We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service & Novelty Factor Bring the Score Up...”

Quaker Steak & Lube
Ranked #59 of 81 Restaurants in Portage
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Winona, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service & Novelty Factor Bring the Score Up...”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Did we have good food here? It was fine. Middle-of-the-road--not awesome, but certainly not terrible. Did we have a good TIME here? Yes, yes we did. We have smallish kids (8 & under) and just listening them go on and on about the "interior decorating" made us grin. They LOVED that we got to sit under a real car for supper, and I have to admit, we grown-ups did too. ;-) All the little automotive touches here and and there, from meal presentation to decor, were a lot of fun. Our service was friendly and quick, too, which was so nice. SO. All in all, we enjoyed the meal a ton and it was a fun highlight on our Dunes Area vacation.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbrowneyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    49
    40
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good wings and pub grub”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Their 4X4 appetizer was a hit (fried mozz, pickles, onion rings, etc.) and we LOVED the Arizona Ranch wing sauce. The wings were cooked too long (chewy), but overall really enjoyed the atmosphere (didn't want to sit under a car) and the unique food and wing sauce selection. We had great service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PTZHKWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nasty!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Nasty food, that is way over priced! This great for someone that likes cars, LOTS of dust, nasty over price food and better yet very bad service!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsheminger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, IN
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for "car buffs"”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great place to go if you like anything to do with cars and car racing. There are items and actual cars all over in there. The food is good and alot to choose from. Watch out for "bike nights" though. It gets really busy there and the waits can be rather long.

Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK-Good Food.. Cool environment”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Kids or adults who like cars.. cool environment.. tons of memorabilia, Corvetts hanging from the ceiling. But if you order 15 wings, you can only pick omne sauce? My only complaint

Helpful?
Thank Amanda_Rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quaker Steak & Lube also viewed

 

Been to Quaker Steak & Lube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing