We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updates are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I stay here often for work and also play. Their close proximity to the Indiana dunes, lake and beach make it a great summer stop. They have recently updated the fireplace area very nice. Also the pool area with new furniture and I was told repainting soon also very nice especially the splash and play zone for kids. And a much needed brand new exercise center with all new equipment that's fabulous. The breakfast has really improved with real eggs now and different meats day to day biscuits and gravy muffins ect. Now the bar serves food from great salads and wraps, to tasty burgers fish and chicken with most popular appetizers. An already great stay has just gotten better. Oh the beds are still fantastic!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed at this location recently and want to take the time to thank them for the courtesy they showed while we had our stay there. They were wonderful in every way. They have a terrific team there and we enjoy staying somewhere where they care and you can tell they enjoy what they do and make a point of going out of there way to help in anyway they can. Great location, highly recommend that anyone traveling to the area stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here on a last min getaway - good location. Had dinner downtown Portage. Jumped on the train for a day trip to Chicago and went down by the beach all things were 5-10 mins away from hotel. We also went to the outlets in michigan city about 20 mins away.

Clean comfortable rooms. Wonderful service - friendly staff both days we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisydeseree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Wednesday. Not the best hotel I have ever stayed at for certain. Not the worst either. Staff was great. Bar in lobby full of loud mouth hillbilly type talking crazy. Location is good if, you have a mill visit scheduled. Could have probably found a better place for $130.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank jallen370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This Best Western Plus just off I-65, west on I-80 I-94 is a extremely comfortable, clean and safe motel to stay at if on the road. Though it houses a large contingent of over the road truck drivers, there is a very large parking lot for them and their rigs, while still leaving plenty of room for other travelers. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the staff is extremely helpful and courteous!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank mcrnn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros: A decent sized room. The beds were comfortable. The shower was decent and the bathroom well-stocked. A nice area for doing work in the corner. Plenty of wall outlets. Continental breakfast has a waffle maker. Staff were friendly.

Average: The hotel is located conveniently just off the highway, but the surrounding town isn't the greatest.

Cons: While bed coverings and towels were clean the floor was another matter entirely. We found an empty water bottle, a food wrapper and other hard-to-miss items left on the floor in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoapTripper3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed this past weekend. Hotel offered great breakfast, clean rooms and a nice pool. Appeared to have several meeting rooms. David at the desk was terrific..pool was a little busy early in the day but they have time set apart for family and adults...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msprows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
398 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
157 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites

Address: 6200 US Highway 20, Portage, IN 46368-1319 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range: £71 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus: Portage Hotel and Suites! We are located just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago, in Northwest Indiana! Our brand new facility is one of a kind, featuring: 32" Flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker in EVERY room, complimentary full hot breakfast, 24 hr. business and fitness center, Family Aquatic Center, newly opened BW Pub, supremely clean and comfortable rooms, and free Wifi! Also including our stellar Meeting Rooms!! We here have an award winning staff committed to superior customer service! Whether you are the Business traveler, Semi-truck driver, or Family, we are the place for you! We hope to see you soon! General Information: Located off of I-94 exit # 19, Located off I-80/90 (Indiana Toll Road) exit #23 -turn RIGHT! WE HAVE TRUCK PARKING!!!!... We offer Suites and Standard rooms. Standard: King size bed -or-2 Queen size, Suites:-include separate living space with additional TV, dresser, oversize chair and pull-out sofa sleeper. Available: King size bed -or-2 Queen size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel And Suites
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing