We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portage
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
O Fallon, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff at the Hampton Inn Portage Indiana made our stay great. The amentities were nice, but having great staff that goes the extra mile made a week long stay very comfortable and relaxing. We were in town for a softball tournament. Some hotels are not excited to have a group of kids stay, but Sophia was great with our girls! She let them watch tv in the lobby and made them fresh cookies. She went the extra mile to ensure the kids were comfortable and having a good time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Our team beamed with pride as their read your comments. Sophia just loves her job. She says "Thank you very much." We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    110
    40
    20
    7
See reviews for
160
82
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Predictable service, usual amenities, Hotel could use a make-over. Quality of breakfasts is the same, and over the years, smaller portions. You can predict the breakfast you are going to get by the day you attend. Still a nice value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vincent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel.Thanks for your comments.Without comments from our guests, we have no hope of meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay if you were going to see the local attractions like the Indiana Sand Dunes. The lady who does the breakfast is superior and will help you with anything. The rooms are a little outdated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Meeganism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the comments. Without comments from our guests, we have no hope of meeting your expectations. The lobby, fitness center, and guest rooms were renovated in 2013. The guest room renovation included new art work, painting, soft seating, new carpet, and new draperies. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on the way to Wisconsin. It's not far off the toll road and easy to get to.
Excellent Hampton property. Everything was clean comfortable and what we expect from Hampton Inns. We asked for a first floor room and they accomadated us with the nearest one to the lobby.

Their beds and linens always gurantee a good night's sleep.

Sophia is an amazing host and asset to this location and brand!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Sophia and the rest of the team, thank you for your very kind remarks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spent a night at this motel with a tour group. Easy checkin, room clean, towels and linens appeared new, and internet loaded quickly. The breakfast offering was available on time for 55 people at 7:00am, and the food service kept up with the breakfast needs of our party and others staying at the motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoliteIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay at our Hotel. Thanks for the kind remarks. Please come and visit us again when you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The best night's sleep I have had on the road in quite some time. The mattresses in the Hampton Inn are very soft but quite supportive. I have had recent back surgery, so I need good back support. The mattresses were so soft that I worried I was going to wake up with aches and pains, but I woke up completely refreshed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank RevJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks for the kind remarks. Hampton Beds are great. Many of our guests praise the Hampton Brand for its choice of mattresses. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This Hampton was spot on but understand that all Hampton Inns have gone down hill for the most important meal of the day. It would cost them no more than $1.00 per person to feed you well in the morning. I spend over 50 nights a year in Hilton properties. Garden Inn, Doubletree, Embassy Suites feed you well in the morning. Hampton needs to fix the problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portage, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for choosing our Hotel. Thanks your comments. Without comments from our guests, we have no hope of meeting your expectations. Hampton added several new items to the Hampton Hot on the House Breakfast this year; fresh fruit, fresh eggs, & new pastry items. The Hilton Brand informed us at the end of 2013 to budget an average increase of $10,000.00 per property to cover the cost of the new Breakfast items for 2014.

We proudly display the Brand approve items, from the Brand approved vendor each day. We hope that you will choose to stay at our Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portage

Property: Hampton Inn Portage
Address: 6353 Melton Rd, Portage, IN 46368-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're coming to Portage for business or just for fun your room at the Hampton Inn is your personal retreat. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right with our free hot breakfast. You can take a dip in our pool, and get fit in our 24 hour fitness room. And when it is time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at Longhorn Steakhouse, Quaker Steak and Lube, or Bass Pro Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portage Hotel Portage
Portage Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing