special. Great food! Fruit salad in the morning was made fresh. The food was not gourmet, but everything was made fresh. We loved the special spinach salad made with fresh strawberries. They even had a sugar free dressing that the best! Will be back!

Stayed: September 2006
Thank BrownCountyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashville hotels
0.3 mi away
Brown County Inn
Brown County Inn
#2 of 7 in Nashville
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Nashville
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Seasons Lodge
The Seasons Lodge
#6 of 7 in Nashville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cornerstone Inn
Cornerstone Inn
#1 of 7 in Nashville
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#10 of 24 in Nashville
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Valley Lodge
Green Valley Lodge
#4 of 24 in Nashville
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists Colony Inn

Address: 105 S van Buren St, Nashville, IN 47448-7037
Region: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range: £79 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artists Colony Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Artists Colony Inn is located the center of Nashville within walking distance of 300 shops and art galleries and a short drive to the famous Brown County State Park. Relax in our quaint Inn that has combined the traditions of the past while enjoying all the amenities of the 21st Century. We are a small boutique hotel that offers a full service restaurant, Bed and Breakfast packages, corporate retreats for the business traveler, dining, banquet, and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Artists Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artists Colony Hotel Nashville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing