We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Portage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Portage
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Run down hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We did a road trip from MN to DC, staying 9 nights at different locations. This was the worst hotel during our trip. We did no internet research, as we just drove up and the only reason we choose it was part of Wyndham rewards. Lobby looked rough, yet the clerk was nice. I was lost in the hotel trying to find my room, and he (the clerk) walked me to it. Room was dirty. Hair on everything in the bathroom and mold around tub, ceiling, shower curtain and drain plug. The blanket had some kind of blood stain on it. Husband went to the front desk (a different employee) asking for a different one. The lady said they didn’t have any extra king blankets. Husband said, that was ok, we can use a queen. She said she didn’t have access to the blankets and that he better take it to the room before we get charged for stealing it! Room only had two towels for the four of us. We asked a housekeeper for a couple extra, they only gave us one and asked for our room number twice. The pool was is such poor condition, that my husband would not let our kids go in it. We were pretty sure the skimmer didn’t work. We tried the hot tub and were out in less than 5 minutes. Something just was not right with the water. Ants were all over the pool floor. Gum stuck on the floor and tiles were missing. Ceilings on the main floor hallways had leaks everywhere. We really wish we would have stayed at a different hotel. I wish the owners would start watching Hotel Impossible on the Travel Channel.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msum_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    74
    91
    68
    94
See reviews for
151
75
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Porte Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a very pleasant stay staff was very friendly and helpful. Went out of there to assist in our comfort

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This is an absolute dump. The pools are permanently out of order. My room was supposed to have a sofa bed. It had two vinyl chairs.The television was an antique and no HBO. Most of the outlets and lights did not work. There was no breakfast. There are other hotels across the street. Do yourself a favor. Go there instead.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portage hotels

Petoskey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were stuck in a blizzard and had to get a room that excepted pets, this hotel was the best not only did they except pets but had a handicapped room and it was a nice clean room the bed was great. Breakfast was so nice after having such a bad night of driving. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was a business trip scheduled at the last minute. I was bringing a truck back from Wisconsin. The staff was excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

First of all, the photo online of this property is not this property. This establishment is a dingy yellow and blue color. Its right off of the interstate, yet even the truckers choose the Best Western across the street.

Few issues with the room:
1. The piss smell.
2. Three light bulbs were out, but there's not enough outlets to plug the appliances and the lamp in at once anyway.
3. Pillows were the size of couch throw pillows with a full size pillow case folded around them.
4. Handle on the toilet was broken.
5. A chair leg was broken, which I discovered when trying to sit down.
6. Room 318 is an "upscale" room with refrigerator (that froze our Chinese food) and a microwave. Yet it is situated right by an exit. If my room door was not locked, the opening and closing of the outside door caused my door to open.
7. Dirty paper coffee cups in a desk drawer.
8. The heater sounds like someone beating on your door, all night.
9. Granted it was a pet friendly room, but when we got there the menus and do not disturb sign were chewed up.

Bottom line is do not stay here. There is a decent looking Best Western right across the street. Go anywhere else but this horrible little place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portage hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portage
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portage Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portage
Hampton Inn Portage
#2 of 10 in Portage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Portage
Super 8 Portage
#6 of 10 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portage
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Portage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Portage

Property: Days Inn Portage
Address: 6161 Melton Road I-94 and Route 249, Portage, IN 46368-1316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Portage 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, convenient, and not far from Chicago, our Days Inn Portage hotel is a perfect spot to kick off your Lake Michigan adventure. We are located just off I-94 and I-80/90/Indiana Toll Road, between South Bend and the Windy City. Our hotel is an affordable favorite for people who travel cross-country on the toll road, sports fans who enjoy events in the Chicagoland area, and families who are looking for a stop by the beach. In addition to both major east-west highways, the hotel is near the South Shore train station, the Greyhound bus station, and a stop for the shuttle bus to both O'Hare and Midway Airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Portage Hotel Portage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing