We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kanan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nileshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent four nights at Kannan Beach Resort and enjoyed every minute of it. The accommodation and setting were perfect for relaxing and we found everyone at the resort most friendly and helpful. An excellent place to unwind.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your great support and valuable comments about Kanan Beach Resort.

Regards,
Prakash K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed four nights here in enormous cottage with sitting room and small kitchen area as well as huge bedroom, bathroom and dressing room. Flowers in the garden are beautiful and access straight on to HUGE almost deserted palm fringed beach - good for long walks. Chef will cook super meals to your required spice level and the Keralan breakfasts always delicious and ample. Beware if you have a massage - good massage but "powder" (turmeric I think) at the end is difficult to remove completely so underwear ends up with yellow splodges!! All staff were helpful and courteous. Definitely recommend. Hope to return in 2015.

Room Tip: All cottages the same quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your great support and valuable comments about Kanan Beach Resort.

Regards,
Prakash K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived after a 5-hour strenuous car trip following a long-haul flight to Calicut. We were immediately affected by the welcome and peace of the setting. The villas are superbly designed and furnished for modern tastes with a living area that can be left completely open to the gardens, pool and beach. The site is lovely and well-kept; no sporting activities. The surrounding area is featureless.
The cuisine was excellent and prepared fresh for whenever we wanted to eat.
The staff were endlessly kind and thoughtful, even seeing us off safely onto our train. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: We had the villa closest to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen2412014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your great support and valuable comments about Kanan Beach Resort.

Regards,
Prakash K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in Feb 2013, and came back for 7 nights in jan 2014 which expired yesterday, but we are still here. Enjoyed it so much that we extended to 10 nights, is that a good enough recommendation?
The bungalows are beautiful, lovely bedroom with (opening) large picture windows onto the sea, via the palm trees, efficient air con. Unusually, each detached bungalow also has a large open lounge and kitchenette, 'fridge, and a large deck with 4 loungers/ chairs. Fabulous pool, very good food, need to ask for spicy if you are English. Ignore the previous comment about the poor breakfast, abundant mixed fresh fruit, fresh yoghurt, eggs however you request, possibly the best dosa we have had anywhere, fresh real fruit juices, cakes, good coffee. What's not to love?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank john_milnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your great support and valuable comments about Kanan Beach Resort.

Regards,
Prakash K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived for our 3 night stay in January 2014 after a long, bumpy journey from Mangalore Airport. They offered us a free transfer, which was very generous. They presented us with garlands and coconut juice to welcome us, and took us to our room which was facing the sea through the trees and right next to the pool. It was very clean, and ready made up with an extra bed for our daughter. They promised to show us how to use the safe, but never got round to it, but we didn't push it because they seemed so honest we didn't feel we needed it, and anyway we were the only guests for most of our stay! The food was a bit limited, but we loved it, and I'm sure they would have done any special requests if we'd asked. It was peaceful and beautiful, and the beach and sea were lovely - the sea so warm and the beach almost deserted. We didn't realise that they didn't have alcohol, and although my husband asked for beer they kept forgetting to bring it - but that did him good! We wished we had booked for longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach - the view in the morning is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prakash K, General Manager at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your kindness, it's a great moment for us that we received a "wonderful" review from you.

Thanks again and hope your next visits.

Prakash K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udupi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 2 days in the month of December 2013 after seeing the reviews in trip advisor. It was indeed a wonderful place for relaxation as everyone suggests. It is a place for peace and quiet and there is virtually no activities at this resort. The rooms are sea facing and we had a room which was also adjacent to the pool. The rooms are well furnished and well maintained. There is however no tv in the room.The beach is wonderful and really private. The food is just fine and not out of this world. The spa is average as the ambience needs to be improved. Overall it was a great experience and we would like to come back again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priyankashenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBRESORT, Director of Sales at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your valuable review, we will continue our best service for our valuable guest!

Team Kanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

An excellent resort, small and refined (where we stayed unfortunately only 2 days). Beautiful and well-thought architecture of the bungalows, open to the sea at the end of the garden. Excellent and long sandy, clean beach, plus a charming swimming pool well integrated within the palm garden. The staff is efficient, helpful, pleasant and always smiling, the environment delightful and calm and the food exquisite. Only the spa could be improved and maybe enlarged: excellent massages but please ... not so much turmeric in the oil, even if it's traditional! We can warmly recommend the place and will certainly come again in 2014. Thank you Mr. Prakash for making our stay a very enjoyable one.

Nadine and Jean-Maurice B., Geneva Switzerland

Room Tip: All rooms excellent, quiet location on the beach, exquisite food
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KBRESORT, Director of Sales at Kanan Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thanks to your valuable support to Kanan Beach Resort!

Team Kanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nileshwar
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
12.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
14.1 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Raj Residency
Raj Residency
#1 of 3 in Kanhangad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanan Beach Resort

Property: Kanan Beach Resort
Address: | Ozhinjavalappu P.O, Nileshwar 671314, India
Region: India > Kerala > Nileshwar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nileshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanan Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanan Beach Resort - Kerala, the natural and homely Ayurvedic beach resort in God’s own Kerala at northern district Kasaragod, stays in between Bekal beach and Nileshwar beach. Kerala which is situated in the southern part of India is globally famous for its scenic beauty of greenery. This state is very rich in natural, beautiful for its heavenly ambiance of green surroundings and charming beauty of water by making it paradise over land. At Kanan Beach Resort, we value relationships and offer everlasting hospitality. The beauty of nature we kept here as it is; the beach, green mansions, vast seashore, rich with coconut trees and estuary where the river mate with sea. You can fish both in sea and river. The most peculiar thing about here is Kasaragod district is a place of “Theyyam”, the divine ritual dance; we offer you this seasonal folk art to enjoy and know our culture. “It is the beach resort of its kind, which offers a ‘Home away from Home’ feeling”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Kanan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing