We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
“Always a pleasure to stay here”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have visited other country inn and suites after visiting this location. this location really sets the bar high for our expectation of country inn and suites. I havent visited one yet that meets my expectation like the Portage location

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    137
    50
    19
    27
See reviews for
394
57
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family stays at the Country Inn & Suites in Portage IN every year for our annual trip to the Lake County IN fair and day at the Dunes. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. This year the breakfast staff was awesome. They worked hard to clean tables and get food out quickly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel in August for the past four or five years. We have always had a positive experience. My husband loves the hot breakfast and location (next to Bass Pro Shops), my kids love feeling like they have their own room with a tv (suite room) and I love the beautiful flowers surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okc
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We were heading to the Indiana Sand Dunes and Lake Michigan and found this hotel by searching trip advisor from the road. It was very convenient, the rooms were nice. The kids loved the pool area and slides. Breakfast was good. The front desk clerk recommended a pizza delivery place which was good. Overall a good experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcjje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel won't strike you as special, but the little touches made a big difference after we arrived. We found a room with a king size bed and two twins. Fresh cookies at the desk throughout the day. A bookshelf with a great selection of books from board books to kids' Newberry award winners, to current adult selections, a bigger pool with a fun wading pool, small water slide area and large hot tub. The pool area also has a full size air hockey table - something different and fun. The beds were the memory foam type and the sheets were soft. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was the typical type with a waffle iron. Each day they had scrambled eggs and a different choice of hot meat. Cereal, Oatmeal, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, apples, and mediocre pastries. I think bananas would be a good addition to the breakfast menu.

Bass Pro Shops is right next door along with a variety of restaurants including a car themed restaurant and McDonalds, but we didn't happen to try these. The hotel has directions to get to the beach, less than 1 mile away.

Room Tip: Ask for their suite options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Really great stay. The staff was more attentive and friendly than most hotels I have stayed at. The breakfast was fantastic and complete. It was very quiet even with the many families that were staying that day. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madison, wi
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed here a number of times and keep coming back. The staff is friendly and considerate. The pool area is kept up very well, and in general, it's just a nice place. I do wish that the complimentary breakfast was slightly higher quality, but I suppose it's to be expected. Oh - only complaint is man does the coffee stink. But overall it's a fantastic place and we keep coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank ksquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portage
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Portage Hotel & Suites
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesterton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 12 in Portage
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Porter
147 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Indian Oak
Best Western Indian Oak
#2 of 5 in Chesterton
411 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
Address: 1630 Olmstead Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1696
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing