We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice country pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bell at Sapperton

The Bell at Sapperton
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Sapperton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$50
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our second visit here this year for Sunday lunch. Service and food very good again. The menu we feel is a little lacking in choice (for Sunday lunch) also two small slices of pork on the Sunday roast choice. Okay Bell, but you are charging £14.00. Above average for a good pub Sunday roast choice. Maybe I was unlucky. Even so the beer choice is very good. Big plus is you can take your well behaved mutt in.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethatUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    121
    61
    50
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
405 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Great experience from start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just had our annual company function here, everything was spot on, from the minute I made our booking we were looked after. The food was delicious, the service was great and the atmosphere was superb. There's also a great selection of local ales and a very comprehensive wine list. A big thanks to Chris and his team for providing us with a very enjoyable and memorable evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank No1Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
413 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Could have been so good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Aside from the fact that the calves liver (£14) had to be returned as it was stone cold,and my beef burger (£13) was initially served nearly raw and had to be recooked,when both dishes returned they tasted very good.By then we had sort of lost the will and our appetites were now non existant.

Pint of Stroud brewery dark pale ale (Shadow) at £4.00 was excellent and a 125ml Pinot Grigio was £3.75.No charge for the tap water and at the end,there was no charge for the burger.For a restaurant/pub of this standing the result was not wholly clever.Pity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mncrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“light meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had heard a great deal about the food and atmosphere so decided to give it a try, we only wanted a light snack and opted for the ploughmans to share, when it came it was nicely presented on a platter, with plenty of home cooked ham and the usual accompaniements, the only thing that we found was that we could have done with some more bread, we only had 2 small slices of very delicious home made bread whereas a small basket of bread would have been more substantial, also an extra plate would have made it easier to share out the food, however apart from this it was lovely, and made a nice change for more traditional pub food to be on the menu, would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quick Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked Sunday lunch at the Bell at the last minute before we arrived from visiting friends in Stroud. Great looking establishment (although there are a lot of similar looking pubs like this in the Cotswolds) with a large Car Park. Table was reserved for us and the Sunday Roasts of Pork for me and Beef for Mrs KFJH were outstanding. Couldn't fault them, simple food superbly delivered, have already made mental note to visit again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaleighRimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell at Sapperton also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Barnsley, Cirencester
 

Been to The Bell at Sapperton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing