We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing beautiful retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New Carlisle, Indiana

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

BackPacke...
1 review
“Amazing beautiful retreat!”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Tom and Diana are wonderful sweet people. The lake house peaceful relaxing place to get away. We will stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thanks for your kind words. We appreciate them. Tom and Diane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded my expectations!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I loved staying at the lake front cottage. The owners so thoughtfully provided everything that we needed and were easily reachable by phone. They actually live nearby so they could swing by in minutes if anything was needed. I had trouble lighting the gas grill (user error) and the owner came and started the grill going for us. We enjoyed kayaking around the lake. Lots of great restaurants in the quaint little town of New Carlisle. The outlets in Michigan City are about 1/2 hour away and so are dozens of little towns with lots to do. Check out the market in Sawyer for fresh veggies and fruits. Union Pier has lots of antique shops and restaurants. Our favorites are Red Arrow Roadhouse and the coffee and pastries at the Whistle Stop and Pumpernickel Cafe. We loved Groceries by Joe in New Carlisle. I would highly recommend the lake house to anyone who is looking to get away for a nice relaxing time, with or without kids.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved waking up and looking out at the lake. It was so peaceful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chupek
Akron, Ohio
1 review
“Adorable & Comfortable”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Wonderful stay while attending a Notre Dame football game. Lovely view and well upgraded. Pet-friendly too which was great!! Beautiful view from the dining area and bedrooms and great decks. Very nice place!! Very friendly owners too!

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, amenities
Liked least: train noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks for the review. We always try to provide good accommodations for our guests and we are pleased when they enjoy their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candice c...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owners have truly put a lot of thought into this property, it is loaded with all the essentials needed. We ate our meals sitting on the porch that overlooks beautiful Hudson Lake. They even took us out for a boat ride! Everyone is warm and friendly, and the cabin is beautiful. We cannot wait to book our next stay with them!

Date of stay: July 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdrummond...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was beautiful and loved the cottage well worth the price! Nice and relaxing. Would love to go again but with some boating time some how. Not to sure if rentals are around but the lake was nice area

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megandanf...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this lovely cottage. The pictures on here don't do it justice. Absolutely gorgeous in person. The owners have taken a lot of time & care into this gem. It was very clean, well organized, well stocked with anything you may need, and very well decorated with care. The owners were very kind & helpful as well. A very welcoming and relaxing place to go for a peaceful get-a-way. We will definitely be making our way back! --Megan D. (Justin's wife)

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corrielyn...
Surprise, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hideaway- rain or shine!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

ADOROBLE COTTAGE! Our favorite part was the windows overlooking the lake. Even in torrential rain storm, we had fabulous views. When the sun came out, we enjoyed the deck and pier. Cottage was stocked with necessary kitchen equipment, games, movies, toiletries, and even a gas grill! So simple - cheaper than renting a camper and far more comfortable! We will be back!! Guest book with notes for owner show that many suggestions have been adopted. This place is great and will probably get even better. Easy drive to New Buffalo when we craved the Big Lake. New Carlisle was a cute little town, though, too. Moser's Austrian Diner served a great meal and there were some cute stores for browsing or shopping. Perfect getaway!!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views!!
Liked least: No place to put feet up. Only two really comfy chairs.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.