We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stumbled upon this place as we were driving across state for a wedding. We hadn't planned on staying here but had driven as far as we could for the day.
Upon arriving we were greatest by very friendly and helpful staff. They explained the hotel and gave us an amazing rate
After checking into our room we went to the pool for a swim with our two year old. There was a pool for adults, a hot tub and a small wadding pool for children. There was water fountains and other water toys for our son to play in.
In the morning there was a free hot breakfast included and express checkout for ease.
To top it off if your a best western rewards member you get points for staying there
We will defiantly remember this one and stop there again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I wanted to express my gratitude for choosing us as your home away from home. We are always ecstatic to hear when someone has such a wonderful stay. We hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again.

Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We checked in here very late at night, so we just needed a clean, comfortable room, in a safe area. This hotel met our needs at a rate that was less than any other comparable hotels on the internet. We actually drove a few miles out of our way to stay here, saving $10-30 overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BucksMom423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, it is nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we are happy that we were able to fit your budget as well. We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again.


Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Staff was extremely accomodating, friendly and helpful during our stay. Room was larger than most and very comfortable. Beds were comfy and provided a good nights sleep. Entire facility was clean and well maintained. Relaxing pool area and hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We want to thank you for choosing us, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure having you hear with us and allowing us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to having you back again.


Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, nice decor, nice rooms, comfortable bed. I was in town for a class reunion and this hotel was recommended for those of us who came from out of town. I have stayed at Best Western's before, but this hotel was by far the best one in the chain of Best Western's. Very satisfied with everything. I didn't eat the breakfast but I am sure it was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We thank you for the opportunity to serve you and your classmates. We are happy to hear your stay was pleasant and we look forward to having you again, next time definitely feel free to have breakfast on us.


Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

the room was very clean, and the bed really comfortable, the employees kind and helpful, the only problem we encountered was the pool area..it was so hot and smelled so strongly of chlorine we couldn' t use the facilities, other than that the breakfast was good and staff was nice, do wish they had an outside patio

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for allowing us to serve you, we were happy that your stay went well with a few exceptions but I wanted to personally let you know that we have looked into the pool area and have made the proper adjustments needed to alleviate the chlorine in the air. We hope to see you again.


Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Very clean, Helpful desk. I came here to sleep and to get my kids to sleep. The kids had enough room and I had a good bed. They were not cranky because they could not sleep. Normally they start to scream and beat each other but this night they were rested. It is a good hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Spencer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are happy to hear you had such a comfortable stay with us and we helped to keep family feuding to a minimum. Being a parent myself I definitely understand how hard bedtime can be. We definitely look forward to serving you and your family again.


Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We originally planned to stay at the Days Inn across the street but frankly the parking lot scared me so we canceled our reservation and went to this Best Western.

Service was excellent. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Pool was great, even have a place for little kids. Continental Breakfast more than made up for the price difference between BW and the Days Inn.

Overall, great place to stay. People were fantastic. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPlusPortage, General Manager at Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are happy that you choose to stay with us, it is always great to read positive reviews and I am happy you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again, we will definitely keep the breakfast hot till then.


Nicole Jones
General Manager
Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
158 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Portage
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

Address: 6200 US Highway 20, Portage, IN 46368-1319 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: £65 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel and Suites! We are located just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago, in Northwest Indiana! Our brand new facility is one of a kind, featuring: 32" Flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in EVERY room, complimentary full hot breakfast, 24 hr. business and fitness center, Family Aquatic Center, newly opened BW Pub, supremely clean and comfortable rooms, and free Wifi! Also including our stellar Meeting Rooms!! We here have an award winning staff committed to superior customer service! Whether you are the Business traveler, Semi-truck driver, or Family, we are the place for you! We hope to see you soon! General Information: Located off of I-94 exit # 19, Located off I-80/90 (Indiana Toll Road) exit #23 -turn RIGHT! WE HAVE TRUCK PARKING!!!!... We offer Suites and Standard rooms. Standard: King size bed -or-2 Queen size, Suites:-include separate living space with additional TV, dresser, oversize chair and pull-out sofa sleeper. Available: King size bed -or-2 Queen size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing