We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Family Birthday Lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Talbot

The Talbot
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bishopton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Birthday Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We held my Fathers In Laws 80th birthday lunch in a private upstairs room. The room was lovely, and easily accommodated our party of 17. Service was very friendly, and efficient. No one had any complaints regarding the food, and what was served was good quality and tasty. Some of the dishes were served on wooden boards, as was my main course of cold seafood platter. Just a personal preference, but my preference is probably towards a plate. I also thought my platter could have been more generous with the salad. Very small niggles, and it certainly wouldn't stop me returning. We all enjoyed a lovely lunch, and thank all the team for making it so.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    64
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food was amazing ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend tonight
food was amazing I had the tandoor chicken with mash it was amazing my girlfriend had the warm sea food platter which she loved we also had a dessert and two drinks each and couldn't believe how reasonable the price was.
The staff were all really nice and helpful will defiantly return and defiantly will recommend to people.

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Talbot Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and i visited last Friday unplanned. The service was very efficient and we were seated in the small dining area to the right of the entrance door. We had two main courses from the lunchtime/evening specials served from 5.30- 8pm Monday - Friday. My wife chose the moraccan style chicken curry with wild rice and vegetable terrain and I had vegetarian burger with chips and fruit chutney. Both meals were well presented including some lovely warm bread which was a nice addition. We could not fault anything and both meals were very tasty. The staff were attentive and friendly so we would recommend a visit to anybody if you don't mind paying a bit more for quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too sweet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would have enjoyed this meal if not for the excessive sweetness of the meal. Virtually all the food was sweet and sour. I felt sickly after eating, and if it was not for a friend buying this meal, would have left the food. The cooking was excellent and would probably be enjoyed by virtually all other diners, unfortunately I cannot tolerate sweet and sour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MolariLondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch. Apart from traditional roast choice, there was also some a la carte choices. There were vegetarian starters and main. The food was all well presented, and very tasty. Will definitely visit again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Olaivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talbot also viewed

Stockton-on-Tees, England
Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 
Stockton-on-Tees, England
 

Been to The Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing